We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ave Maria Health & Wellness Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Tema
Accra
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We had a day off from our duty routine and the cab driver drove us to the AveMaria Helth & Wellness center in Tema.
On Arrival we observed that there was some extension being carried out on the future reception area.
We went thgoiugh to the pool / restautrant area. We were amazed that behind all the concrete works in front laid an awesome setting behind.
The view was breath taking,
Sadly the service was poor. It took forever to have our orders served. To make thngs worse, my oder was half done, and had t send it back to be done which took anoither 45 minutes.
Even worse, i came back with severe food poisoning that it took me 2 months to recover.
I have no idea who runs the place, but i would not recommend eating at the Avemaria Wellness Center. They ought to change the "Wellness" to "Sickness"
A very negative experience indeed. You eat there at your own risk.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahornado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
6
7
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2009

This hotel is by the sea and overlooks the harbor. The location was very serene. The staff was very friendly and the owner did everything to ensure that our stay was as comfortable as possible. The hotel gave us a truly home away from home experience. As is to be expected in Ghana, there were a few glitches with electricity but there is a generator that automatically kicks in should the power go off and we never had any problems. The rooms were always clean. We really enjoyed the pool that pulls in sea water from the ocean. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalcitizenNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2009

i definitely think it's the sort of place you go to when you need to get away from it all. not sure, if same would apply for a business trip, but i did love how personalized the service was and the atmosphere is so serene.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ealy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

My stay at this so called hotel was truly awful. To begin with, there was no water available in the bathroom, upon my arrival, nor was there electricity in the room, which meant the AC was not working. Appreciating Ghana's climate meant that I spent a very uncomfortable night. However, due to my extremely long flight, Isimply fell asleep exhausted, and made my complaint the next day to the owner of the hotel, who to be honest, was blatantly rude and completely uninterested. In addition to this, I had booked the conference room in order to hold interviews, but as there was no AC in there also, I held my interviews in the hotel garden. Subsequently, I refused to pay as I had not used the room, but in the end I had to. My advice is, there are better hotels in Ghana: stay at one of them instead.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skinnycowDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tema hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tema
1.8 mi away
Royal Nick Hotel
Royal Nick Hotel
#1 of 12 in Tema
77 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Accra Coco Beach
4.0 mi away
Angels Heights Hotel
Angels Heights Hotel
#4 of 12 in Tema
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
La-Palm Royal Beach Hotel
10.7 mi away
Labadi Beach Hotel
Labadi Beach Hotel
#1 of 92 in Accra
603 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Accra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ave Maria Health & Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ave Maria Health & Wellness Resort

Property: Ave Maria Health & Wellness Resort
Address: Beach Road | Off - Tema Harbour Road, Tema, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Greater Accra > Tema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Tema
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ave Maria Health & Wellness Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ave Maria Health & Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ave Maria Health & Wellness Hotel Tema
Ave Maria Health And Wellness Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing