We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay at Bacalar!”
Review of Rancho Encantado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rancho Encantado
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bacalar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Beautiful little spot right on the lagoon, some rooms right on the edge of the water. We had a great, relaxing time at this little slice of paradise. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the on-site restaurant was good. While we could hear some trucks on the highway at night, it was not enough to detract from our great time at this place. Early in the morning there were birds on the property and one morning there was fog (great for pictures!). It was quiet and peaceful, a great place to get away from it all. We took a tour of the lagoon from companies in town, but the hotel also offers tours. Highly recommend it and would love to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChuchaCaperucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for Rancho Encantado
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 842 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in a lakeside cabin for 2 nights in December 2011 and it was fantastic! Just a few steps to the clear blue water of Lake Bacalar from our lovely cabin. The restaurant was great too and the staff very helpful and friendly. Would recommend lying on the hammocks on the jetty at night looking at the stars!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ice_la5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Friends who live in Bacalar took us to Ranch Encantado for breakfast. The setting is tranquil and beautiful. The water in the lagoon is still, clear and inviting. The menu had many choices and the food was delicious and beautifully presented. Maybe the setting makes everything taste better but it was so enjoyable to be eating a yummy breakfast in a peaceful setting. Homemade corn muffins and jam were brought to our table with our coffee. I could have eaten a whole basket of muffins by myself. The bacon, eggs, and potatoes were tasty and the portion generous. Our friend had the papaya plate which is beautifully presented. You do not have to be a hotel guest of Rancho Encantado to eat in the restaurant. Many of the locals eat there regularly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bnosnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Rancho Encantado, between stops at Puerto Morelos and near Calakmul. We had our own car and went to the ruins at Oxtankah & Chaccoben, as well as the town of Bacalar, rather than some of the longer trips you can easily do, for example to Kohunlich.
We loved the lakeside cabin with two hammocks and two loungers. Very peaceful. The rooms were well planned, feeling spacious and with good storage. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times for both lunch and dinner, and had breakfast at the hotel all three days. The service was awful on the first breakfast, which we put down to a group of four, and a group of six, as well as lots of couples all arriving as soon as the restaurant opened at 07.30. We waited for a long time before a menu came, then a while before our order was taken and then a while before all the drinks and food arrived at the same time. All in all, we were probably waiting 45 minutes before we received the meal. However, service was much better the second day, with drinks coming quickly and food shortly after. The third day, a Saturday, was a buffet breakfast and this worked well with a good selection.
We enjoyed eating breakfast on the little dock lakeside outside the restaurant, as well as having a cocktail at sunset in the hammocks on the dock that stretches out into the lake.
Proximity to the road is both a good and a bad thing - it's easy to find and to get about for day trips, but the road is busy all night and you can hear the trucks from all of the cabins.

Room Tip: We really liked the lakeside cabins but you a good night's sleep might be more dependable if you...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quirky_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The lagoon at Bacalar is worth a trip! And Rancho is THE best place to stay at the lagoon. I stayed in a very large new room with balcony for 75 bucks breakfast included. The Cabanas look more romantic but are more expensive. You can swim and canoe in the lake- clear sweet water but only little fish. You should Take a boat Tour of the lagoon. And dont look for a restaurant in Bacalar- better have your dinner in Rancho. You can easily miss the Hotel because the sign on the road only says Hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank Klaus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Went there with the group of friends, as it was recommended by the group of travellers. The resoult its self was magic. Very well maintained and decorated in nice style. Staff very friendly, food excellent.
Would definitely recommend the daily trip by boat as it really shows all hidden places on the lake.
One day hope to be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fazanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked a large superior room that had a massive bed with a romantic ( and possibly necessary mosquito net) plus a single bed and a shower room. The roof was thatched and outside was a veranda with sun loungers and chair and table. The best thing was the view which was amazing as we had a heavenly and the best view of the lagoon. Other cabins were fronting the lagoon and some were set in the beautiful tropical garden.
The food was reasonably priced and tasty and the staff were extremely accommodating. We booked a tour of the lake which I thought expensive at £100 for the four of us, sharing with one other person but definitely with doing. We were out for two and a half hours, swam in a cenotes and along a divine ' pirate channel' which was very shallow with amazing colours of blues, turquoise and crystal clear water, with eagles watching over us.
This is a spot of paradise on earth
The only slight downside was that I found the bed and pillow too hard for my liking.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lagoon and bring mosquito repellant.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moose065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacalar
2.4 mi away
Villas Bakalar
Villas Bakalar
#8 of 10 in Bacalar
79 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
#10 of 10 in Bacalar
383 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bacalar
Hotel Hacienda Bacalar
#7 of 10 in Bacalar
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Aires Bacalar
Hotel Aires Bacalar
#3 of 10 in Bacalar
107 reviews
15.9 mi away
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
#2 of 20 in Chetumal
560 reviews
20.3 mi away
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
#2 of 48 in Bacalar
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Encantado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Encantado

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Km. 24, Bacalar 77930, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Bacalar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bacalar
Price Range: $131 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rancho Encantado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a little more than half an hour away from the capital city of Chetumal and its airport, and about the same distance to the border with the country of Belize, Rancho Encantado is situated on the shores of the pristine waters of Laguna Bacalar. This area, in the southernmost part of the Yucatan Peninsula, is just at the point of developing as a tourist destination for the eco-minded traveler who seeks escape from the larger, often over-developed areas of the northern part of the Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rancho Encantado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Encantado Hotel Bacalar
Rancho Encantado Laguna Bacalar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing