We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just was there last week”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rancho Encantado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rancho Encantado
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bacalar
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Just was there last week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I needed a getaway for last Thursday-Saturday. This place was PARADISE! LOVE the excellent service, always with a wonderful positive attitude (smiling and being nice). All pretty affordable! A shootout for Isabel, who was always so very helpful and supportive! I had a massage, we had a yoga class and we did the 4 hour tour in the Lagoon, ALL world-class service. The food in the restaurant, delicious!
Only one recommendation, please please have available that guava marmalade. I REALLY wanted to bring some home!
For those interested in having some quiet time in a place in the tropics, THIS IS THE PLACE! No phone, no TV, just the sounds of nature! In my case, I am allergic to sodium so the beach is always a pain. Here I could finally stay with my swimwear on without having to RUN to a shower! So very romantic if you want to have some time with your partner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimosamendoza1 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    157
    34
    11
    11
See reviews for
186
408
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The service is great, and the place is beautiful. But I would stay somewhere else with a better view of the lagoon that would probably be even cheaper. We stayed in the Master suite and it was perfect, spacious, very clean, with its own private pool. On the negative side is that we were very close to the highway, so it can be noisy.

Room Tip: Find a hotel on the other side of the lagoon, close to the cenotes where you can appreciate the colo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla_R_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

This place is almost perfect! It's located right at the lagoon and has a great wooden pier with hammocks on it! You can easily spend hours there swimming and relaxing!
The staff is very nice, the restaurant amazing (we had dinner and breakfast, both very good).
The room was very clean and had a huge, comfortable bed.
We highly recommend this place! It's gorgeous!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We decided to break out stay in Tulum with a stay in Bacalar. We only wished we stayed another night or two. The hotel was excellent (but basic) in an excellent scenic location, and just the relaxing place we were looking for. We also did the 4 hour boat trip was good fun.

All in all probably one of the nicest places we stayed at in Mexico (in terms of ambience and tranquility).

I would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LiamHum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Those people inclined to holistic, natural, relaxing environments, this is the place. Wake up and go swim at the lagoon and after that have a nice and healthy breakfast. Beautiful and quiet surrounding next the Bacalar lagoon with breathtaking scenario where you can have the mayan steam bath along with holistic massage and insuperable relaxing atmosphere at excellent prices. Hotel staff is very freindly and helpful.This facility includes nice, clean and fresh cabanas, good restaurant and close to some other mayan areas worth of exploring; the lagoon is a must to go by boat.

Room Tip: Ask a cabana with lake view and if you are driving, watch out for the entrance at the highway; it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tron38us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed here 1 night in March 2014. Too bad we only stayed 1 night since the place is AMAZING!
The staff is VERY friendly and helpful! We fully recommend to take the boat tour with Captain Javier. He is so passionate about showing the amazing places this magical Lagoon has to offer.
The hotel is very nice & very well maintained! The gardens are also very nice & well kept! The room (room next to the Lagoon) was perfect! Right next to the water and with a front area to sunbathe. The room was perfectly cleaned and very spacious!
Dinner at the hotel’s restaurant was very good as well!
We loved staying at this hotel and fully recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ornella V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

One day we (2 adults + 1 child) stayed there for lunch only. A few days after, we spent one night in a cabana with a lake view. After another few days we spent one night in another cabana with lake view and private access to the Laguna Bacalar. Then, we finally moved to a garden view cabana. We also saw rooms in a new building on the first floor. We're pretty experienced ;-)

Laguna Bacalar is perfect for relaxing - much better then Costa Maya. Less tourists, more clean, beautiful.

We would definitely stay there one more time if we were traveling via Bacalar again.

Pros:
- Very pleasant and relaxing place.
- Great location, clear water in the lake, lovely view.
- Comfortable rooms.
- Helpful service.
- Restaurant: wonderfully located with a lake view, good service and decent food. Very good coffee from the coffee machine (!).
- Good selection of breakfasts (included). Generous portions.
- A few child activities
- You can see animals, plants, flowers there.
- Place for playing a ball with children (two small gates).
- Children menu in the restaurant.
- Two swings just above the water level among mangrove trees.
- Very clean hotel area.
- Unlimited drinking water in a room.
- Fridge in the room.
- Enough space to sit down and have a rest inside and outside the room.

Cons:
- Weak cocktail drinks.
- Bathrooms in cabanas are OK a bit old.

Room Tip: Four rooms we have seen are worth staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiana55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bacalar hotels
2.4 mi away
Villas Bakalar
Villas Bakalar
#5 of 9 in Bacalar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
#9 of 9 in Bacalar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Aires Bacalar
Hotel Aires Bacalar
#3 of 9 in Bacalar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bacalar
Hotel Hacienda Bacalar
#6 of 9 in Bacalar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
20.3 mi away
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
#2 of 37 in Bacalar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cabanas, Hostal y Camping "Magic Bacalar"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Encantado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Encantado

Property: Rancho Encantado
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Km. 24, Bacalar 77930, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Bacalar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bacalar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rancho Encantado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a little more than half an hour away from the capital city of Chetumal and its airport, and about the same distance to the border with the country of Belize, Rancho Encantado is situated on the shores of the pristine waters of Laguna Bacalar. This area, in the southernmost part of the Yucatan Peninsula, is just at the point of developing as a tourist destination for the eco-minded traveler who seeks escape from the larger, often over-developed areas of the northern part of the Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rancho Encantado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Encantado Hotel Bacalar
Rancho Encantado Laguna Bacalar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing