We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful sunset kayak tour”

Active Nature Bacalar
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Bacalar
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful sunset kayak tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My sister and I did the 3 hour sunset kayak tour and had a wonderful time. Neither of us are serious kayakers, and the wind was a little intimidating at first, but the effort was well worth it when we got across the lake and started exploring the mangroves. What a gorgeous and unique place! And it was nice to enjoy it with no other people in sight.

Gunnar was an excellent guide...he was very knowledgable of the lake and wildlife and did a great job spotting and pointing out stuff that we may not have noticed without him. We were really lucky to see a pink spawnbill, and Gunnar swam up really close to get some awesome pictures for us. Gunnar and Jacqueline also have a pretty cool story for how they ended up in Bacalar, and it was fun hearing more about it. It was also really nice that they followed up over email after our trip with a bunch of great pictures from our day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Two day Kayak trip on Laguna Bacalar Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We booked a two day kayak trip with overnight camping with Active Nature based out of Ecotucan on Laguna Bacalar. The weather had been unseasonably wet for the time of year but the day fortunately dawned clear and windless. We took off at 9.0 am as planned with Gunnar as our guide. He had also built our kayaks; beautiful hardwood laminated Greenlanders, real Ferraris, possibly slightly tippy for the inexperienced. But as an over weight near novice i quickly got use to the delicate balancing act required (with excellent advise from Gunnar).
Gunnar had loaded us with everything (and more) required for an overnight trip (amazing what can be packed into the orifices of these Kayaks) and we were soon skimming north with Gunnar giving us a running commentary on everything from the ornithology to the history of the area. Late afternoon the wind got up producing steep waves that slowed our progress so we cut short the plan for the day (made up the following day ) and headed for our camp site. We set to putting up tents and Gunnar prepared an excellent supper . He had also done this earlier for lunch and tea, producing exquisite food on top of the stern of a kayak!.
Tip, take a torch and plenty of chemical weapons for the mosquitoes, they really set to work.
A fabulous windless dawn and we breakfasted (superb), break camp and head for the rapids.
A little overstated, just a gentle currentrunning through a narrow in the Laguna allowing us, once we had paddled through, to don snorkels and masks and drift back on the current towing the Kayaks behind us checking out the wonderful lake life below. We then entered the mangrove swamps, beautiful, quiet and full of bird life and cruised home. The the sunset was
unforgettable.
The final pull across the lake in darkness, took it out of us, so we arrived back at Ecotucan exhausted but very happy, after a wonderful two days on this beautiful turquoise Laguna.
We can't rate it highly enough, great value for money. If you like ,lakes, kayaking, camping, do it,its amazing, you will be in expert hands.
Chris and Gill

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I recently took two tours--one with Jacqueline, birdwatching, which was wonderful, and the other with Gunnar kayaking on the lake. Both were professional, informative and friendly. Gunnar has excellent equipment which is helpful if you're an avid kayaker, and is extremely knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the area. Jacqueline is equally informative and I loved both tours with them.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank terry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacalar, Q. Roo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to experience Laguna Bacalar actively.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Gunnar and Jacqueline will lead you on kayak tours, sailing tours, bird watching tours and feed you well. They are extremely knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the surrounding area as well as the greater Yucatan Penninsula. So they will be able to point you in the direction of other great places to explore after you are done with Bacalar.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank katiedobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Helpful couple providing a variety of activities to enjoy Laguna Bacalar.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The German couple that run Active Nature and Ecotucan Villas were knowledgable and helpful. I contacted them by email at the beginning of our trip to arrange a day and activity during our visit to Laguna Bacalar.

We decided upon a kayak trip on the lake and through the Mangroves. My husband, 2 daughters, and I had to learn how to kayak and needed much help from Gunnar in the mangroves when we got stuck. Along the trip Gunnar pointed out the various flora and fauna of the region.

The grounds of their cabin rentals is absolutely beautiful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 60004Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Active Nature Bacalar also viewed

Bacalar, Quintana Roo
Bacalar, Quintana Roo
 
Bacalar, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Active Nature Bacalar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing