We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location and very comfortable”
Review of Hotel Fjallet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bjorkliden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Fjallet
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bjorkliden
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant location and very comfortable”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Kappas Cabins
Nicely renovated cabin, though bathroom a bit dated. Very well designed, lots of storage space and really useful 'wet' area to put boots on and leave wet ski stuff etc. I think the floor was heated in that part of the cabin. Fully adjustable and very effective heaters in the other, carpeted, parts. Drying cupboard in bathroom really good too.
Would have been good to have an oven. Just had a hob and microwave.
We were in Cabin 20, which I think was probably the best location of all the Kappas cabins - brilliant view and not too far from hotel.
Large balcony overlooking the frozen lake and Lapporten. We took the chairs out onto the path at the front of our cabin and Aurora-bathed!
Note that cabins don't have wi-fi, but it is available free in the hotel lobby and bar.

Food and drink
We rented a car and shopped at Kiruna. Mini mart at Bjorkliden is cute, but very small and right at bottom of hill. We bought wine at Heathrow and beer (up to 3.5%) at Kiruna supermarket. Otherwise, I think you need to buy booze at the Systembolaget.
Food and drink is expensive at the hotel, but very good. We ate a la carte on a couple of nights. Recommend the roasted reindeer fillet - delicious. Service very friendly.
I believe that you could order fresh bread from the hotel, for collection the following day, but I only discovered this just before we left.
Hotel seemed to be having a few problems with billing system when we were there. I'd already paid bill before I noticed mistake, but they were extremely apologetic and refunded over £100.

Activities
Skiiing isn't brilliant for a good skier - there are only surface lifts and only a few of them. The 2 green slopes are actually the nursery slope - very short, but with a pommel lift, and free.
We were very lucky to have 3 wonderful nights of Northern Lights, viewed from right outside our cabin. We tried to go on the Abisko Skystation trip but it was fully booked. Really glad we didn't go as it was very expensive and seemed to go ahead even if it was cloudy.
Bjorkliden is really not very commercialised. Nor is Kiruna Airport. Quite refreshing, but no opportunity to buy souvenirs! You really do feel as if you're away from it all. We took a drive to Narvik, in Norway, for some more great scenery on the way, and a few more shopping opportunities. (Note that we got permission from the hire company to take the car out of Sweden.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexSmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    73
    29
    10
    2
See reviews for
40
89
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northants, UK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stunning views on the coach trip up from Kiruna Airport. Check-in was very slick, although the map to locate the cabin could have been clearer. The cabin itself (no 50) on the front row for wonderful views of Lapporten, was clean, very warm and well appointed - we even had our own sauna.
Staff in the hotel were friendly and very helpful - and even recognised who we were!
Food; breakfast choice was very good. We were not too sure what to expect for main meals, food was served well cooked, maybe a little slow on occasions, plenty of fish not much veg.
The four day trip was booked through Simply Sweden who were very helpful in arranging excursions for Huskies (excellent!), snow shoe walking and an evening at Abisko Sky station (yes, the northern lights came out to play!) - which all worked out as planned. We also saw the Aurora from the resort, which was a bonus.
Note though: we arrived the day before the start of the ski season. This did bring with it lots of groups of youngsters (not Brits) who made quite an impact on the resort - you might want to avoid this weekend in early Feb in the future, although it did not spoil our stay.

Room Tip: Cabins are excellent - self contained with own sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

From the second you arrive at Abisko airport the views and scenery are quite simply mind blowing!! We arrived at the hotel a week before the season was due to start and there were final preparations being made to get the hotel ready for the forthcoming season!! Also the hotel had just been re-furbed from top to bottom and wasn't quit finished! We didn't mind this as we got the run of the hotel to ourselves and everything was still brand new !!

Rooms-
We had room 215 on the first level which had an unbelievable view of the lake and hills.(amazing when you opened the curtains in a morning) Brand new decor and cable Tv. Bathroom was still a bit dated.(but then i don't go away to spend all my time in the bathroom!)!! Really nice room and was happy relaxing in there after a good day out in the snow!!

Food-
breakfast- A really good mix of continental meats and amazing local breads as well as warm cooked breakfast and cereals. All tasted even better with the most spectacular panoramic view of the lake and hills and the sun rising!
evening meal- the hotel have just brought in a new chief and team which means you get what i could only describe as "master chief" on a plate! As we were out of season we only got one option for starter and main course. Couldn't knock a single dish. 10/10 every day! A great mix of local traditional dishes and fine dining! stunning!!

Drinks-
Be warned the worlds greatest views come at a price!! The drinks make london look cheap! However nothing a good stock up at duty free on the way over doesn't cure(cant beat sticking your champagne or vodka out in the snow to chill).

Staff- All the staff were on there induction week learning the ropes. All very friendly and more than willing to help us out. There were a few teething problems but hey we've all been new at something once!!!!!

Activities-
Dog sleighing at Abisko. A trek through the forests of Abisko national park by your team of dogs is breathtaking!!(booked through "off the map travel")10/10

Snowboarding at the hotel. Worked out about £25 each for half a day with hire of all brand new top of the range equipment! Spectacular views and fresh powder!!!10/10

Abisko sky station- A must do!! You can have a totally different experience to the people who went the night before! all depends on a clear night and solar activities on the build up to your trip. Check out www.lightsoverlapland.com for the live web cam. just remember just because its cloudy at ground level doesn't mean its not clear above the clouds!!! The trip up the 20 min chair lift is unforgettable! Take a hip flask with some good vodka with you!! A real adventure!!11/10

Walks- the walks up the paths up the mountain are simply unbelievable! Some of the best views i've ever witnessed.

Ice hotel- A must. we booked it as a visit on the way back to the airport. A perfect way to end the perfect trip! Vodka in iced glasses in amazing settings!!

We booked through "off the map travel"(www.offthemaptravel.com) which was a made to measure package and offered you a taste of what arctic sweden has to offer. Speak to jonny who runs it. Really helpful and amazing company!!

And yes we DID see the northern lights!!! Spectacular!!!

Already booking to go back!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel was lovely.
We stayed in one of the cabins, we had number 53, right along the front row, so it has an unobstructed view. If you are not along the front, it is likely your view might not be as good. The cabins were large, the sauna excellent and the dry room to leave our clothes was large and very convenient.
The hotel was relaxing, candles and open fires all day. The food was really nice. It was a set menu, every night but cooked very well. The activities were the best thing here, all the staff who ran the activities were excellent and they were all worth the money.

The main down side was the service, it was not very good from the main hotel staff. Some staff were brilliant, while others just kept passing responsibility. We went low season and there was hardly anyone there, but i think if it got any busier then the service would be a problem. In their defence we lost water in our cabin for a day and they offered us many alternatives for our comfort including using a hotel room (which after seeing, showed us how nice the cabins were).

All in all a great stay, saw the northern lights and had a great stay.

Room Tip: Take one of the cabins for extra space and for the views...try and pick a cabin along the front, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midlander23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent 10 days in a cabin that is part of the Hotel grounds. Cabins 81, 82 and 83 are the largest in the area and we were fortunate to have one of them for our holiday. Really enjoyed the facilities - especially the private sauna in the cabin and the hot tub on the terrace overlooking the valley. Despite the few hours of daylight, we had amazing experiences every day. Service was also good - efficient, polite, helpful. We got our car stuck in the snow once and we had immediate help from the hotel staff who came with a monster large tractor and pulled us out. Great walks in the Abisko area, and not too far to drive to Narvik in Norway...all in all, a fantastic place.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, take one of the large cabins - they fit 8-10 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Beautiful scenery over the 70km long lake at the foot of the "Lapporten". Stayed here for 4 nights. Service/Friendlyness from the staff was average, the food in the restaurant under average. Very small portions and not well cooked. Kitchen and restaurant understaffed. We had to wait very long for our food.
Hotelrooms are small but good, bathroom practical and clean. Again a wonderfull view from the hotelroom (if you are on the correct side like we were). We used the hotel as basecamp for several beautiful hikings in Abisko National Park like the Kings trail, the path to the Tornehamn cemetary and the Laktatjakko Fjallstation.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RayVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

we stayed here with friends they had stayed several times and loved the place - when you get here its not hard to see why ! stunning location high above the lake looking over to the Sami gateway. We lover it here and highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bjorkliden
5.6 mi away
Abisko Guesthouse
Abisko Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Abisko
403 reviews
4.3 mi away
STF Abisko Mountain Station
5.8 mi away
Abisko Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Katterjokk
Katterjokk
#1 of 5 in Riksgransen
33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gammelgarden Ski Lodge
Gammelgarden Ski Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bjorkliden
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fjallet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fjallet

Property: Hotel Fjallet
Address: Bjorkliden Fjallby, Bjorkliden 981 93, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Bjorkliden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bjorkliden
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fjallet 4*
Number of rooms: 131

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing