We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Escape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bacalar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amigo's Bed & Breakfast Bacalar
Ranked #15 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Bacalar
Reviewed April 28, 2008

I have actually stayed at the "Hotelito" several times. This bed and breakfast has become my stop-over home away from home on the "ruta maya" south to the fabulous mayan ruins west of Chetumal. I am always treated like an old friend and can truely relax here. You can swim, snorkle and fish in the fresh water lagune of 7 colors. The lagune is a turquoise blue and strikingly beautiful. The hotel rooms have every thing you need from cable TV to Wi-Fi , air conditioning which you don't need in the winter months, but clean and large and comfortable with balcony facing the water. I like to go visit the old spanish fort and the museum inside just a few blocks from the hotel, then walk to the open air market to practice my spanish. The staff are very friendly and helpful and there is always someone arround to answer questions. The owner is extremely knowledgable about the local culture and mayan ruins in the area, and can help with plans to visit mayan ruins and small villages. For all this the price of the rooms is very economical. I reccommend calling ahead since they can fill up quick in season.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank alt81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Amigo's Bed & Breakfast Bacalar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 61 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2007

We stayed at Amigo B&B for 1 night in June 2006, as we headed to Cancun.

Let's start with the pros: our room was clean, and the viewpoint is really fantastic. You can have a look at the homepage.

The cons: you cannot reserve in advance. There is not a lot of things to do/see in Bacalar. And finally, my impression was that they just want your money and it is not a very good feeling for vacation.
Rosalba was also very nice to us at our arrival. Due to the extension of the building, there was no other "customer" at that time and therefore we were told that we could not have breakfast the following morning.
Later the owner came (I think his name was Bob) and propose to arrange a full breakfast... for 140pesos. Very expensive, much more expensive that in all other hotels where we stayed. But we agreed as he explained to us that it was a great breakfast. We were extremely disappointed to see what the breakfast had to offer... very poor and not tasteful at all.
At Amigo's Bed & Breakfast Bacalar, "everyone is treated as a friend"... To me this message from their homepage is not very sincere.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sébastien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2003

This lovely place with just three en suite rooms is a lovely get-away-from-it-all destination. The reality really is as beautiful as the photos on the website. The only drawbacks are that you must pay in advance and credit cards are not accepted, and our welcome wasn't particularly warm - apparently that intern will not be re-employed, but that's too late for us. However, don't let that put you off. If you have a $ bank account this is exceptionally good value and the hot water is plentiful, the shower powerful.

5  Thank Moth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Reserva con anticipación, de las mejores vistas en Bacalar.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Navarro_Manzanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambres à l'étage plus privative. Chambres du bas plus grandes.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanpanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Reservar con tiempo para asegurar un buen descanso.
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Raymundo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bacalar hotels
1.3 mi away
Villas Bakalar
Villas Bakalar
#8 of 10 in Bacalar
79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
#10 of 10 in Bacalar
383 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rancho Encantado
Rancho Encantado
#1 of 10 in Bacalar
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
#2 of 48 in Bacalar
286 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cabanas, Hostal y Camping "Magic Bacalar"
2.4 mi away
CasaLamat
CasaLamat
#4 of 23 in Bacalar
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amigo's Bed & Breakfast Bacalar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigo's Bed & Breakfast Bacalar

Address: BLVD COSTERA, Bacalar 77930, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Bacalar
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Bacalar
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing