We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just beautiful”
Review of Laguna Quilotoa

Laguna Quilotoa
Book In Advance
More Info
$219.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to Quilotoa Lagoon and Markets from Quito
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Latacunga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Ibarra, Ecuador
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Loved the pay off for going down that really steep. Quilotoa is more than beautiful..
Didn't like that I missed the bus and ended up paying a local guy to take me and my group to our hotel, and he left us in the middle of the way since he raised the set prize.. that was frustrating! So I recommend, you set your transportation with your hotel...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MCSilvaEcuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    65
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spectacular, no need for a tour!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We followed the advice of davidzet, and did our own DIY day tour from Latacunga. With a little research, you can find buses from the main bus station in Latacunga for a few dollars each, each way. The journey takes about 60-90 minutes each way.
You either want to get a bus directly to Quilotoa (less frequent), or a bus that goes to Quevedo and get off in Zumbahua (more frequent), then get a taxi/combi up to Quilotoa.
Our bus up was pretty shabby, and they pack the locals in with no standing room left, quite an adventure. The bus back was more relaxed, but the scenery along the way is amazing.
The crater and lake are spectacular, and I could easily have spent a lot longer there. We didn't hike to the bottom, other people have told me it is worth it, but a long hard slog back to the top.
There are a few restaurants and hotels in Quilotoa, but all looked very basic. We had a good, cheap almuerzo in one place opposite the crater viewing platform, but I developed gastroenteritis the next day, so pick carefully!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank doddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Fantastic view”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

If you are ever in the opportunity to visit Lake Quilotoa please do so, because it is amazing! Especially if you do the hike from Quilotoa lake towards Chugchilan!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank san4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Walking around the crater rim is truly wonderful but make sure you come prepared.”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

It's a fantastic hike round the crater rim. Takes between 3-5 hrs depending on how quick you go and there's a fair old bit of scrabbling through rocks but it's worth it on a clear day. If there's mist I wouldn't bother.

We had views to Cotopaxi, and weather that would hide the lake from us at times but reveal its beauty a few moments later. We actually lost the trail in the fog and descended into the crater so word to the wise..... Don't deviate away from the top of the rim or it's a harsh climb back.

Weather changed from bright sunshine, to deep fog to sunshine and wind to rain very rapidly so bring sunscreen, water and a few extra layers in case.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“No need for a tour!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

You can see the lake (and hike down/back) as a daytrip from Latacunga.Take the bus to the town nearby (forgot the name) for ~$2, then wait for a bus (if you're lucky) or hire a jeep ($5) to get back to the PanAmerican and catch a bus to latacunga. Recommend AGAINST donkeys for the walk back up; looked pretty uncomfortable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank davidzet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laguna Quilotoa also viewed

Cotopaxi Province, Ecuador
Latacunga, Cotopaxi Province
 
Latacunga, Cotopaxi Province
Latacunga, Cotopaxi Province
 

Been to Laguna Quilotoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing