We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stuff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizzeria Bertilla

Pizzeria Bertilla
Ranked #2 of 43 Restaurants in Bacalar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Small family-run Italian restaurant, special attention to use of raw materials of good quality, the absence of preservatives and colorants and not least the respect of the times and the procedures of manufacture of our products makes it possible offer: bread, pasta , sauces, sausage and tiramisu of our production.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
129 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were delighted with the quality of the food and the attention to detail. It seems like they know what they are doing. Don;t miss out it is worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfanmty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio_De_Rio, Director General at Pizzeria Bertilla, responded to this review, January 6, 2016
Thank you very much for writing a comment about your experience in our restorant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    83
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with the restaurant. Nothing fancy, but we loved the atmosphere, food and Bertilla!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio_De_Rio, Director General at Pizzeria Bertilla, responded to this review, January 6, 2016
Thank you very much for writing a comment about your experience in our restorant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal, Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mmmmm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Bacalar is not that big so there are not many options for places to eat good. This place is at the center, good location, nice atmosphere and very good food. The only downside is when the restaurant is full, the service is not that good. Also the old lady (maybe the owner or manager) in some point was a lil rude, we do not drink soda, wine, juice, etc, we just drink water, we order some glasses of water and she seemed confused and just told us that they buy the water and couldn't be free. :O We never asked for free water, we just order some glasses of water!!
Besides that, good option to eat.

Helpful?
1 Thank naybri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best pizzas in Mx”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Surprising is how I would describe the experience at Bertilla's. We went there expecting some mediocre pizza. To our surprise it was really really good. The owners, an italian couple, cook and serve the pizzas. It even has a reasonable selection of wines, specially if you think you are in Bacalar away from anything.
I don't know all the pizzerias in Mexico, but these rank at the top of my list.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinamiteroloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio_De_Rio, Director General at Pizzeria Bertilla, responded to this review, January 6, 2016
Thank you very much for writing a comment about your experience in our restorant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Pizza just wasn't very nice - processed, packet parmesan on the pizza and bland toppings. 4 cheese pizza was ok but certainly not a good 4 cheese. Def missing some table condiments- but there is Worcester sauce, thank god. Sangria not Authentic, a bit acidic and wine cheap. Waitress/owner seen smoking while serving and with her head in her hands at the bar. On the plus side the restaurant has a nice atmosphere, low cost and good location! Just, avoid the pizza.

Helpful?
Thank JemimaDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Bertilla also viewed

Bacalar, Quintana Roo
Bacalar, Quintana Roo
 
Bacalar, Quintana Roo
Bacalar, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Pizzeria Bertilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing