We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”

Les Folies et les Roulottes de la Serve
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Folies et les Roulottes de la Serve
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Beautiful rolling hills deep in the Rhone wine region. To completely get away from it all - we would highly recommend staying at La Serve (near Ourox). Be it stopping off for lunch in Fleurie or visiting the charming Chateau of Cormatin and its intricate gardens - the pace and place was both good for sight-seeing and relaxation.

A lot of love has gone into creating this little haven. The well, hand-crafted roulottes by Pascal are perfectly complimented with the eclectic eye and design from Pascaline - and she eveb makes her own bread! Both are very hospitable and helpful in getting the most from your stay. La Rochette restaurant was a real treat. Excellent and inventive cuisine and wine choice - it was a good suggestion.

Was sad to leave and would definitely go back - it was special.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrishEOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Les Folies et les Roulottes de la Serve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 25 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

Recently, I spent 5 weeks in Europe and this was my favourite place we visited. It was beautiful, unique and very peaceful. The owners were very kind and hospitable. They even lent us their own bicycles to tour around on. The food was delicious - homemade breads, jams, yoghurt and honey. I would really like to return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 154913Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We've have just got back from our honeymoon where we spent 5 nights at Les Roulottes. I couldn't think of a better way to spend the week... we had 4 nights in a roulotte and then on the last night we were in one of the rooms... the caravans are beautifully restored and super comfortable to stay in and the room on the last night was a 5 star luxury treat. We hired a car and explored the surrounding countryside - we didn't even make it to Lyon or Macon the viliages and towns nearby are great to wander around and take in. This is a beautiful, unexplored pocket of France with very little provisions for tourists but all the better for it. We had great cheeses and wines from nearby, had lots of picnics looking out onto amazing views and made fires in the evening for cooking outside on although there is a kitchen for you to cook in if you want. On the last night we had an amazing meal in nearby Chenelette which was recommended by our hosts. Pascaline and Pascal have a real treasure and are perfect hosts. I couldn't recommend it highly enough - a real rustic treat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in one of the gypsy caravans for 2 nights at end of May. The location is beautiful with views out over the countryside. The farmhouse where you have access to kitchen toilets and showers is high standard.
If you are staying 2 nights or more and travelling by public transport Pascal and Pascaline offer to pick you up from Bellevile station. Its best to bring food with you on the first night, although you can cycle 2km to a shop that sells jam, sweets, beer (Col de crie) or 5km to Moroul for other grocery shopping (downhil there, uphill on the way back!) The roads are very quiet for cycling. There are trails around for walking.
Relaxing and peaceful stay with very friendly greeting and advice from Pascal and Pascaline.
Breakfast is homemade breads and preserves, yoghurt and juice / tea.
Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Elodie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascaline P, Propriétaire at Les Folies et les Roulottes de la Serve, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Flarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascaline P, Propriétaire at Les Folies et les Roulottes de la Serve, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les 3 roulottes sont différentes et suffisamment éloignées les unes des autres
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ggdjils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascaline P, Propriétaire at Les Folies et les Roulottes de la Serve, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouroux
6.3 mi away
Viva camp la Grappe Fleurie
2.3 mi away
Domaine De La Fee-Licite
Domaine De La Fee-Licite
#1 of 3 in Les Ardillats
21 reviews
3.6 mi away
Maison d'hotes Hameau D'Amignie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Folies et les Roulottes de la Serve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Folies et les Roulottes de la Serve

Address: la Serve, 69860 Ouroux, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Ouroux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ouroux
Price Range: $79 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
une halte dans un décor des mille et une nuit, à vous les rêves et la féerie....un lieu magique et intemporel, une escale toute en douceur dans un océan de verdure et de calme. tranquillité assurée. 3 anciennes roulottes et deux folies orientalistes.sélectionné par le guide des maisons d'hôtes de charme, le guide du routard, le guide michelin vacances au vert, lonely planet, cool campingsitué à 700m d'altitude à 5km du premier village en pleine nature dans les monts du beaujolais à 1 h de lyon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, PitchUp and Priceline so you can book your Les Folies et les Roulottes de la Serve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Folies Et Les Roulottes De La Serve France/Ouroux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing