We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best lodges in Malawi - don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mushroom Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingstonia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mushroom Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best lodges in Malawi - don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stunning setting on a plateau overlooking Chitimba and the lake. Owners are hilarious and lots of fun! Very happy to help and hang out. Food is the best we’ve had in Malawi. Fresh, organic food homemade with love from their garden. Cool accommodation options. It’s a bit difficult to get to but well worth the effort. It’s a 2-2.5hr hike up the mountain (not too strenuous if you stick to the road) or you can try your luck at the bottom and wait for a lift. One of the best lodges in Malawi, don’t miss it!

Room Tip: Book in advance unless you want to camp!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    12
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
52
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We wanted to stay over for one night but then decided to stay three nights in this very special and exciting place, relaxing and exploring the environs such as the Livingstonia mission. Food and bar services were simply great and the vegetarian menue with lots of salad and fruits a great relief after so many days of meat and fish-focussed Malawian cuisine. And the view: We just couldn't get enough of it. The definite highlight of our three-weeks travel through Malawi!!

Room Tip: The A-Frame seems to have the very best of all the wonderfull views. We stayed in the cob house with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franzjutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed in the cob house, a cosy little house with its own bathroom with an amazing view.
The food is delicious, the atmosphere relaxed, the view is amazing from the entire lodge and the owners are too kind :). It's difficult to get to this place; options are to hike up and arrange porters for your bigger bags (or carry them yourself if you can, but be warned it is quite a hike!) or wait for a car to pass by, or arrange a cab up; the owners can help you to do so.
We had a great time at the Mushroom Farm!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meloena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

It's the kind of place you know you will be missing back home. Wonderful huts with amazing views, great people, excellent food. Book in advance unless you want to sleep in a tent. Most original showers I found in this part of Africa!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedritissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dar el salamm
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

A little more grungy than lukwe but the views are amazing, the food is spectacular and varied. Go down for breakfast and watch the sunrise. Good vibe, good music and good people. Only grumblefor me was that the restaurant area lacked shade from the hot sun.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Couldn't rate this place highly enough. The camping pitches are amazing - perched on the edge of the clifftop with stunning views. The facilities are all great - hot showers, really good food, and a happy hour for beers and cocktails. Maddy, Cameron and James are incredibly helpful and friendly, and really add to the experience of staying here. We ended up cutting down on our time at the Lake to stay here longer, and I'm really glad we did. In terms of getting there, we waited about 1.5 hours to hitch up, but 6 hours to get down again. It might be worth spending some time in Livingstonia the day before you leave trying to find someone driving the next day. We found a lot of the vehicles passing us were alrerady full.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

It all starts with the exhausting -but with great views- hike up to the Mushroom farm. The reward is there when you reach the mushroom farm. The incredible view is stunning. We stayed in one of the little houses. The Dutch hosts-there are new young owners, so I've heard- Hannes and Claudia were very friendly. The food was great. Price for a night stay-over in a house was -compared with Malawian standards- pretty expensive, but just the view (e.g. showering with an open cabine, in the shower you can look straigt down to the valley) made it allready worthy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElPetrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mushroom Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mushroom Farm

Property: The Mushroom Farm
Address: Livingstonia, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Northern Region > Livingstonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Livingstonia
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! The Mushroom Farm is a cliffside Eco-Lodge overlooking Lake Malawi, Nyika National Park, the Rift Valley, and Tanzania's Mountain Range. Sit back and relax from your private balcony, hammock, or your place at the bar at this unique backpackers. We offer an eclectic and affordable selection of traditionally built chalets, safari tents, and cliff-top campsites. We utilize locally harvested/recycled building materials, cob walls, and grass thatch throughout the Mushroom Farm. The low-impact rooms and campsites are designed to blend naturally into the environment and to take in the best views. Outdoor enthusiasts will relish their time up on the mountain. Activities include day hiking to Manchewe Waterfalls (Malawi's tallest falls), historic Livingstonia, coffee-plantation tours, yoga, and hikes to the stunning Chombe plateau. Our eclectic restaurant utilizes locally-sourced delights and vegetarian options - breakfast, lunch, afternoon snacks, and ever-changing dinner choices. So come and stay a while, and enjoy the area. We look forward to greeting you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mushroom Farm Malawi/Livingstonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing