We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
Nearby Hotels
Rancho Encantado(Bacalar)
$177
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$572
$168
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$132
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
$209
Travelocity
View Deal
Hotel America(Bacalar)
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
54
94
104
73
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
94
104
73
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspontoon boatmy home away from hometwenty five yearsincredible viewshighlight of our triplake tourplaya del carmenrooms are cleanper nightcenotealarconshellsswimdawnspeciesfanturquoise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 407 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

It felt a bit strange when we entered the hotel, because it was not high-season so we were nearly the only guests there. But that wasn't a bad thing: we were tired after a long road trip to see the lagoon. The rooms looked nice and romantic, but could use some updates (e.g. the top of the washbasin was partly broken. The food was nice and not expensive, but the waiters didn't look like they were enjoying their job. After all: you can't expect a 5 star service for 700 pesos a night. But hey, that didn't spoil our trip, because we came for the view. And what a view it was!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Around Bacalar there are many places to stay; we've tried several and yet we've stayed here more often. Yes, it's 42 years old and needs a bit of professional maintenance but it sits in a superb position above the lagoon; offers cabins or hotel-style rooms; has decent wifi in the common areas; features friendly bar and restaurant service; offers boat tours of the lagoon and the staff is anxious to please. Rooms in the 3-story structure above the restaurant and kitchen are, naturally, noisy when the hotel is full. Rooms in the cottages on the hillside behind reception are larger, better-equipped and quieter. If you want old world charm and the best setting in town, stay here. If you're looking for four-star luxury or an eco experience or yoga, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Cottages are larger and quieter. Except for the hottest days, A/C isn't necessary.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The recepcioniste was awful the day we checked in. They don't help you. They are chatting and looking at their computer an are not at all interestedin the guests.. Not friendly at all.They do have wifi but you can only get it is very few parts of the hotel (which did not happen in the room I was staying). It seems like it was a pretty good hotel but now everything just seems old. The location is nice at the Bacalar lake. But there is nothing to do or to see.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willem j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

When we arrived, they didn't even know we were coming. Through booking.com, we were promised a "superior" bedroom for 2, what we got was a dirty, outdated hole next to the loud parking lot.
The room was dirty: very large pieces of hair in the bathroom, dust and dirt everywhere, on the couch was a footprint and undefinable stains.
They promised wifi in every room, but it only works when you're in the restaurant.
The guy who showed us our room did not help us two ladies with our suitcases, servers and receptionists are super grumpy.
For breakfast, I got a plate with old fruit.
The view - eeh, I've seen better.
Overpriced? YES.
Overall: disgusting

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelorette89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

OK, we were lucky that the usual horrid yucatan July/August heat abated due to rain (and it's raining there still they tell me, yikes!) yet it was still warm enough that we thoroughly enjoyed the clean, clear water of Laguna Bacalar. What makes this hotel a 5 in location is that it is on a sunken cenote. Most of the hotels around Bacalar don't have good lake access. It's marshy. But the hotels on this cenote ledge have a limestone edge and are great for swimming. Look on google earth and you can see this.

This hotel is classically Mexican - concrete everything, only OK sheets and towels, but wow what a view. Staff is helpful and knowledgeable about the construction of the hotel and the surrounding area (in Spanish - didn't try this in English, although their English seemed pretty good for getting things done.)

If you want a "resort experience" this isn't it. But if you want to check out the lake, swim in a lake fed pool in the evenings, and just hang out, this is a fine place. We are planning a return trip this year in November.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not in the main hotel. There are some individual cabins that have great views and breeze. Recommend A/C in July/August/September and probably May.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landofthemaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews