We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Many times a customer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge du Pot d'Etain
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Many times a customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed three nights demi-pension and one night full board and as usual were delighted with food ,drink, accommodation and service. We have stayed in this Auberge every year en route to the Alps since 2000 and cannot recommend it enough .The Pechery family have made this little inn a treasure in every way

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the courtyard can be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spencer094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here based on a friend's recommendation and were not disappointed. L'Auberge du Pot d'Etain is in a lovely little village, our room was modern, clean and comfortable, and dinner in the restaurant was absolutely terrific. Seriously, the worst thing I could say about our stay is that the shampoo in the bathroom isn't really what you'd expect from such a nice place. Others have written that the owners/ staff were rude; I didn't think so at all. I think they just give people their space and are more professional rather than personal. Our dinner there was one of the best during our week-long trip to France; the veloutee with escargots was particularly memorable. It was a great "home base" for a few days of traveling to see different towns in the Burgundy countryside and I'd certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower, such as #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSoakers2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howth, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I never write bad reviews so let me start by the only plus point of this place. Amazing wine list.
But take my advice and stay somewhere else!
We both ate in the restaurant and stayed in the b&b.
My most shocking experience of bad service... from arrival until departure we met 3 members of the owner family. not one of them gave us a smile or returned mines. The girl who was serving us never returned my "merci"s with an "avec plaisir". Nor did the owner maitre d' who actually walked away while my boyfriend was talking to him. My boyfriend got refilled twice, while I was sitting there with an empty glass. But that's only nuance as this is not a fine dining place. They made me feel that they are doing us a favour by letting us dine and sleep there whereas we were the paying customers.... ah well.
The "decor" is extremely old fashioned and without any style, but again if it was a friendly place I wouldn't even care...
The rooms are really, really cold. considering that we stayed the end of May, I assume it's all year round.
The rooms (at least the one we stayed in) desperately need some renovation.
I didn't sleep much, because of the cold temperature, however the rooms are relatively quiet.
My opinion is if you visit for the wine list look for somewhere else to stay, but if you are not into wine, find somewhere with better food and service for your money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kahuna_surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilyfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Relaxed informal but friendly efficient dealings. Room perfectly good and value at 65 euros. Evening meal, again at 55 euros set meal good value. Escalope mousse as amuse bouche, promising. Unfortunately next two courses disappointing, well cooked but lacking both taste and coherent combination -hommard with strange ? soft meat slices, then cod with potatoe puree. Dessert, strawberry concoction with tasty tweel, lovely. Truely astonishing wine list, 50 pages with 50 wines per page mostly prominent burgundy/rhone producers. Beautiful rustic countryside around and not far from Chablis.
Would I go again -yes, hopefully food will then match other excellent characteristics.

Room Tip: all room probaly quiet as inn off the beaten track and appear to be behind internal courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This delightful, family run auberge is only a short distance from the motorway, but is a real oasis after a long day's drive. The charming rooms, flower filled courtyard and accomodating staff are very welcoming and the dining experience is memorable. The clean, pleasant rooms are furnished with antiques and have modern, up to the minute baths. The wine selection is daunting, especially if you aren't familiar with wines of the region, but recommendations are cheerfully given and the choices are not necessarily from the high end of the list. Excellent food is provided by the chef de cuisine, the son of the hotel owners, and is served in an intimate and tasteful dining room where breakfast is also served. Our overnight stay couldn't have been more pleasurable and we're looking forward to a return visit next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenderfootarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Its pretty difficult to book this place unless you speak French, but arriving after a long drive up from the south coast, we were extremely glad we perservered to book this little hotel. Its situated in a pretty village not far off the A6 and run by a family, obviously with high standards of professionalism and perfectionism. Our room 1 was enormous with a little sitting room, spa bath (only hand held shower) and little balcony overlooking the inner flower filled courtyard set for lunch, was delightful and spotlessly clean. It represented fantastic value for money as it would be sold a junior suite/suite in other hotels.
Our 4 course dinner from the Euro35 menu, was excellent and of an extremely high standard, and was one of the best of our 2 week trip. The restaurant is beautifully presented and the service was friendly but professional. As others have said its a phenomenal wine list but I'm sure there's something in it for everyone, our choice was very good. Breakfast was typically French as I think they are their main clients. We had only time for a little walk around the village but will definitely return if we are in the area again one day.

Room Tip: Room 1 for something a little more special or a longer stay, as its larger and has a balcony, still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartres, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I can only comment on the restaurant and not on the hotel. This is a very typical French place (which in my mouth is a definite compliment) with good solid regional food, friendly service but above all the most amazing (Burgundy) wine list you can think of. A strong point is that when asked for recommendation, the staff goes for the more reasonable priced items: bravo!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Isle-sur-Serein
5.9 mi away
Ibis Avallon
Ibis Avallon
#1 of 3 in Magny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Auberge de la Beursaudiere
18.3 mi away
L'Hostellerie des Clos
L'Hostellerie des Clos
#1 of 4 in Chablis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
#1 of 1 in Vault-de-Lugny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
9.2 mi away
Le Moulin des Templiers
Le Moulin des Templiers
#1 of 3 in Pontaubert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
7.5 mi away
Dak'Hotel
Dak'Hotel
#1 of 6 in Avallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Pot d'Etain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Pot d'Etain

Property: Auberge du Pot d'Etain
Address: L'Isle-sur-Serein, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > L'Isle-sur-Serein
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in L'Isle-sur-Serein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Auberge du Pot d'Etain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Pot D'Etain France/L'Isle-Sur-Serein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing