We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Villa de Tacvnga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa de Tacvnga
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Latacunga
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The staff was very friendly, they were able to park our car securely in a garage and the hotel itself was beautiful. When we first arrived, we were greeted by someone who did not speak any English, but he called someone who did and we were able to get things sorted out. It is in a good location to a supermarket and restaurants for eating. We had no problem navigating this small city. We stayed here to make a day trip to Quilotoa, but it was actually a lot farther than we imagined. The laguna was a two hour drive away. So if you're making this your base, be advised it's far.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilladeTacvngaHotel, Propietario at Villa de Tacvnga, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2015

Thanks for your positive feedback, this enables us continual improvement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 95 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

Staff are great and there is parking in a garage nearby. However, there are NO safes and the rooms are not secure. Rooms are basic but noisy, hot water is good. As trip advisor is forcing me to write more: Blah blah blah Blah blah blah Blah blah blah Blah blah blah Blah blah blah

Room Tip: All rooms are noisy and basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilladeTacvngaHotel, Propietario at Villa de Tacvnga, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2015

Thanks for your positive feedback, this enables us continual improvement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for one night. During this time the Internet worked sporadically and when it was time to take a hot shower the water was cold. The staff were pleasant and friendly. The hotel is downtown so it is in a good location to visit the city sites.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jafa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilladeTacvngaHotel, Propietario at Villa de Tacvnga, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2015

Thanks for your positive feedback, this enables us continual improvement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights around Mama Negra. I think they upgraded me, room had a sofa sitting area. Had a view from the room. Some English spoken. Rooms have space heaters! Sevice a little slow at breakfast (wait for the fruit and eggs, they are included!). Located in colonial center.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilladeTacvngaHotel, Propietario at Villa de Tacvnga, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2015

Thanks for your positive feedback, this enables us continual improvement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to visit the Quilotoa lake. Basic hotel, but good value for money with a good & friendly service. The breakfast is also basic, but they help you to organise the trips and visits you want to do over there. The lake is one of the most pieces of nature in the area. A must when it fits into your touring calendar.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilladeTacvngaHotel, Propietario at Villa de Tacvnga, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2015

Thanks for your positive feedback, this enables us continual improvement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very well situated downtown Latacunga with a free safe parking for the car. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. The adjacent restaurant is very good and situated in a nice old building. The owners are very helpful in counseling about the various interesting places to visit around.

Room Tip: We spent 3 nights in a very quiet room on the second floor. The view from the terrace is gorgeous at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maryvonne38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilladeTacvngaHotel, Propietario at Villa de Tacvnga, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2015

Thanks for your positive feedback, this enables us continual improvement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently spent an unexpected night at Villa de Tacvnga in Latacunga. We had just been to the rainforest near Tena and had planned to travel on to Papallacta, but we learned that a bridge was out on that route, so we had to rearrange our plans and travel back to Quito the long way around (via Banos, Ambato, and Latacunga). Fortunately, Villa de Tacvnga was able to accommodate us. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the breakfast that was included with our stay. The hotel is very nice with beautiful courtyards and well-appointed rooms. One of the perks was that we were able to use the washing machine and dryer located in a room on the top floor to do our own laundry (plenty of that after being in the rainforest!) The top floor is also the roof of the hotel, and offers beautiful scenic views, including Volcan Cotopaxi. Latacunga seemed like a nice, quiet town, although we really weren't there long enough to fully experience it. The one small complaint we have is that it took quite a long time to get hot water in the morning, but it did eventually heat up. We would recommend Villa de Tacvnga to anyone looking for a place to stay in Latacunga.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StormBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilladeTacvngaHotel, Propietario at Villa de Tacvnga, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2015

Thanks for your positive feedback, this enables us continual improvement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latacunga
0.2 mi away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 4 in Latacunga
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Agustin Plaza
Hotel San Agustin Plaza
#4 of 4 in Latacunga
3 reviews
7.5 mi away
Rumipamba de las Rosas
Rumipamba de las Rosas
#1 of 1 in Salcedo
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Hotel Cuello de Luna
Hotel Cuello de Luna
#4 of 7 in Cotopaxi Province
109 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cabanas Los Volcanes
Cabanas Los Volcanes
#2 of 16 in Latacunga
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rodelu
Hotel Rodelu
#1 of 16 in Latacunga
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa de Tacvnga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de Tacvnga

Address: Sanchez de Orellana y Guayaquil (Esquina) | Plaza de Santo Domingo, Latacunga 050104, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Latacunga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Latacunga
Price Range: $70 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa de Tacvnga 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecuador got the unique hotel build with pumice stone The house was ordered built at the beginning of the eighteenth century by the Marquis de Miraflores. Here lived the General Manuel Tomas Maldonado and housing was in the hands of his heirs for over 150 years until it was acquired and renovated and converted into a hotel. Pumice of this house was formed by rapid cooling of a lava-rich gases. In volcanic areas like Latacunga, where the pumice was plentiful, it was used for foundations in traditional houses and walls built to stop dividing land or properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa de Tacvnga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing