We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate booking experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Estancia La Candelaria
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Lobos
Reviewed March 28, 2011

One of our friends who lives in Buenos Aires had recommended Estancia La Candelaria and we were excited to stay here. However, we have found that actually booking a room is quite difficult. We try to be understanding since we are so "wired" and we know not all of the world operates as we do. On average, it takes 2 days to receive a response to an email. It has now been four days since I sent our last email and no response. Meanwhile, we learned about the Estancia Villa Maria. We sent one email and received a response within 2 minutes and had all of our questions answered immediately!

Since we didn't actually stay here and Trip Advisor makes you fill out the cleanliness and service and location (etc.) ratings, I just put in an average rating. Except on service.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LucyLucille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Estancia La Candelaria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 571 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2011

I've been travelling around Argentina and I wanted to finish our trip in a good "estancia" near buenos aires, and we had good luck to find La Candelaria!
It's a real estancia cause it has a huge a perfect well kept park with avenues, woods, polo courts... we had a room in the castle called "casuariana" which was clean and nice.
The food is just great, is very argentinian and tasty, we could ask to the chef Susana whatever we wanted that she prepared for us... very personal attention! I reccomend you the "pollo al disco" is chicken cooked in a typical "disk" wich is superb. At dinner the food is more sophisticated, and you can ask to have it in the castle if you prefer (we did it and felt like a princess!!)
On Saturdays you can attend to the folk shows and to the tour in the castle telling the history of the ranch.
The place is very peacefull and you have all the activities included in the price.
We'd really enjoyed and we'll reccomended to our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neha045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

I HIGHLY recommend that if you are in Buenos Aires, to go visit this Estancia. It is only 1 hour away and offers the most authentic "Campo" experience you will have in Argentina. The food, the events, and the service are impeccable. From riding bikes, to going in the pool, to watching a polo game, or my favorite - going horseback riding, the estancia offers a unique experience. The castle is beautiful and the place itself is amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AA4454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I had heard about La Candelaria but I had never experienced it myself. That was until last week when my friends and I decided to have a weekend out in Lobos. It was great! The first thing I adored was the landscape. It's almost impossible not to relax there! The food is incredible, with typical Argentine dishes and great company. I stayed in a colonial room which was really comfy and nice. I would totally recommend this place!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tut212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estanciacandelaria, Gerente at Estancia La Candelaria, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2010

Dear Tut212:

We want to thank you for your kind comments. You made our day! I’ll make sure to pass them to our staff as a motivation to keep on providing excellent service.

It really is impossible not to fall in love with the castle and the park, I’m really glad to read that you did as well. And when you add awesome food to the equation, the result can only be a great stay.

Thanks again for choosing us, and we’ll love to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards

Lucrecia Grande
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The place has good marketing but when you get there (we took the Lobo Bus) we were shocked at the condition of this place. Food was bad at every meal, staff was rude, the room had mice/rat feces all over, and blood stains on bedding (see photo). All of the buildings are falling apart and the ground are overgrown and not kept. Argentina is not a 3rd World country and this place is worse than 3rd World. One last thing, you can hold it with a credit card but you must pay in CASH! Please do not give these people a dime of your money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank travelsalot2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
estanciacandelaria, Gerente at Estancia La Candelaria, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2010

Dear guests from Dallas:

Thank you for choosing La Candelaria in your visit to Lobos last August. We appreciate the time you took to write this review. We take all of them very seriously to continuously improve our services.

Please be sure that the situations you mention are not representative of our high quality standards. I’ll make sure to pass your comments to our staff as we are committed with 100% guest satisfaction.

I think there was a misunderstanding with the payment options. We do take credit card for payment. I’m not sure if there was some problem with the system at that time or just a language barrier problem. We are looking into that to prevent it from happening again.

Regarding the food, we are now in the process of renewing our gastronomic options with a famous Chef who worked in the 2 most important hotels of Buenos Aires.

We regret not having had the opportunity to amend the situation when you were still in the hotel, but please accept our most sincere apologies. If you have any further comments feel free to contact me on my email below.

Best regards

Lucrecia Grande (lucrecia@estanciacandelaria.com)
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

What a terrible disappointment. Candelaria is marketed as a unique castle on beautiful grounds designed by Thays. We were told that the food will be excellent Argentine fare (great meat). The reality is a dilapidated, very dirty, painfully neglected castle, which is in urgent need of some care and repair, and most of all, of cleaning. The rooms were not properly cleaned, and the bathrooms really dirty. The air-condition did not work in one of the 3 bedrooms we occupied. The second one did not have any air-condition at all. The attic was filthy and filled with rats droppings and even birds skeletons. Real spooky and very unhygienic given the fact this is one floor up from the bedrooms!

The food at lunch, in a venue shared by more than 100 people, was horrible, nearly inedible. The salad bar included some tired lettuce and overripe tomatoes, and they didn't even offer olive oil. The bread was stale. The meat chunks plentiful, but very fatty and very unappetizing, especially after we found a hair on one of the pieces.

Dinner took place in a smaller venue, much nicer, yet the pasta option (the other choice for main course was pork, which we avoid usually) was terrible.

On top of this - the place was infested with mosquitoes. It was so bad - that we avoided being outside, so we could not enjoy the grounds (which are beautiful despite the neglect) and the swimming pool (or the horses - which is a part of why we came to an estancia, after all ). Why they do not fumigate was beyond us.

Breakfast was the next disappointment: no fruit (just a bowl of miserable oranges on the side board), mediocre bread that one could toast, marmalade, dulce de leche and very bad croissants ("media lunas"). The coffee - totally undrinkable. Luckily there was a selection of tea bags that saved the day.

In the right hands, with proper professional management, this could be a gem. Sadly, this magnificent castle and grounds are not fit for hosting people currently.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Capetonian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: yo lo recomiendo para pasar el día no para dormir ahí, o la habitación del molino q esta sola en med...
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lobos
7.9 mi away
Aquae Sulis Spa & Resort
20.8 mi away
Como entonces
Como entonces
#1 of 1 in Uribelarrea
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pampas del Sur
Pampas del Sur
#1 of 4 in Canuelas
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Aguara Hotel & Spa
Aguara Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Lobos
138 reviews
8.7 mi away
Terrazas de Lobos
Terrazas de Lobos
#2 of 12 in Lobos
148 reviews
17.1 mi away
Complejo Las Marianas
Complejo Las Marianas
#1 of 1 in Las Marianas
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia La Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia La Candelaria

Address: Ruta Nacional 205, Lobos, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Central Argentina > Province of Buenos Aires > Lobos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Lobos
Price Range: $167 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia La Candelaria 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Estancia La Candelaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia La Candelaria Hotel Lobos
Estancia La Candelaria Argentina/Lobos, Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing