We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my best stays in Malawi”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingstonia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lukwe EcoCamp & Organic Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lukwe is an excellent place to stay in Malawi! Located on a mountain close to Livingstonia it is a bit of a challenge to reach it if travelling by public transport, but such a treat once you're there. The food is absolutely divine! Everything is from their own garden. The restaurant is located on a wonderfull lookout deck with views across the valley up to the lake. There is a hollywood swing right on the rim, where you can just stay for hours contemplating nature, night falling, with a cool beer in your hand.
The room was very nice and clean, right on the rim as well, with great views on the valley as well.
If you have difficulties choosing between the next door mushroom farm and lukwe: mushroom is the more lively backpacker hippie place whereas lukwe is quieter, has a sense for the detail, amenities are very nicely designed and taken care of.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 89 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Set in the hillside about 4 kilometers from Livingstonia off the main road this campsite/accommodation has a lot to offer. Views down to the bay and across to three different countries when the weather is clear. An eco garden that produces fresh vegetables and salad ingredients for the tasty food they produce. Although the menu is limited - its is all good. The chalets are set in shady glades all with balconies and views. A hot water shower run by solar and open air x 2 nd eco toilets are all clean. If you stay check out the view from the garden of the waterfall and visit their the veggie plot where you will be shown around and can watch the monkeys.

Room Tip: We stayed in the static tent, double bed and huge balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

There cannot be a better view of lake Malawi (yes, the whole of the lake) than from the restaurant at Lukwe... We reached after a 3 day hike from chelinda to livingstonia .
This is a small , very reasonably priced camp with the most amazing views from every room! They have a common bath and washrooms which are a little far from the room though...The owners are really into environmental friendly and organic stuff- makes it a plus ... We ordered a salad and she actually got fresh ingredients from the garden for us!!!
The restaurant is lovely in the evening as well.. Generally a quiet place... Operates on solar energy! Food is really good and tasty though a little pricey when compared to the room costs...
We got a very informative tour of the garden and all the different farming techniques....we loved our stay!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank themanfromearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with some friends and family a few weeks ago staying in the provided tents which were superb. The drive up Gironde Road which was a good challenge even in a 4WD Land Cruiser. The concept is an excellent one and the sustainability of the camp is a stand out highlight - make sure you take a tour of the gardens where Alex explained to us all the plants and permaculture.

The quality of the food and cooking was really excellent and all the better to know that it was grown sustainably in the gardens. It did take a while for the food to arrive but the food was cooked brilliantly - possibly the best I tasted in Malawi (with the exception of Latitude 13 in Lilongwe or the fresh fish at Nkhotakota Bay)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fungmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We drove to Lukwe from Nyika and arrived via the M1 and the Girode Road which is quite an experience! 20 hairpin bends with sheer drops on one side - 1st and 2nd gear all the way - so if you go this route allow plenty of time to work your way up. The alternative is to go on the T305 which you can join just outside Rumphi - we actually missed this as there aren't any signs, but we returned on this route. It was good to come back a different way so would recommend you try both if it suits you itinerary. Although we heard the T305 can be very difficult after the rains - it's very sandy and i can imagine it would be very tricky if wet. I'd say you'd best check with the Lukwe owners before deciding.
After such an interesting drive we were delighted to arrive at Lukwe. We had seen all the pictures on the website, but you don't really know what it will be like till you arrive. We were absolutely thrilled with what we found - the bar/restaurant area was amazing with a swing for 2 right on the edge overlooking the escarpment - quite something!
We stayed in the chalet which is a tent with a thatched roof - it was very comfortable with all we needed - best sleep ever! The views were fabulous and we loved sitting on our balcony gazing down to Lake Malawi with a glass of wine...or a cheeky MGT (Malawian Gin and Tonic).
We had two nights so we spent our time taking the walk along the escarpment, visiting the garden and hearing from the gardner, Alex about how he makes it all work, visiting the waterfalls and also Livingstonia. Everything is so close together you can fit a lot in!
The food was fabulous - especially as you knew exactly how much love and care had gone into creating the salad and vegetables in front of you. I can recommend the vegetable curry - very tasty indeed and well priced. They also obviously have very happy chickens as the eggs at breakfast were perfect with very deep yellow yolks.
The facilities are all communal, but are within very easy reach of the chalets. The showers were great - very powerful with lots of hot water and a great view too!
The team who work there were all brilliant - very friendly and delighted to give you ideas of where to go. We had a chat with Lisa, one of the owners and it was amazing to hear what her and her husband, Auke had achieved in such a small time. Quite inspirational...!
You can probably tell how much we loved our stay here and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for a chalet - very well priced with amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickshirelittleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Luxury tented encampment with views over the western wall of the great rift valley. Food mainly home grown in an organic tropical garden and all very good indeed. The gardener showed great enthusiasm showing us all the food grown in the camp. Fairly easy walk from the camp into Livingstonia. Food made then and there. Host very amiable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This camp was one of the best places we stayed at on a 6 month trip through Africa. The camp is built to blend in with nature and very little was disturbed in building the camp. Their very interesting permaculture garden supplies the restaurant so you are guaranteed super fresh veggies and herbs when eating there. The walk up to the waterfalls was great, and a longer walk to Livingstonia worth the effort We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank payback21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lukwe EcoCamp & Organic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukwe EcoCamp & Organic Gardens

Address: T305 | Gorode Road, Auke Swennen, Livingstonia, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Northern Region > Livingstonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Livingstonia
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Lukwe EcoCamp & Organic Gardens Malawi/Livingstonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing