We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sejours et Affaires Les Rives
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gex
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Pros: Much cheaper than Geneva. Beautiful views of the mountains. Calmness and tranquillity. Free parking. Free wi-fi, though it’s not possible to connect two devices at the same time. The kitchen and the bathroom were simple but good enough, and everything was clean. There is a laundry service for long stays.

Cons: Pretty uncomfortable bed (in fact, our room only had a sofa bed). It was big but, like all sofa beds, had a very thin mattress and was very noisy. Also, we found the room ridiculously small.

I would recommend it for short stays or for travellers just passing by: although there is a bus to and from Geneva that stops at Gex, I don’t think this hotel is a good choice to explore the city –it’s too far away.

Room Tip: Apparently, the hotel has rooms with actual beds (and no sofa beds!). Ask for one of those.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meritxell_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Sejours et Affaires Les Rives
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 66 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Ideal for those who are looking for hotels with kitchen facilities to avoid expensive eating in Geneva. This hotel is actually located in France-Geneva border in GEX & traveling to & from Geneva is a convenient 45 min bus ride with Bus F from Geneva Central station-Gare Cornavin.
You need to get down at Gex Poste bus stop to reach your hotel while returning from Geneva.

The hotel had very good facilities with a comfortable spacious double room with a balcony with lovely mountain views. The rooms also contain a well equipped kitchen with ovens, microwave with all kitchen utensils. The bathrooms are also spacious & well equipped.

We stayed here for 3 nights in the month of May & it was really an enjoyable stay. Gex itself is a beautiful little place fully surrounded by mountains.

I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

just a 45 minutes bus ride from Geneva Airport (Bus Line 5) get off at the 3rd stop and get the F Line to Gex. CHF 4.90 Get off at Gex,Post Office. Cross the road and go down some steps. Take a left then a right at round about and it is 200 yards on the left. Aproximately 6 minutes to walk there from Gex Post Office.
Clean, tidy, appartment even if the appartment is quite petite.
Nice breakfast for E7.50 (Not Sundays).
Lovely view from the appartment facing moutains.
Very cheap to stay here and good value.
For very good gourmet food I can highly recommend Creperie Le Jeu De L`oie also Restaurant de la fruitiere TRAITEUR in the village centre.
A quiet and relaxing town with friendly and helpful locals.Don`t forget to buy some world renown Gex Blue cheese made from a nearby 13C Abbaye.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jestersjug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I spent a few nights here, and it was a last minute arrangement. Staff were helpful in giving me instructions on how to get there (Bus F from Geneva, get off at Gex-Poste), the code for the main door and a second code to get my key. I arrived around midnight and it worked perfectly.

Rooms are OK, with a very small kitchenette (I was happy that I did not need to use it), nice bathroom and good amenities. TV was OK for 2 nights, WiFi worked perfectly and is free. There is a breakfast buffet (I did not use that either).

Location is very far from anything, and the bus ride back and forth to Geneva is not fun (45-60 minutes depending on traffic, 4,80 CHF or 4 Euro), but prices in Geneva were crazy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacob57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

While looking for a place to stay in/around Geneva I came across this place.
It has comfortable rooms with a kitchen and a nice bathroom... decent price and comfortable service. There is a bus (bus F) just 5 minutes walking from the apart-hotel and in 45 minutes you are in Geneva. Ideal for people with a short stay and planning to work at the Palace of Nations.
My bed is a sofa-bed but it is quite comfortable... slept like a rock last night!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertha_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

As a single traveler, I was looking for cheap hostel at the beginning. But after I read some of the review of the cheapest hostel nearby, I decided to pay a little bit more and stay in a better one. This hotel's location is okay but if you have luggage with you, you'd better prepare 15-20 mins walk from the hotel to the nearest bus stop (going to Geneva). it's the same distance from the hotel to the center of the town. It's actually a small town.
THe room is clean and tidy with a small kitchen, balcony, TV, wardrobe, heater and free wireless access. The bathroom is clean and neat. I think I got what I paid for. With Euro 55, the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Cedric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gex
3.9 mi away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree du Parc
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree...
#2 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
164 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Mainaz Hotel Restaurant & Resort
0.9 mi away
Fasthotel Geneve Gex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Premiere Classe Geneve - Prevessin
4.2 mi away
Appart'City Confort Geneve Divonne-les-Bains
Appart'City Confort Geneve Divon...
#10 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
147 reviews
3.9 mi away
Domaine de Divonne
Domaine de Divonne
#1 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sejours et Affaires Les Rives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sejours et Affaires Les Rives

Address: 125 avenue de Belle Ferme, 01170 Gex, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Gex
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Gex
Price Range: $61 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sejours et Affaires Les Rives 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sejours et Affaires Les Rives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sejours Et Affaires Les Rives Gex, France - Ain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing