We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice way to visit the argentina pampas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Estancia La Candelaria
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Lobos
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed there for the weekend. surrounded by an amazing park, the main house is a real example of what an amazing and powefull country Argentina was a century ago.
A good number of activities are offered. The food is good and consistent

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrunkenBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaCandelaria, Gerente at Estancia La Candelaria, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Drunken,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are very happy that you have a wonderful experience in our ranch.

Hope to see you again

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Estancia La Candelaria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 573 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Upon arrival at 6:00 PM, there was much confusion, no rooms ready and no one who could figure out what to do. We were told to have "tea" since no one seemed to be expecting us- a group of 24?? Tea was in an open air pavilion with dirty tables, mosquitoes and dogs roaming. There was no hot water and no one in charge. The men's washroom was partly covered in fresh feces - stomachs were heaving. This place was about a 20+ minute walk from the "castle" where we were expected to cart all of our hand luggage through mosquito infested ground, over an uneven path. Our party included several people needing assistance (there was no staff) and the average age is about 70+. Our rooms were not ready and when we finally viewed the accommodation, all we could do was try to figure out how we could get back to Buenos Aries as quickly as possible.
We had received a descriptor of the lodging, services, amenities and special activities planned for our 3 day stay. This fabrication is why we invested over $3,000 for a visit at what we expected to be a wonderful conclusion to our cruise around the horn. How mistaken we were!
Each one of our 24 guests has pictures and horror stories to tell. Too much to outline here.
Finally, the tour operator, Privileged B.A. refunded nothing, made us sit through the night and the whole next day and asked for additional money before agreeing to get us to accommodation in Buenos Aries.
This review could go on and on but suffice it to say that this experience has been the absolute worst we could ever have imagined. We are out several thousands of dollars each and the tour operator, who made a hefty profit from our deception, has offered nothing. He has just charged us additional funds in order to get away from this frightening place.
Hopefully, others may read this and avoid the nightmare that we experienced!

Room Tip: Neither 'castle' nor "colonial rooms" are habitable - dirty beds and rooms and mos...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GranRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaCandelaria, Gerente at Estancia La Candelaria, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014
Google Translation

Estimados,

Personalmente estuve con ustedes cuando llegaron, los recibí y acompañe e inclusive compartimos juntos un vino con Antonio encargado de la recepción y guía bilingüe de la estancia, nos sentamos en el living y les contamos la historia de la estancia entre otras cosas.
Las habitaciones estaban listas, pero al no disponer de un rooming y querer ustedes elegir las habitaciones se atrasó la entrega, pero no por culpa nuestra.
Por otro lado las habitaciones Coloniales están a 300 metros del Castillo, como mucho caminando normal se demora 5 minutos caminando por un parque diseñado por el famoso paisajista Carlos Thays.
Como bien sabe el servicio que ustedes contrataron por 3 dias a $900 pesos por dia (U$S 100) con almuerzo, merienda, cena, desayuno, bebidas, cabalgatas, pileta, bicicletas, paseos en sulky, show folclórico, destrezas gauchas, atención personalizada, exclusividad de la estancia, etc, etc. su operador se lo cobro 5 veces mas, con lo cual supongo que ustedes esperaban otra cosa siendo que no es lo mismo pagar algo de U$S100 a U$S500.
Muchas veces algunos operadores contar de vender ofrecen el lugar como si fuera un hotel 5 estrellas y no explican que es una estancia, también hay algunos operadores que como hicieron con ustedes les cobran un absurdo y pasa esto, esperan algo de 500 dolares cuando la realidad es que nosotros cobramos $900 pesos los precios estan publicados es nuestra página web

Como explique en comentarios anteriores, esto es un campo, una estancia o en ingles se le llama ranch y lamentablemente hay mosquitos, moscas, perros, caballos, vacas, olor a bosta, cuando llueve barro y si hay viento vuela tierra...

Lamento mucho que su Tour operador no explicó a que tipo de lugar venían y tambien que les cobró mucho mas de lo que correspondía.

Saludos cordiales,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I felt like we were in Europe. The grounds are immense and so green and full of beautiful birds. It was so restful, peaceful, romantic and just what we needed. Our room was old fashioned and spic and span, beautifully decorated, with a wood burning fireplace--not needed but I'd like to return in the winter to light it up. At night someone comes around and puts a lighted candle on each casita's front porch. No AC but we didn't need it even in the hot weather. It was all so relaxed--we rode the horses when we wanted, took the sulky cart, biked whenever we felt like it--no reservations or time schedules. The pool was unheated but beautiful. No telephones, no TV, and no working wifi during our stay. The folk dancers were wonderful and we enjoyed their brief show after lunch. You do need a car to get there, or else take the direct bus to Lobos from Buenos Aires and a taxi to the estancia. But once you're there, you can get around the grounds on horses, bikes, and on foot. I don't understand the negative reviews unless the management has recently done a lot of improvements. We loved it!

Room Tip: Our Colonial casita was perfect--2A
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tangocherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaCandelaria, Gerente at Estancia La Candelaria, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014
Google Translation

Estimada, muchas gracias por su comentario, nos alegra mucho que la hayan paso bien, los espero en invierno con el hogar a lena prendido.
Hasta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

When you drive into the grounds and c the castle from a distance, 1-200 m, it really looks awesome, but once you really arrive and go inside, your enthusiasm is quickly dampened. The place is in serious decay, our room smelled like it had been abandoned for 50 years, I don´t know what that really would smell like, but the odour was just really very unpleasently foul !

The park is the absolutely only beautifull part, but for that there are much much better places to go, the " entertainment área " is a complete joke, table tennis table which was was in good shape 25 years ago, but now is falling apart, there was a small pooltable, but cuesticks and table beyond description.

A rotten pool out back was really disgusting and ruined the pretty picture we had in our minds.

Now to top of this list of disappointments, we hoped at least for some good food....alas...the lunchon is served in what can only and best be described as a rundown diner which you would find along highways, everything plasticky, cheap glasses, very poor wine, and the BBQ, which is the Argentina speciality was just exceptionally badly made, I actually went out to c the person(s) doing this outside, and found a gnarly, friendly enough oldtimer, who was obviously just going through a very practiced routine, really poor quality meat, very fatty, so we gave up finally.

Not much more to say, save your money and find another place, there are plenty !

Room Tip: there are no good rooms, those on the 1st floor with a view over the park is best of the worst...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaCandelaria, Gerente at Estancia La Candelaria, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014
Google Translation

Estimada Leslie,

Muchas gracias por su comentario.
Lamento mucho su mala experiencia.

Saludos cordiales,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We received a voucher from Groupon as a gift, for a night stay at La Candelaria. We have visited other Estancias in the Buenos Aires areas and were excited about going so we purchased an additional night, with all meals included.
La Candelaria was a huge disappointment. The castle, main attraction of the Estancia, is in pretty bad shape, we are sure it received little or no maintenance at all, except for keeping the few areas that are open and available to the public, the place looks in pretty bad shape. Of all the activities that they offer only the horses were available, the tennis court was dirty and abandoned, the pools were empty and I am sure out of order, the table tennis table was broken and so were the rackets, and I could go on and on.
The church, which we are sure was lovely, is abandoned and foul smelling.
The staff at the reception desk is not nice, not helpful at all and have no clear records of what you have paid or not and you have to demand a valid receipt as they do not issue them.
We are sure that they focus mostly on tourists that come for day trips, as the only shop where to get drinks or snacks is open only the days and hours when the tourists buses come along.
There are only two good things about La Candelaria....the garden which was originally designed by Thays still nice to walk around and the chef does a pretty good job for lunches and dinners...but forget the parrillada, one of the worst we have had in a decade that we have lived in Argentina!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank larociito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstanciaCandelaria, Gerente at Estancia La Candelaria, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014
Google Translation

Estimada Larociito,

Muchas gracias por dejar su comentario.
Lamento mucho que su estadía no fue lo que esperaba, dia a dia durante meses y años estamos encima de esta propiedad con lo que respecta a mantenimiento tanto de los edificios como del parque, al ser un emprendimiento familiar y no contar con recursos de capitales extranjeros o de ninguna otra índole, esto se hace de a poco y pulmón, cada peso que entra se reinvierte en la propiedad ya que no solo se usa para el turismo (que es la única forma de mantenerlo) sino que también es nuestro hogar. Nos encantaría que este todo perfecto y brillante pero para eso hacen falta millones de dolares el cual no los tenemos...es por eso que vamos de a poco con lágrimas, sudor y sangre tratando de mantener un casco de 1840 con 120 hectáreas de parque, piletas, canchas de tenis, fútbol, voley, polo, etc.
Nuevamente pedimos perdón si no fue lo que esperaba, La Candelaria es una estancia del siglo pasado que abrió sus puertas el turismo para que se puede mantener y la gente pueda apreciar la calidez, hospitalidad y tradición del campo argentino

Saludos cordiales,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Highly recommend as this estancia is absolutely beautiful and not too far from Buenos Aires.
The food was amazing, great wine, and the service was excellent. Riding horses was fun as well. Feels as though you are in Europe. Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdegoytisolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

For those looking for an escape close to Buenos Aires, Estancia La Candelaria is a real gem: unpretentious, well-preserved, and completely different from anything else you'd "expect" to find in the Argentinian countryside. We did our wedding weekend (3 day/2 night package) there this past August, and have gone there a couple of times before that to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The staff is very friendly and attentive, the rooms are clean, and the food is good (particularly their "asado"). I would whole-heartedly recommend this place as a weekend get-a-way or relaxing retreat. As for weddings, we had an amazing time there with 47 of our closest friends and relatives. We hit a couple of administrative bumps in the road (surrounding the terms of the contract, due to staff turnover) but in the end everything worked out and the staff was cooperative in meeting our every need.

We love the place and would go back there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarkisovaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lobos
7.9 mi away
Aquae Sulis Spa & Resort
20.8 mi away
Como entonces
Como entonces
#1 of 1 in Uribelarrea
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pampas del Sur
Pampas del Sur
#1 of 4 in Canuelas
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Aguara Hotel & Spa
Aguara Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Lobos
138 reviews
8.7 mi away
Terrazas de Lobos
Terrazas de Lobos
#2 of 12 in Lobos
148 reviews
17.1 mi away
Complejo Las Marianas
Complejo Las Marianas
#1 of 1 in Las Marianas
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Candelaria

Address: Ruta Nacional 205, Lobos, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > Lobos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Lobos
Price Range: $167 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia La Candelaria 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Estancia La Candelaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Candelaria Hotel Lobos
Estancia La Candelaria Argentina/Lobos, Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing