We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been better!”
Review of Hotel Fjallet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bjorkliden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Fjallet
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bjorkliden
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not have been better!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed as part of a university trip to make a documantary and book about the Northern Lights. Jonny, our guide from Off the Map Travel, ensured that we made the most of our short stay by packing three activities into each day. Each activity was a brilliant experience, particularly dog sledding, visiting Sami huts and we were lucky enough to see the aurora each night. The trip was well organised and Off the Map Travel helped it to be specifically geared towards the purpose of our visit. Jonny was very informative, friendly and looked after each member of the group.

The cabins and the hotel were clean and have beautiful views over the mountains. The food was excellent and staff members were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    69
    29
    10
    2
See reviews for
39
88
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The log cabins and the hotel are great. Excellent food, eat until you pop, stunning scenery, very often auroras above. I went with Off The Map Travel, they were first class. The view from the hotel of the U shaped mountain and frozen lake is a stunning sight to behold.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed here as part of a group, through Off the Map Travel. The rest of my group stayed in the cabins, which they enjoyed very much, and I opted to stay in the hotel. Housekeeping was daily, the room was comfortable, nice and very clean. The view I woke up to was the real selling point! Good, fast wifi and a short stroll to the main reception area. This was lovely, cosy with a fire and lots of comfy seating. Staff were all helpful and polite, and the food was great, I enjoyed every meal and the views from both the reception lounge area and the resturant were breathtaking!

We went on excursions, all booked through Off the Map. Each and every one was amazing! The suppliers all loved what they did, the experiences were brilliant... snowshoeing, taking pictures in the National Park, a trip to the Ice Hotel, dog sledding and travelling by ski lift to the skystation!

We had been told that this was one of the best places to see the Northern Lights, and they did not lie! We enjoyed a bright Aurora show every night!

Jonny from Off the Map really made this holiday for us, putting it together from accomodation to travel recomendations and activity booking. He went out of his way to make sure that every member of the group was happy, felt looked after and more than that by the end he just seemed like one of the group!

Stay here, and book with Off the Map to do it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceecee1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our group was slightly unusual in that we were travelling to make a documentary film and book about the pursuit of the Northern Lights as part of a student project. After talking to many travel companies we went with Off the Map Travel because they went out of their way to be helpful. Oh, wow, did we make the right choice! Off the Map and the Hotel could not have been more helpful and supportive. We had an amazing experience which we will never forget. Most of us stayed in cabins with stunning views over the mountains. The restaurant, which serves excellent food and wonderful hot chocolate, also had a stunning view over the mountains. we took part in dog sledding, went to the aurora sky station and had fantastic walks to Sami huts - all under the stary sky lit by the northern lights. Simply wonderful! Thank you, Jonny at Off the Map Travel and everyone at the Hotel Fjallet. We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: I would recommend the cabins as most of them have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Confusing place, a Ski Resort, trying to be a top quality hotel, does not work. We stayed in a Cabin, wonderful location, but no house keeping provided, we even got a note, asking us to clean room ourselves or we would be fined. Cabin had kitchen, not lot use, as we were fullboard. Excellent sauna in Cabin.restaurant not clean, noisy and skiers dumped outside clothing every where. Food ok. Service often slow and staff surly.
On arrival, very cold and snowing. No help with luggage, just pointed in general direction of Cabin.There are steep slopes up to main hotel, very slippery at times. They forgot to book a planned trip and were very reluctant to accept blame and it was down to us to rearrange. Overall would not recommend for non skiers like us.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin on front row, amazing veiws and away from main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We travelled to the Hotel Fjallet under the guidance of a tour operator called Off the Map Travel based in Bath UK
We booked a fully guided tour with the main intention to Aurora spot
First to the accomodation and location - We wanted wilderness and beauty and we got it in bucket loads. The cabins were just delightful, warm and toasty We had cabin 21 overlooking the lake and such a dream to wake up in the morning and sip your coffee looking at that view.
The lodge was lovely too with a log fire and comfy chairs and provided a place to go to at night to sip irish coffee and wait for the Aurora to appear
We did not Ski but it was apparent the ski facilites were fantastic.
To our dear Jonny Cooper from Off the Map Travel - He was a gem ! so dedicated to making sure you wanted for nothing. His passion for his job was a joy and I could have swore I saw a tear when the Aurora failed to appear some nights !!!!
Apart from my lovely mum and travel companion and of course the wonderful Aurora display seen on the last but one night he made this holiday for me.
I highly recommend Off the Map travel and consequently Hotel Fjallet for a holiday to this area.
Keep up your very good work !

Room Tip: Cabin 21 was at the end overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glovers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were here on a tour with www.offthemaptravel.co.uk for a 5 day Northern Lights Tour which we extended by a few days so we could do some extra skiing. On a clear night in the winter months you stand an 80% chance of seeing the northern lights which we were lucky enough to see 4 nts out of 7.

The hotel comprises of a block of about 40 standard hotel rooms and about 40 detached cabins called the Kappas Cabins. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin. Upon arrival we discovered that the beds had not been made nor any towels in the cabin. We trekked back up to reception (we highly recommend ice cleats for getting around) who apologized and gave us a carrier bag full of bedding. Not impressed having to make our own beds near midnight!

The cabins are small but well-furnished and warm. There is a boot room for storing outdoor clothing which has underfloor heating so warm boots to get into, a sauna (very welcome after a days skiing), 2 bedrooms, one with 2 single beds and one with a bunk bed, beds were soft and comfortable. A small kitchen with microwave, fridge, hob (no oven) and dishwasher plus all the usual utensils. Shower room (no bath) which had a drying cabinet for towels and wet clothes but it wasn't very effective. Also the heater in the bathroom stopped working half way through the week although there was plenty of heating in other areas so we certainly didn't get cold. Plenty of hot water for showers. Lounge area was comfortable with TV (only 1 English TV channel – BBC News), with sofa and dining table.

Outside was a large balcony that over looked the lake and the mountain range which also had a large table and set of chairs.

The cabins are ski-in, ski-out which made getting around the site and to the slopes very easy.
The hotel block has a large reception area with lots of comfy chairs with book library, open fire, views across the lake, small bar and free wifi internet access. At the sports desk you can book optional activities such as dog sledding, snowmobiling etc. On the same level is a large restaurant. We only ate there once and its was very good food but expensive against UK prices (as is all of Sweden). Downstairs is a large bar and games room for kids.
Outside there is car parking and also a sports shop for ski hire etc.

For skiing there is a small free button lift right next to the hotel which is great for kids or beginners. On the other side is a larger slope and several additional runs through the trees giving a good selection of skiing options - we are near beginners and thoroughly enjoyed the various terrain. The main slope is classed as easy but was dauntingly steep for the top 1/4, however there are options to either get off 3/4 of the way up, or take a less steep route for the first 1/4 of the slope. The ski pass for this slope costs 210 SEK per day (2012/13 prices). Further over there is a much much larger array of easy, intermediate & advanced slopes and some very very long button lifts however we didn't feel the need to use those in the week we were there. There is a also a shuttle bus running to the next ski resort in Riksgränsen.

There’s not much nearby. There is apparently a small shop in the village but we went to Abisko which is about 5 miles away which has the largest pick n' mix selection you've ever seen and a good general selection of food.

There is a railway station a short walk from the hotel which can take you to Narvik or Kiruna, you can buy tickets from the hotel reception cheaper than it shows on rail website.

All-in-all a highly recommended location for skiing and winter activities.

Room Tip: All cabins appear to overlook the lake and mountains, but some hotel rooms appeared to overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exrayspex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bjorkliden
5.6 mi away
Abisko Guesthouse
Abisko Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Abisko
394 reviews
4.3 mi away
STF Abisko Mountain Station
5.8 mi away
Abisko Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Katterjokk
Katterjokk
#1 of 5 in Riksgransen
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gammelgarden Ski Lodge
Gammelgarden Ski Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bjorkliden
8 reviews
14.1 mi away
STF Hostel Riksgransen
STF Hostel Riksgransen
#2 of 5 in Riksgransen
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fjallet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fjallet

Property: Hotel Fjallet
Address: Bjorkliden Fjallby, Bjorkliden 981 93, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Bjorkliden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bjorkliden
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fjallet 4*
Number of rooms: 131

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing