We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good enough place for a night”
Review of Hostal Tiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Tiana
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This place has the advantage of being located in Latacunga and therefore it's an easy starting point for the Quilotoa loop. The management was very helpful in providing information about the Loop, and we appreciated being able to leave our luggage there for a couple nights (not locked up though). Overall, it was just an average hostel and we felt that for Ecuador it was overpriced. Our room and bathroom could have been a lot cleaner, but it was passable. Breakfast was good. A nice place, but not memorable.

Room Tip: We had the private room right by the front door. The bathroom smelled horribly like mildew and wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathieu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 281 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed in hostel Tiana for two days at the start of my hiking trip to the Quilatoa Loop. When i Arrived in Latacunga i decided to go to hostel Tiana on the advice of Lonely Planet and Rough Guide.

And I'm very glad I stayed in hostel Tiana! because I had no idea how I could plan my hiking trip futher from Latacunga. But the Staff in Hostel Tiana helped me with everything!! they were super friendly.

Besides that the hostel is also very colorful and therefor super cozy. Also there was a good Internet connection and they have the best apple pie.

The hot showers were nice and the beds slept very pleasant. All in all, this hostel is really a must go!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Staff was helpful and nice. The apple pie was splendid, especially well enjoyed from the roof top hang out. I would recommend sneaking one of the bean bag chairs up there unless they put up some hammocks. The rooms are comfortable and clean with colorful decor. I have only 2 complaints and the first could just have been bad luck on my part. Two of the Three showers I had while staying there started quite hot and went cold literally within a minute or two. Secondly the Gym starts some sort of jazzercise class at 6:30am next door and it pounds through the walls if the rooster hasn't woke you yet. A decent choice if you are an early riser.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraggleduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed at Hostal Tiana on our way to and from the Quilotoa Loop. The owner spoke English and was very helpful with hiking info (we went through Isinlivi to get to Quilotoa and we loved this route - we stayed at their sister hostel called Lulu Llama and loved it!!). Regarding Hostal Tiana, it is helpful if you speak a bit of Spanish as many of the staff don't speak English. The room was large with a balcony. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful - two croissants, fresh juice, teas/coffee - and it's served in their open concept patio area. It can get a bit cold but we just bundled up! I am SO glad I brought earplugs as there is a gym studio next door that has 6am/7am aerobics classes with loud dance music (just be aware). Finally, Lonely Planet's address is incorrect; however, there are signs showing the location from the old place to the new place. Overall, we had a great time here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fieldhockey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We had lovely stays at Hostal Tiana before and after the Quilotoa Loop. The owner and staff are extremely helpful in planning the loop (maps, lodging arrangments, transport, etc...). The covered, outside common area is very spacious and has tables, couches, internet, television, and kitchen. Our private ensuite room was quite large and quiet considering it was on the first floor very near reception. The rooftop access offers amazing views of the surrounding volcanoes and the city itself. Breakfast was very simple (juice, coffee, tea and two pieces of bread), but they offer free coffee/tea all day. The hostal is located next to a workout center that blasts music all hours of the day and night, which does get rather annoying.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GnomeHome416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband was sick when we arrived and they called an excellent doctor for me right away, and I found the kitchen to be clean in the AM and sometimes have accumulated unwashed dishes by evening, however it was easy to cook there, and use the trays to take food upstairs. The stairs are creaky, making it hard to be quiet. There was adequate hot water in the shared bath, and the room was cheery and spacious. Best of all the people at the front desk are very kind and helpful. also the location is great in Latagunga.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank someone042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed for two nights in a private room for four of us, with possibly the tiniest en suite shower room I have ever seen. There was hot water though. The bunks were comfortable, but we were not given towels - we just used our own. The room was a little noisy - not street noise even though we were at the front of the building (it's a pedestrianised street), but the creaky stairs and floor above. Not bad for $12 pppn, including breakfast.

The communal space is nearly all outside in the pretty courtyard. There are covered areas for tables and chairs, soft seating in one corner, and flowers in the middle. The kitchen was small but adequate. The breakfast is basic (juice, hot drinks, rolls and jam) but you can add eggs and/or fruit for a fee.

Our children were not well while we were there, due to the altitude, but were able to chill out in the courtyard, with good wifi for company. As the hostel only moved here in July, everything still looks good, with fresh, bright paintwork and tiling. We saw some maintenance going on, so hopefully it will keep its shine a bit longer. The views from the roof terrace were amazing, but I was too scared to climb the very open stairs!

We found the Ecuadorean staff delightful, especially Nora who helped us sort out a parking fine (which could have been avoided if the guy on reception when we arrived had directed us to the nearby parking lot... Presumably he should have given us towels too!) and then some cheap, safe parking, but Jean the owner was rather brusque and seemed busy selling tours to guests. To be fair she gave us some travel tips for free too.

The hostel is close to the centre of town and many restaurants, a couple of supermarkets, pretty squares, and laundries. Latacunga has a terrible traffic problem, but walking around the centre is easy. We would probably stay at Hostal Tiana again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Latacunga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 4 in Latacunga
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostel Sendero de Volcanes
Hostel Sendero de Volcanes
#3 of 11 in Latacunga
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latacunga Hostel
Latacunga Hostel
#7 of 11 in Latacunga
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cabanas Los Volcanes
Cabanas Los Volcanes
#1 of 17 in Latacunga
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa de Tacvnga
Villa de Tacvnga
#3 of 4 in Latacunga
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosim
Hotel Rosim
#6 of 17 in Latacunga
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Tiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tiana

Address: Luis. F. Vivero 1-31 y Sanchez de Orellana, Latacunga 050150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Latacunga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Latacunga
Price Range: $17 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostal/cafe Tiana Home away from home in Latacunga, Ecuador! Budget accommodation for all travellers looking for a good bed to sleep in, a meeting place with other travellers and information about travelling in the area. Hostal/Cafe Tiana is located in the colonial centre of Latacunga, capital of the Cotopaxi province. From here you can easy visit the Cotopaxi National Park, Quilotoa Loop, Saquisili market and more! Make your reservation now to be sure of a bed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Tiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing