We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Villeneuve-sur-Yonne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Lucarne aux Chouettes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2007

As good a place to eat & stay as you could hope for - lived up to expectations.

Great location as well - perfect

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    24
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
14
38
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

We went to La Lucarne aux Chouettes for a special birthday lunch. Perhaps because it was the 14th of July (a national holiday in France) and the regular staff was absent, but we found the service to be slow, and in one case unpleasant.

We all have bad days, but to stand around glowering at customers is not very nice for the customers. We had to specifically ask for bread (even when two of us had a foie gras starter that did not come with bread) and when the bread rolls came they were like rocks. It may have been July 14th, but the boulangerie around the corner was open nonetheless. There is no excuse for serving stale bread in an upscale restaurant in France - EVER.

We also had to ask for water, and the glowering woman standing next to us did not make any attempt to direct the wait staff to the table, despite the fact it was over 90 degrees on the day we visited. Once a waiter finally came and we asked for water, we had to wait a long time for it. There were two young wait staff plus Ms Grumpy - and we were the only people at the restaurant that lunchtime. There was another party of two who we heard complaining about the slow service as they left. I guessed that this mood probably frightened off would-be customers, but one of my party suggested instead it was probably the prices that frightened them off more.

Portion sizes were very small (in the case of the saute of ris de veau, a bare mouthful for €30!), and with all the supplements (don't let the publicised price of the menu fool you - there is a supplement ranging from €4 to €8 for most items) we paid over €250 for four people for food alone at lunch time. As for the quality of the cooking, some of the vegetables were slightly overcooked; the brioche in the pain perdu of escargots was thin (store-bought?) and soggy - not crisp on the outside as it should have been. The gougeres were OK but dry (probably frozen). High points were the fish dishes (a very big selection of no less than 6 fish-based mains on a lunch menu was impressive), the use of colour, the clever combination of rhubarb, citrus and foie gras, and the desserts. The ice cream that came with my poire Belle Helene was exceptional.

The restaurant is beautifully decorated and the location is stunning, although being so close to the bridge and with the small road between the auberge and the river being open to vehicular traffic, we were probably lucky. The town itself is old and charming, and we availed ourselves of a riverside walk before lunch where local people we passed smiled and said "bonjour".

The food may be overpriced at the weekend (note that during the week, lunch is a very reasonable €25 a head for three courses), but the wines were well priced, the wine list very well thought out and all were served at the perfect temperature.

I read that the Auberge is missing a Michelin star due to its celebrity ownership. I would argue that stale bread and terrible service does not a Michelin starred restaurant make. There is potential for improvement. Once they get the service and a few other things right, they may actually deserve a star. The next time I visit - and there will be a next time - I will avoid weekends and national holidays to see if there is any difference in standards.

  • Liked — Desserts
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesroys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
535 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2007

Our group occupied 3 rooms at this hotel in June, 2007 and had a wonderful experience. It is not for the faint of heart though if you cannot climb stairs and I mean a lot of narrow stairs up a twisting staircase. We packed as light as we could, but nothing, however, prepared us for the steps up to the "duplex"! Although the town is quiet with not much to do, we mainly came here because of Leslie Caron and other friends' recommendations who have stayed there. We used this hotel as a base to visit the Chablis region. The hotel is located right on the river and is a very serene setting where you can relax. The hotel staff was friendly and let us use their computer to check our emails daily. There is a restaurant there where we ate our meals nightly and a minimal breakfast was served in the morning. If you don't mind the stairs, I found it quite charming and peaceful.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwithpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2005

My husband, our 8-year-old daughter and I recently stayed at this charming inn in Burgundy, owned by the equally charming Leslie Caron. The decor was lovely and the food sublime.

We enjoyed strolling the quiet streets of Villeneuve-sur-Yonne, the Medieval city where the inn is located. When we visited the local 13th century cathedral, we were disappointed to find the doors locked. But by visiting the tourist information office nearby, we were able to arrange a private tour!

My daughter had hoped to do some horse-back riding while we were in Burgundy and the tourist information office provided us information on nearby stables. When my French proved too poor to make arrangements, the inn's excellent concierge was happy to make the arrangements for us with the stables and the taxi.

We also enjoyed watching boats pass through the locks on the Yonne.

The highlight of our visit, however came on the morning when we were to depart. We stayed at the inn on a Monday and Tuesday and were terribly disappointed when we heard that Madame Caron had been at the inn over the weekend and wasn't expected back during the week. We were thrilled to discover that she had returned on Tuesday morning and even more thrilled when she took the time to speak with us about the inn, the local attractions, her career, etc. She was warm and gracious and my daughter was thoroughly taken with her. She has enjoyed telling her friends how she met a movie-star while on vacation.

Having expressed my personal feelings for Madame Caron, let me say that if the inn had no celebrity connections whatsoever, we would gladly come again for the beautiful setting, the friendly people and the incredible food.

We highly recommend La Lucarne Aux Chouettes!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villeneuve-sur-Yonne
8.1 mi away
La Cote Saint Jacques
3.8 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Julien
Hotel Le Saint Julien
#1 of 1 in Saint-Julien-du-Sault
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
15.9 mi away
Auberge des Vieux Moulins Banaux
Auberge des Vieux Moulins Banaux
#1 of 1 in Villeneuve l'Archeveque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Sens
Ibis Budget Sens
#3 of 7 in Sens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
7.8 mi away
INTER-HOTEL Archotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris et Poste
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Lucarne aux Chouettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lucarne aux Chouettes

Property: La Lucarne aux Chouettes
Address: Quai Bretoche, 89500 Villeneuve-sur-Yonne, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Villeneuve-sur-Yonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villeneuve-sur-Yonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’auberge de la Lucarne aux chouettes se situe au bord de l’eau, au cœur de Villeneuve sur Yonne.Cet établissement a été rendu célèbre grâce à sa créatrice Leslie Caron qui a su apporter à ce site tout le charme nécessaire à sa réputation d’aujourd’hui.Caroline Marinelli, la nouvelle propriétaire depuis le 6 octobre 2011, s’est entourée d’une équipe jeune afin d’offrir à sa clientèle un service dynamique.Hôtel, restaurant, bar à vin ou salon de thé, quel que soit votre choix, vous serez accueillis chaleureusement par notre équipe. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Lucarne Aux Chouettes Hotel Villeneuve-Sur-Yonne
La Lucarne Aux Chouettes Villeneuve-Sur-Yonne, France - Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing