We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Villas Ecotucan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Ecotucan
Ranked #17 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Bacalar
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place is unique. The access is relatively easy, just on the side of a main motorway (small sign). But don't be confuse, you will have to go for a good couple of kilometers into the jungle before reaching the cabañas (such a fresh air!!).

Nights are amazing, good food in the restaurant, and the sounds of the animals/insects are just priceless.I just let myself lull by those sounds, wow, what an experience. You are really in touch with nature.

The cabañas are very cozy, only one very small detail, the mattress were not very comfortable. But such a little detail with all the pluses of nature and great service.

The people who run the business are always in a good mood and willing to help, dogs and cats are also very friendly.

Room Tip: I stayed in cabaña 4, newly refurbished. It is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgeLA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    40
    31
    21
    11
See reviews for
38
87
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Yes, it's a lovely location on the lake, and the host (Jacqueline) is very friendly and helpful - but this is all that this accommodation has going for it. Sadly eco friendly in this instance = no amenities and no comforts. The room is one of the most basic I have come across (even compared to extensive travel in the Pacific), beds only - with mosquito nets full of holes (in a high mosquito area!) - and a broken chair. Breakfast too was very basic. Budget and eco friendly does not need to be of such a low standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoJo_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A real eco-resort set amidst lush jungle on the shore of a beautiful lagoon. That sounds to good to be true.... and it almost is. What a beautiful place to stay for a while. From the exit to the resort itself you drive a mile or so through the jungle which gives a sense of remoteness. A nice relief from the hectic Playa del Carme and Cancun.

Between the jungle and the lagoon you will find the very spacious bungalows. You can walk around the bed(s) and even the bathroom is very large. The bungalows are build in local style which gives a natural airco, so no need for electricty slurping AC's or fans. All electricity is on solar. A real Eco-resort!

On the resort there is a birdwatching tower and there a walking trail. Birding is very good here. You can rent different kind of canoes and boats to explore the lagoon. The Germand caretakers / owners are very knowledgable and can arrange a variety of tours for you.

As you are quite far from the town, breakfast and dinner is served at the main building. All is homecooked and delicious. There is no choice in the daily menu, but they cater for vegetarians as well. We stayed 3 nights and loved our meals!!!

The resort is a brilliant get-away and we would have loved to stay a few more days....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kokkeeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosscarbery, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Villas Ecotucan was a gem, and we loved it. It was a fairly last minute addition to a itinerary which changed mid flow, so it was difficult to organise. However, jacqueline spent a lot of time with us on the phone, and we eventually out together a plan which involved staying a couple of nights, going on a two day kayak trip (our aim anyway) then returning for a night.
On our late arrival jacqueline had some delicious food and a lovely glass of wine waiting for us - very kind. She gave us a lot of time to welcome us and provide some advice for the next few days. My main interest was to do some birding, and jacqueline has clearly put a lot of effort into learning the birds of the area - she was very knowledgeable and liberal with help and advice.
the cabanas were perfectly clean and comfortable, with a modern twist on a traditional design. they were quiet and peaceful throughout. of course there was some dirt and insects in the roof netting - that's what its for...... There were very few insects in rooms, and none of any significance, but even if there had been .... its not unexpected if you go to mexico?
The kayak trip with Gunnar was lovely, he's a very talented guy and his own (homemade) wooden kayak is an exquisite piece of work. The 2 days of kayaking was hard work but rewarding and we covered quite a lot of Laguna Bacalar. From a birdy point of view there was not much seen which would not have been seen elsewhere, but it was a very pleasant way to spend a couple of days.
Walking around the area is safe and easy, and the dog joined us on a couple of occasions which was lovely!
All in all Villas Ecotucan was a highlight of our trip, with a relaxed atmosphere, nice food, great wildlife, fine company and a great location. As with all places we found, the price was a bit steep, but not prohibitively so, and was favourable in comparison with other hotels nearby which I'm sure would not have been as nice. Well done guys.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Villas Ecotucan has a wonderful dock looking out over gorgeous Lake Bacalar. They allow camping (for $6/night!) but also have neat little casitas (detached cabins with thatched roofs). The birding here was quite good and the amenities would be perfect for someone wishing to have a nature-based experience on the Yucatan. The staff and owner were wonderful and prepared a wonderful chicken curry for us when we were there. My wife said that the curry was the best meal we had on the trip! The entire property is picture perfect and lush with foliage. It is within 1 hour drive of Chacchobben to the north and Kohunlich to the south- great launching point for seeing those southern Yucatan Mayan ruins. FYI- you will need a car to get there and to get around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob_ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecotucan, Manager at Villas Ecotucan, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hey Bob, it was lovely having you and your family here, please come back soon with a bit more time to enjoy and explore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night on Exodus's La Ruta Maya tour. First impressions were good with a lovely welcome from the German girl who works there and the dogs. Thatched cabins looked okay, ours had two double beds under mosquito nets in the main room and a T-shaped divider in the back room to provide shower and toilet cubbies. Wouldn't be suitable for a twin share as both toilet and shower were open to the main room. Dinner of mango chicken was good and we sat around chatting before and after dinner.

Unfortunately soon after bedtime a rainstorm hit and it poured all night. The noise was deafening on the thatched roof which then began to leak onto both the bed and the floor. As the rooms have no windows, only mesh screens, all the bedlinens and the clothes in our suitcases were damp/wet in the morning - not to mention the creepy crawlies that had come in out of the rain (scorpions, spiders etc).

All in all a pretty awful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErkiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecotucan, Manager at Villas Ecotucan, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Erkibear,
we are very sorry about your experience here at Ecotucan.

Unfortunately we were not aware of what happened to you, until reading your review. When your group left in the morning we got the impression of everyone leaving very happy, some even saying that they didn't even heard the rain.
I think every hotel would have appreciated a comment in the morning, 'Hey, the roof of our cabana was leaking last night", so we can actually do something about it. All the roofs got repaired after Hurricane Ernesto by the end of last year, if yours was leaking, it would have been kind of you to tell us in the morning. Greetings from the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Villas Ecotocan in mid November 2012 for one night.
We arrived early in the afternoon and were greeted by a member of the staff that gave us a tour of the property and let us pick between two sizes of cabins (we had a reservation but decided to opt for the newer cabin when we saw that it was available). The property is beautiful and very well kept with trees, plants and flowers everywhere you go. We had time to walk the nature trail and climb up a wooden tower in the woods that offers a great view of the lagoon. We then walked down to the dock that leads to the lagoon and spent some time in the water. The staff provided us with a map of the nearby town of Bacalar and gave us some recommendations for dinner. Our cabin was simple but very comfortable, quiet and serene. In the morning, we woke up early and the owner greeted us for breakfast and made us eggs and toast. He was very friendly and answered our many inquiries about the property and the area. Staying at the Villas Ecotucan was great experience and it served as great stop on our drive from Tulum down into Belize. If you are a nature lover, this place is a true little paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tell_The_Bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bacalar hotels
4.1 mi away
Villas Bakalar
Villas Bakalar
#5 of 9 in Bacalar
75 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
#9 of 9 in Bacalar
371 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rancho Encantado
Rancho Encantado
#1 of 9 in Bacalar
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
#2 of 44 in Bacalar
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kuuch Kaanil Villas Eco-romanticas
1.0 mi away
Ecocamping Yaxche
Ecocamping Yaxche
#12 of 44 in Bacalar
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Ecotucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Ecotucan

Property: Villas Ecotucan
Address: Carretera 307 Chetumal-Cancun km 27.3 | 5 Km Al Norte de Bacalar, Bacalar 77930, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Bacalar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Bacalar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your days surrounded by nature at the shores of the beautiful Laguna Bacalar, Mexico’s second largest freshwater lake. Stay in one of ten comfortable and spacious stone cabins with thatch roofs, surrounded by tropical gardens and reminiscent of a Mayan settlement offering guests a tranquil base for relaxing with nature. Swim, kayak or sail the magnificent lagoon, explore the many nearby ruins, hike jungle trails, or just enjoy our scenic beauty, birds, and wildlife. At the end of the day, fall asleep to the comforting hum of the surrounding jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Ecotucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing