We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for hotel under construction”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bacalar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Aluxes Bacalar Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

After checking out most of the accommodations in Bacular, thought this hotel looked most appealing from the outside and particularly because it was located right on the the lagoon. Little did we know that the lagoon in front of the hotel is very shallow for quite a distance and weedy. Back to the rooms, we had a downstairs room and our friends had an upstairs room on the opposite side of the restaurant which is in the middle. Both on their side and our side, additional rooms were being added so from morning to 6 pm banging construction went on continually. We paid about $100 US a night - the accommodation was only worth maybe $60. The bathroom, although a very unusual arrangement of the toilet in one room, the shower in a separate room and the wash basin in the main bedroom, smelled of back-up sewer which they tried to mask with a some kind of freshener. Unfortunately we paid for two mights up front otherwise we would have left after the first night. On the plus side the restaurant food was good and the bar service was good. We had read on Trip Advisor that breakfast was included but only consisted of coffee, juice and toast so did not expect anything more.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are somewhat larger although don't have a very good view of the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bickbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 188 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

We checked in for 2 nights and found the room acceptable at first, but with a closer look we found it is in dire need of repair and maintenance. We reported no hot water several times over a 12 hour period before we got any. The staff tried their best to help us, but there was no support from the ownership.
We don't believe the owner wants to have a hotel. It seems to be his own personal haven for friends and family. Noise from his family Sun. afternoon and into the evening and the same the night before gave us no chance for peace and quiet after 10 in the morning.
Breakfast included toast with black coffee. They did not even have milk for the coffee.
We will leave early in the morning and will not return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank selvamariposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

What started as a wonderful promising stay wound up as a disappointing crash and burn experience. The Hotel "manager" is "the maid" and she just doesn't "get it" what it means to be in the hospitality industry.

The room was quite pleasant, the views very nice, and the outdoor restaurant very lush and nice tropical setting.

Check in was smooth, and our payment was eagerly accepted. (ask to pay cash to avoid the added taxes)

First lunch was very nice. After this, we were literally "on our own"

Later visits to the restaurant, there were no workers to be found anywhere, so we just went to the bar and got our own soda and water. Asking for very basic help like getting a menu, felt like we were asking for a blood donation.

The employees are very tech savvy as evidence by their constant time on Facebook and ignoring customers.

Other customers complained also about the bad service.

When asking for a 30 minute late check out, the hotel wanted to charge another day. July is definite slow season and there were no other guests, but this simple request was badly handled by the "management" because unlike most foreigners, we do understand Spanish and the "manager" said some not so nice things.

For the restaurant only, it seems to be highly recommended, but based on our experience it appears it has gone downhill. They always seemed to not have anything. The local Taco Stands were the best option during our stay.

One star rating directed to the manager who clearly needs to go back to school and learn the true meaning on how to manage.

This place has potential, but it looks like they are taking things for granted.

The Internet makes the world much smaller

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I made a reservation for Los Aluxes Bacalar Hotel through despager.com.mx and my credit card was charged for the full stay. When I arrived at Los Axules Bacalar Hotel to check in they told me that they do not accept reservations from despager.com.mx and that the hotel was full. The management at the hotel was completely unhelpful - there was no apology, they wouldn't even call despegar.com.mx to find out what happened and wouldn't even lend their support to help me find another hotel at 8pm on a Friday night. I ended up calling despegar.com.mx and they said that the reservation had been accepted by the hotel. After some searching, I ended up finding a much nicer hotel down the road (Hotel Casa Corazon) and for about 1/3 less of the price. Anyway, consider yourself warned - there are much better managed places to stay in Bacalar that Los Axules!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank bttepotpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018
Thank brunopruneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AluxesBacalar, Marketing at Los Aluxes Bacalar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Héctor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AluxesBacalar, other at Los Aluxes Bacalar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Increible vista
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kuba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AluxesBacalar, Marketing at Los Aluxes Bacalar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacalar
0.4 mi away
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
#11 of 11 in Bacalar
400 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villas Bakalar
Villas Bakalar
#8 of 11 in Bacalar
86 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villas Wayak Bacalar
Villas Wayak Bacalar
#9 of 11 in Bacalar
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Suites Oasis Bacalar
1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bacalar
Hotel Hacienda Bacalar
#7 of 11 in Bacalar
90 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#4 of 20 in Chetumal
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Aluxes Bacalar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Aluxes Bacalar Hotel

Address: Avenida Costero No. 67, Bacalar 77930, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Bacalar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Bacalar
Price Range: $0 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Aluxes Bacalar is a 100% mexican company, founded in 2006, wich is located in the municipality of Bacalar, Quintana Roo, one of the 111 magic towns of México. The hotel & restaurant were designed to interact with the environment, non affecting the flora and fauna of the area, clearly seen in the center of the restaurant-bar where you can see a large cedar tree, typical of the bacalar region. The design of its facilities is the fusion of the traditional mayan and contemporary architecture, wich will allow you to enjoy the comforts that its facilities offer them together with an excellent attention of the staff. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing