We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spot of heaven.”
Review of Rancho Encantado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rancho Encantado
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bacalar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked a large superior room that had a massive bed with a romantic ( and possibly necessary mosquito net) plus a single bed and a shower room. The roof was thatched and outside was a veranda with sun loungers and chair and table. The best thing was the view which was amazing as we had a heavenly and the best view of the lagoon. Other cabins were fronting the lagoon and some were set in the beautiful tropical garden.
The food was reasonably priced and tasty and the staff were extremely accommodating. We booked a tour of the lake which I thought expensive at £100 for the four of us, sharing with one other person but definitely with doing. We were out for two and a half hours, swam in a cenotes and along a divine ' pirate channel' which was very shallow with amazing colours of blues, turquoise and crystal clear water, with eagles watching over us.
This is a spot of paradise on earth
The only slight downside was that I found the bed and pillow too hard for my liking.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lagoon and bring mosquito repellant.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moose065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
There are newer reviews for Rancho Encantado
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 842 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just returned from a trip to Mexico and wanted to recommend Racho Encantado as the prefect place to stay. The lovely little cabins were clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. I would recommend taking a trip out on the hotel boat with the wonderful captain they provided. He was so friendly and gave us a guided tour of the lake and properties surrounding it. He was so informed about the area and took us to an area of the lake were we could take a 'mud bath' amazing we all came back from the boat trip looking several years younger, not to be missed. The colours of the lake were fantastic and I have never seen such a beautiful full moon as the one that come up over the lake at night, a sight to behold. The food was really good and great care was taken with the presentation. This hotel was certainly one of the highlights of our trip to Mexico, Thank you Rancho Encantado, we will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I loved this place. It is laid-back and warm and friendly. There are no tvs, no phones. It is right on the lake. There is a lovely pier with a palapa roof and hammocks with a paddle boat and a couple of sea kayaks you can paddle around the lake in. It is a lovely place to relax. The staff were wonderful! Friendly. Always greeted us by name. Kudos to them. The grounds were very pretty and well-maintained though they are adding structures so there was construction going on. You stay in your own cabin and each is spacious, though basic. There was a mini fridge in our bungalow. The bed was comfortable. There is a large hot tub onsite and they offer massages, too, though we didn't try one.

We ate a couple dinners here and the food was delicious. The breakfast buffet was also very good.

I gave this a 5-star rating because I loved it but it may not be for everyone. It is right off the highway (though a bit tricky to spot the entrance until you have already gone past it - pay attention to the mile markers) so there is traffic noise at night. Bring earplugs. If you are looking for a lot of things to do, this is not that place. This is a place to relax and listen to the birds. That said, I'm not sure there are too many places to stay in the area anyway. I'd love to go back and stay here again!

Room Tip: We had bungalow 4. A double bed and two twin beds. A mini fridge, bath with shower, table and 2 ch...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Incredible. we decided to drive to Lago Bacalar from Riviera Maya as it was recommended to us (4 guys on vacation) to get to see this special lake. 3.5 hours drive. We stayed at Rancho Encantado because it was the best recommended hotel in TripAdvisor and we must say that the comments are true. Best thing to do and worth going to do is the boat trip to get to see the lagoon. 4 hours of incredible sights, it is definitely a lake of 7 colours and more!!! Amazing experience!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We went to Rancho Encantado last March for a few days. What a great retreat! We can't wait to go again next year! The hotel is small and cute and we absolutely loved the room. The peacefulness of the hotel was excellent. Listening to the gentle waves lap the shore was very relaxing.

The food there was good and the prices reasonable. The laguna is beyond beautiful! We enjoyed a few afternoons lounging on the shore just watching the water. One afternoon we took out one the hotel kayaks for a quick trip which was a nice relaxing afternoon. We also enjoyed the hot tub - something extra we weren't expecting.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and I, myself, cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We arrived in Bacalar Lagoon with no reservations. We checked out Hotel Laguna Bacalar and then headed over to this place. Definitely preferred this place although it was more expensive. We had a choice of a garden bungalow with AC or a lake view room with no AC. Once you see the lake view cabins, you're going to want to stay in them. We slept fine at night - plenty of breeze off the lake but it was too hot to be in the cabin during the day. The cabin was large, had a nice shower, very hard bed, mini fridge and water cooler. We stayed for two nights. It was very relaxing and super quiet. THe best thing about this place is the restaurant. There aren't many options in Bacalar so you would think they'd take advantage of you at the restaurant but the prices are very reasonable and the food is great. A lovely breakfast is included. The woman who showed us around was very nice. There was a LOT of construction going on while we were there and three men, one with a Rancho Encantado shirt on, strung a thin cord across the driveway ... I guess to measure something. Not one of them said a word as we walked right through it, never saw it, and tripped and fell! They never said a word, never apologized. Then later on they did the same thing and strung a line across a sidewalk! So watch out if they are doing construction while you are there. It actually looks like they might be building a hotel or some condos. It's a fairly large structure they are working on. Hot tub was not working while we were there.

Room Tip: It's Bacalar Lagoon - you have to get a lakeview room even if it doesn't have AC. We had pl...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathDep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We couldn't believe our luck when we read about this place in a travel book and were actually able to secure reservations for two nights. We could have easily stayed longer, as each day was so incredibly relaxing. The lake is gorgeous in its clarity and blue color that changes with the sunlight. We hung out on the docks, paddled way out around the lake, and did a lot of swimming and snorkeling.

The restaurant makes some amazing food, delicious and eye-pleasing. Great mixed drinks, too.

The cabanas were so cool. Thatched, high-pitched roofs with wooden shutters and very comfortable, big beds. The little porch had two hammocks that we used for reading, as well as some gorgeous wooden lounge chairs for sipping coffee.

The grounds are meticulously manicured with lots of interesting plants and everything is kept clean and tidy. We can't wait to get back there.

Room Tip: I think all the cabanas near the lakeshore must be equally nice.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vern_bodeen99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bacalar
2.4 mi away
Villas Bakalar
Villas Bakalar
#8 of 10 in Bacalar
79 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
#10 of 10 in Bacalar
383 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Bacalar
Hotel Hacienda Bacalar
#7 of 10 in Bacalar
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Aires Bacalar
Hotel Aires Bacalar
#3 of 10 in Bacalar
107 reviews
15.9 mi away
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
Fiesta Inn Chetumal
#2 of 20 in Chetumal
560 reviews
20.3 mi away
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
#2 of 48 in Bacalar
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Encantado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Encantado

Address: Carretera Federal 307 Km. 24, Bacalar 77930, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Bacalar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bacalar
Price Range: $131 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rancho Encantado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a little more than half an hour away from the capital city of Chetumal and its airport, and about the same distance to the border with the country of Belize, Rancho Encantado is situated on the shores of the pristine waters of Laguna Bacalar. This area, in the southernmost part of the Yucatan Peninsula, is just at the point of developing as a tourist destination for the eco-minded traveler who seeks escape from the larger, often over-developed areas of the northern part of the Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rancho Encantado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Encantado Hotel Bacalar
Rancho Encantado Laguna Bacalar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing