We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I gave "mylady" a hug when I arrived...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casita Carolina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bacalar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casita Carolina
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bacalar
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I gave "mylady" a hug when I arrived...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

What a wonderful place! The garden is beautiful and the pier where you can jump off and into the water is great. Although I stayed only one night (a shame but I had to go on) I really enjoyed my stay. Laguna Bacalar can be strange in the low season and at night there was only one place open for food but anyway. The room was so lovely decorated with little things and the bed was great as well.... GO THERE!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hennack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    66
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
22
105
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

If you want to visit Laguna Bacalar this might be the best place to stay. The village of Bacalar is very near by (for supermarket and breakfast), you can use kayaks of the hotel for free to explore the laguna. We stayed in the round palapa and its really great, its everything we wanted. Sometimes its a little difficult to reach Carolina (she seems to be very busy) for questions.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaniHab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

Casita Carolina's was our favorite place to stay in the Yucatan.
We originally booked for 1-2 nights but stayed for 3. Marsha was inn-keeping for Carolina when we were there and she couldn't have been any nicer, helpful or more welcoming. Its a beautiful setting, so peaceful, right on the laguna and a 2 min walk into town. We stayed in the blue house with a shared kitchen and living area which was perfect. We would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

From what I saw this was the best piece of property in terms of location and lodging on the lake. It is a budget place, but the beds were comfortable; the staff was nice and helpful; and I would stay there again if I ever come back to the lake. Lake Bacalar is a beautiful place to go visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hmmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
101 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

I stayed for one night on route to Calakmul and found it a great place for an overnight stop. It is only 150 yards down from the fort in the centre of the town. I arrived around lunch time and really enjoyed spending the afternoon doing nothing in the garden which stretches down to the lagoon. It also has a lovely walkway jutting out into the lagoon, very romantic as the sun goes down.

Carolina was a great host and she had some old friends staying and so she threw a party for them and guests were also invited which was a very nice touch.

It is a guest house not a hotel so the rooms are basic but homely and I had a good nights sleep although traffic started going past early to the local secondary school up the road.
There is no breakfast but fresh coffee was available and sitting on the porch watching the sun coming up, sipping coffee was a great start to the day before hitting the road.

The restaurants and cafes in the town are quite basic but I really enjoyed my brief stay and was made really welcome by Carolina who is a very interesting lady to talk to.

Personally I would rather stay in a small friendly place like this with a nice owner than a plusher hotel where you are just a nameless face but that is my preference which is why I tend to favour smaller cheaper guest houses.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluebirdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

Everything was great about this place!T
he rooms are clean and spacious with a fan and hot water.
The garden is amazing: it is situated by the laguna and they have a small landing place that goes in to the laguna. They have private parking.
Bacalar itself is very boring, but it's the perfect place to chill out for a day.
The don't serve breakfast, but their is a place where you can have it at 5 min walk.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmmaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

this place is the best we have stayed in Mexico.Have been travelling for 7 weeks and this is the best we have found. The rooms were very clean , the whole place is just relaxing and a what a great place to stay. Loads of local information and the location just on the Lagoon is fantastic.
We booked for 5 nights and will end up staying 12, need I say more. Keep it up guys. ps good prices too.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbike1guitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bacalar hotels
0.5 mi away
Villas Bakalar
Villas Bakalar
#5 of 9 in Bacalar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
#9 of 9 in Bacalar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aires Bacalar
Hotel Aires Bacalar
#3 of 9 in Bacalar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bacalar
Hotel Hacienda Bacalar
#6 of 9 in Bacalar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rancho Encantado
Rancho Encantado
#1 of 9 in Bacalar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
22.9 mi away
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
#2 of 37 in Bacalar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casita Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casita Carolina

Property: Casita Carolina
Address: Apdo 35 | Bacalar, Quintana Roo, Bacalar 77931, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Bacalar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bacalar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Casita Carolina Laguna Bacalar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing