We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mini-resort on the lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Encantado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rancho Encantado
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bacalar
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A mini-resort on the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Rancho Encantado, between stops at Puerto Morelos and near Calakmul. We had our own car and went to the ruins at Oxtankah & Chaccoben, as well as the town of Bacalar, rather than some of the longer trips you can easily do, for example to Kohunlich.
We loved the lakeside cabin with two hammocks and two loungers. Very peaceful. The rooms were well planned, feeling spacious and with good storage. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times for both lunch and dinner, and had breakfast at the hotel all three days. The service was awful on the first breakfast, which we put down to a group of four, and a group of six, as well as lots of couples all arriving as soon as the restaurant opened at 07.30. We waited for a long time before a menu came, then a while before our order was taken and then a while before all the drinks and food arrived at the same time. All in all, we were probably waiting 45 minutes before we received the meal. However, service was much better the second day, with drinks coming quickly and food shortly after. The third day, a Saturday, was a buffet breakfast and this worked well with a good selection.
We enjoyed eating breakfast on the little dock lakeside outside the restaurant, as well as having a cocktail at sunset in the hammocks on the dock that stretches out into the lake.
Proximity to the road is both a good and a bad thing - it's easy to find and to get about for day trips, but the road is busy all night and you can hear the trucks from all of the cabins.

Room Tip: We really liked the lakeside cabins but you a good night's sleep might be more dependable if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quirky_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    154
    32
    10
    9
See reviews for
184
396
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

The lagoon at Bacalar is worth a trip! And Rancho is THE best place to stay at the lagoon. I stayed in a very large new room with balcony for 75 bucks breakfast included. The Cabanas look more romantic but are more expensive. You can swim and canoe in the lake- clear sweet water but only little fish. You should Take a boat Tour of the lagoon. And dont look for a restaurant in Bacalar- better have your dinner in Rancho. You can easily miss the Hotel because the sign on the road only says Hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Klaus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Went there with the group of friends, as it was recommended by the group of travellers. The resoult its self was magic. Very well maintained and decorated in nice style. Staff very friendly, food excellent.
Would definitely recommend the daily trip by boat as it really shows all hidden places on the lake.
One day hope to be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fazanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked a large superior room that had a massive bed with a romantic ( and possibly necessary mosquito net) plus a single bed and a shower room. The roof was thatched and outside was a veranda with sun loungers and chair and table. The best thing was the view which was amazing as we had a heavenly and the best view of the lagoon. Other cabins were fronting the lagoon and some were set in the beautiful tropical garden.
The food was reasonably priced and tasty and the staff were extremely accommodating. We booked a tour of the lake which I thought expensive at £100 for the four of us, sharing with one other person but definitely with doing. We were out for two and a half hours, swam in a cenotes and along a divine ' pirate channel' which was very shallow with amazing colours of blues, turquoise and crystal clear water, with eagles watching over us.
This is a spot of paradise on earth
The only slight downside was that I found the bed and pillow too hard for my liking.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lagoon and bring mosquito repellant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moose065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just returned from a trip to Mexico and wanted to recommend Racho Encantado as the prefect place to stay. The lovely little cabins were clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. I would recommend taking a trip out on the hotel boat with the wonderful captain they provided. He was so friendly and gave us a guided tour of the lake and properties surrounding it. He was so informed about the area and took us to an area of the lake were we could take a 'mud bath' amazing we all came back from the boat trip looking several years younger, not to be missed. The colours of the lake were fantastic and I have never seen such a beautiful full moon as the one that come up over the lake at night, a sight to behold. The food was really good and great care was taken with the presentation. This hotel was certainly one of the highlights of our trip to Mexico, Thank you Rancho Encantado, we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I loved this place. It is laid-back and warm and friendly. There are no tvs, no phones. It is right on the lake. There is a lovely pier with a palapa roof and hammocks with a paddle boat and a couple of sea kayaks you can paddle around the lake in. It is a lovely place to relax. The staff were wonderful! Friendly. Always greeted us by name. Kudos to them. The grounds were very pretty and well-maintained though they are adding structures so there was construction going on. You stay in your own cabin and each is spacious, though basic. There was a mini fridge in our bungalow. The bed was comfortable. There is a large hot tub onsite and they offer massages, too, though we didn't try one.

We ate a couple dinners here and the food was delicious. The breakfast buffet was also very good.

I gave this a 5-star rating because I loved it but it may not be for everyone. It is right off the highway (though a bit tricky to spot the entrance until you have already gone past it - pay attention to the mile markers) so there is traffic noise at night. Bring earplugs. If you are looking for a lot of things to do, this is not that place. This is a place to relax and listen to the birds. That said, I'm not sure there are too many places to stay in the area anyway. I'd love to go back and stay here again!

Room Tip: We had bungalow 4. A double bed and two twin beds. A mini fridge, bath with shower, table and 2 ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Incredible. we decided to drive to Lago Bacalar from Riviera Maya as it was recommended to us (4 guys on vacation) to get to see this special lake. 3.5 hours drive. We stayed at Rancho Encantado because it was the best recommended hotel in TripAdvisor and we must say that the comments are true. Best thing to do and worth going to do is the boat trip to get to see the lagoon. 4 hours of incredible sights, it is definitely a lake of 7 colours and more!!! Amazing experience!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bacalar hotels
2.4 mi away
Villas Bakalar
Villas Bakalar
#5 of 9 in Bacalar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
#9 of 9 in Bacalar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bacalar
Hotel Hacienda Bacalar
#6 of 9 in Bacalar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Aires Bacalar
Hotel Aires Bacalar
#2 of 9 in Bacalar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
20.3 mi away
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
#2 of 36 in Bacalar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cabanas, Hostal y Camping "Magic Bacalar"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Encantado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Encantado

Property: Rancho Encantado
Address: Carretera Federal 307 Km. 24, Bacalar 77930, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Bacalar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bacalar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rancho Encantado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a little more than half an hour away from the capital city of Chetumal and its airport, and about the same distance to the border with the country of Belize, Rancho Encantado is situated on the shores of the pristine waters of Laguna Bacalar. This area, in the southernmost part of the Yucatan Peninsula, is just at the point of developing as a tourist destination for the eco-minded traveler who seeks escape from the larger, often over-developed areas of the northern part of the Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Rancho Encantado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Encantado Hotel Bacalar
Rancho Encantado Laguna Bacalar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing