We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth visiting”

Blockhaus d'Eperlecques
Book In Advance
More Info
$391.53*
and up
Full Day Tour of WW2 in Northern France, the Atlantic Wall ,V1 and V2 launching...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

An excellent insight into WWII, well worth visiting. Easy route to follow with lots of information and commentaries.
We had difficulty finding it but that was due to a market closing the roads around it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorrainef67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    115
    12
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is truly a nightmare monument but one which should be seen. When I turned the corner and it came into view I was overwhelmed both physically and emotionally by the sheer unimaginable scale of the construction and the reminder of all the terrible things that had been done here. It's not a day out to 'enjoy' and I wouldn't take small children. The whole place has a very eerie, sinister and atmospheric feeling which is reinforced by the fact that there are few visitors (it's off the tourist trail) and it is hidden deep in a forest. One of the most incredible things I have seen regarding the second world war. Do not look up photos of it beforehand, just go.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank veebee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It is always worth the visit”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Someone who visited the Blockhaus said it was not worth the detour. I disagree. The Blockhaus is a monument to the suffering of all those who were forced to construct it, it is also the grave of several workers - some of whom were Jews and their remains are interred in the structure.

The Blockhaus is also a reminder of why our parents fought evil, in my case my wife's father was probably involved in one of the visits that the RAF paid to the site and it was functional almost up to the end of the war when it was over run by allied forces. I think from memory - I don't have the book to hand, that it is mentioned in either the "Dambusters" or "Cheshire VC," as 617 Squadron were certainly users of the "Tallboy" bombs that were dropped on the site.

Those people who built it suffered and if for no other reason we should all visit it and spend some time in quiet contemplation of those who suffered because evil tried to reign supreme. That the Blockhaus is still relatively intact is a tribute to those poor people who built it.

Go and remember them. Thank your god that evil was defeated and remember what the Blockhaus could have done.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geologist2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Food for thought!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Not a place to "enjoy" as it remains a monument to one of the horrors of the second world war. The place itself is as entitled a "block" of concrete built to house & fuel the V2 bombs that rained down on London. Built using Belgium and French labourers and in some cases their bodies too, shovelled into the concrete that makes up the building. The place remains a testament to the most hideous aspects of war, remaining as it does pretty much untouched since being vacated by the Germans. It is something one should see.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nick_nadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Interesting place to visit”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We found the Blockhaus by putting in Watten into our satnav, and than when we got to Watten, we found signs that took us to Blockhaus. It was 9€ per adult to enter.

It was very interesting and eye opening about how they launched the V2 missiles, and inside the actual Blockhaus was the replica of the V2. It was bigger than I imagined and looked dark, that you could feel what actually happened here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tarry11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blockhaus d'Eperlecques also viewed

Saint-Omer, Pas-de-Calais
Wissant, Pas-de-Calais
 
Saint-Omer, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Blockhaus d'Eperlecques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing