We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay and a great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lord Nelson Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Besthorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Hollywood, California
2 reviews
“A great place to stay and a great value”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights and the stay was perfect. Richard met us when we arrived and couldn't have been nicer. Definitely opt for the breakfast in the mornings - it's a home-cooked meal for a great price. The only caveat i had is you can hear some of the traffic on the road in front of the inn so if you're an ultra-light sleeper that could be an issue. That being said, my wife and I tend to be light sleepers and it didn't affect either of us. A much better experience than staying at the regular hotel down the street.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elcid3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    18
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
36
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stayed here as a female on my own as away with work and was pleasantly surprised fantastic welcome the food is outstanding. Will bring husband next time. Lovely lovely place.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bush35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed at the Lord Nelson as part of a leisure trip to see Status Quo in Lincoln. I have to say it was an absolute joy to stay here. From the warm welcome, friendly family run atmosphere, the immaculate room, the value, service and quality of the amazing Sunday lunch, I can't recommend it enough. A must stay if you are in the area or a must visit for a Sunday Lunch.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiselittleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stopped over here on route for an early start in Yorkshire and found the pub friendy & clean.

The room was facing the road but this wasn't a problem - slept really well.

We didn't experience breakfast as we left too early but i'm guessing it will have been good looking at how many peaople were eating the evening we arrived.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecottage56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenthead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Loved it .. warm welcome, immaculately clean and comparable to the pubs locally it was 5 star. The proximity to a busy road would be my only complaint if I hadn't been so well fed and content. Thank you for a lovely stay and we will be back :-)

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank deaconkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Besthorpe
7.3 mi away
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
Best Western Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
338 reviews
7.3 mi away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
190 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
Travelodge Newark North Muskham
#1 of 1 in North Muskham
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
715 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Staunton Arms
The Staunton Arms
#1 of 1 in Staunton in the Vale
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Nelson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Nelson Inn

Property: The Lord Nelson Inn
Address: Main Road | Besthorpe, Besthorpe, Newark-on-Trent NG23 7HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Besthorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Besthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lord Nelson Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional country inn offering real ales, fine wines, and home-cooked food in a warm, friendly atmosphere.We are also able to offer accommodation, and have been awarded 4 stars by Visit Britain.Food is served 7 nights a week and on Sunday lunchtimes. It is advisable to book at weekends.We are conveniently located for either Newark or Lincoln, and the antique fairs at Newark and Swinderby are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lord Nelson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing