We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Castle for fighter jet phanatics”

Chateau de Savigny-les-Beaune
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Castle for fighter jet phanatics”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My boys loved it but they recognized all fighter jets without looking at the labels. I found the combination of the castle with the beautiful and well maintained garden and the various engines scattered around the park somewhat unusual. Obviously for the owners, the castle itself is less important than the collections, this classic castle is not in its best condition. Nevertheless, the place has a certain charm, thanks to the garden around it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Malacomvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    171
    60
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Somme-Leuze, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A place where you can discover everytime something new”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We where there several times. You don't come back when you don't like it.
You find the Abarth collection - Dassault - a lot of very old motorcycles.
It is a must done for every one who loves old motorcycles , machines , cars planes etc.....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pgospeedster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Planes, race cars, tractors, vineyards....oh my!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Well... This one is hard to rate! My spouse and 2 boys really liked this HUGE collection of race cars, motorcycles, tractors, FIGHTER jets and fire engines. It costs 10 euro per adult, free for under 12 and 5 euros for students. You are then told to follow the arrows for a self guided tour. There are some French language signs at spots en route, but it seems to be lacking some good explanations. Is this a museum, is this a chateau/vineyard? Those who love all things mechanical would love this place. A the end of the tour you enter the chateau and wander through the first floor which is sometimes rented out for weddings and is interesting but lacks any write ups on the history. the second floor is family quarters and the top is .... More motorcycles???? What.... Who puts motorcycles in the house! Anyhoooo... I think that they should designate one area a museum and do it up right. With so many old planes and cars, why not let people (kids) climb into one or two less valuable ones. Why not tell some interesting stories about the races won, how the jets came to be there, etc in a couple different languages. Sell some of them off, restore the chateau and have some proper history about the wines, for those of us who go along and aren't as into the cars and planes? Just a thought! Overall the 'men' in my family loved it I was kind of ...meh?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Need4travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Race cars, Jets and wine”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went to Chateau de Savigny-les-Beaune to see the collection of Abarth race cars. What I did not expect was to see about 50 of them ! From the little 500 sedans to V8 sports racers. Motorcycles from the 20's to the 60's. Then we walked a few hundred meters through vineyards towards what was called the avion musee. We came around a corner and it was a Holy S--T moment. There had to be 50 jet fighters and bombers sitting side by side in 4 rows. These are not museum queens - these are the real flown in and positioned battle warriors. Every Dussault Mirage ever made, MIG 15's to 23's, F-86, F-104 too much to mention. Then a chateau full of great things to see. All for 10€. The best value I have ever seen. We had a brief chat with M. Pont, the owner and he is clearly proud of his collections. Oh and they have wine as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 366DaveN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wine purchase”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We've bought wine many times now from this Chateau. Very good wines! My husband also loves the aeroplane collection at the back of the Chateau. We did not visit the chateau itself this time, as there was a wedding taking place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kateloveshuskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Savigny-les-Beaune also viewed

 

Been to Chateau de Savigny-les-Beaune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing