We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in upper floor room”
Review of Villa de Tacvnga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa de Tacvnga
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Latacunga
california
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in upper floor room”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights around Mama Negra. I think they upgraded me, room had a sofa sitting area. Had a view from the room. Some English spoken. Rooms have space heaters! Sevice a little slow at breakfast (wait for the fruit and eggs, they are included!). Located in colonial center.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilladeTacvngaHotel, Propietario at Villa de Tacvnga, responded to this review, December 26, 2015
Thanks for your positive feedback, this enables us continual improvement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    35
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
13
48
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westerlo, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to visit the Quilotoa lake. Basic hotel, but good value for money with a good & friendly service. The breakfast is also basic, but they help you to organise the trips and visits you want to do over there. The lake is one of the most pieces of nature in the area. A must when it fits into your touring calendar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilladeTacvngaHotel, Propietario at Villa de Tacvnga, responded to this review, December 26, 2015
Thanks for your positive feedback, this enables us continual improvement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very well situated downtown Latacunga with a free safe parking for the car. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. The adjacent restaurant is very good and situated in a nice old building. The owners are very helpful in counseling about the various interesting places to visit around.

Room Tip: We spent 3 nights in a very quiet room on the second floor. The view from the terrace is gorgeous at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maryvonne38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilladeTacvngaHotel, Propietario at Villa de Tacvnga, responded to this review, December 26, 2015
Thanks for your positive feedback, this enables us continual improvement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently spent an unexpected night at Villa de Tacvnga in Latacunga. We had just been to the rainforest near Tena and had planned to travel on to Papallacta, but we learned that a bridge was out on that route, so we had to rearrange our plans and travel back to Quito the long way around (via Banos, Ambato, and Latacunga). Fortunately, Villa de Tacvnga was able to accommodate us. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the breakfast that was included with our stay. The hotel is very nice with beautiful courtyards and well-appointed rooms. One of the perks was that we were able to use the washing machine and dryer located in a room on the top floor to do our own laundry (plenty of that after being in the rainforest!) The top floor is also the roof of the hotel, and offers beautiful scenic views, including Volcan Cotopaxi. Latacunga seemed like a nice, quiet town, although we really weren't there long enough to fully experience it. The one small complaint we have is that it took quite a long time to get hot water in the morning, but it did eventually heat up. We would recommend Villa de Tacvnga to anyone looking for a place to stay in Latacunga.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StormBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilladeTacvngaHotel, Propietario at Villa de Tacvnga, responded to this review, December 26, 2015
Thanks for your positive feedback, this enables us continual improvement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a nice colonial hotel in a nice city, very well located, clean but a bit small rooms. Good breakfast and very friendly staff. As most things in Ecuador, good value for money. We had a room on the 2nd floor, think 2nd and 3rd are the best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TpotAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilladeTacvngaHotel, Propietario at Villa de Tacvnga, responded to this review, December 26, 2015
Thanks for your positive feedback, this enables us continual improvement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Royaume-uni
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We visited this hotel 2 weeks ago, and right from the start, the friendliness of the family who owned it came to the fore. The rooms are very well looked after, some overlooking a small courtyard, and very clean. There is a larger interior covered courtyard which is also used for functions, weddings etc.
It is also a perfect base for exploring the Cotopaxi National Park. There are various trails for trecking and optionally you could trek to the top of the Volcano, view the glacier, and also the lake.
The town itself is not the most attractive, but does have some nice council buildings, churches etc. If catching a bus to Riobamba, do not go from the bus terminal as there are no direct buses, which entails a change in Ambato, but ask the locals where to catch the direct bus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tramontana44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilladeTacvngaHotel, Propietario at Villa de Tacvnga, responded to this review, December 26, 2015
Thanks for your positive feedback, this enables us continual improvement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I cannot complain because I got upgraded to a suite. The room was pretty awesome. The gentleman at the reception, in spite of the communication barrier was extremely helpful in guiding me about the bus schedule for the Quilotoa loop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilladeTacvngaHotel, Propietario at Villa de Tacvnga, responded to this review, December 26, 2015
Sorry, but Thanks for your feedback, this enables us continual improvement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latacunga
0.2 mi away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 4 in Latacunga
152 reviews
7.5 mi away
Rumipamba de las Rosas
Rumipamba de las Rosas
#1 of 1 in Salcedo
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cuello de Luna
Hotel Cuello de Luna
#5 of 7 in Cotopaxi Province
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Cabanas Los Volcanes
Cabanas Los Volcanes
#1 of 15 in Latacunga
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rodelu
Hotel Rodelu
#3 of 15 in Latacunga
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hosteria  Imperio Real
Hosteria Imperio Real
#1 of 1 in Salcedo
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa de Tacvnga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa de Tacvnga

Property: Villa de Tacvnga
Address: Sanchez de Orellana y Guayaquil (Esquina) | Plaza de Santo Domingo, Latacunga 050104, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Latacunga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Latacunga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa de Tacvnga 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecuador got the unique hotel build with pumice stone The house was ordered built at the beginning of the eighteenth century by the Marquis de Miraflores. Here lived the General Manuel Tomas Maldonado and housing was in the hands of his heirs for over 150 years until it was acquired and renovated and converted into a hotel. Pumice of this house was formed by rapid cooling of a lava-rich gases. In volcanic areas like Latacunga, where the pumice was plentiful, it was used for foundations in traditional houses and walls built to stop dividing land or properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Villa de Tacvnga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing