We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge du Mange Grenouille
Ranked #1 of 4 Le Bic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I have dined in the best places in Paris, London, Delhi, Nairobi, Montréal and elsewhere, but not a single place matches this one. A little jewel lost in Le Bic.
The highest quality given to each and every detail. Perfect food (an explosion of successive tastes concomittantly orchestrated by the chef and the sommelier), great decorum, marvellous staff, and refined clientele.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vempyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 255 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2009

All rooms were booked when we happened to be in the area so we just went for dinner. What a pleasant surprise. Expensive, but top notch restaurant! We were highly impressed. Very professional and friendly staff. At first, the overcrowded decoration seems strange, but after a few minutes, you get into the spirit of the place. Really had a good time there. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
Thank JMGD007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Hard to breath in the room «cleaned» with cheap persistant perfume.

Beautifull garden. Freindly well trained dinning room staff .

Quiet.

Contrary to accepted definitions, «table d'hôte» does not include desserts...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nobull_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We stayed for one night at this nice and charming auberge. The room was comfortable with a nice view over the garden but a bit over-decorated. The service at the restaurant was excellent, professional and warm, not overstuffed. The food was original but a bit over-priced.
Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uphnguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We stayed at the Mange Grenouille only for one night...what a bad decision of our part...
We loved it so much...the bedroom was so beautiful in all small details...VERY romantic...The staff are so professional and the food is amazing !! Yes, it is a bit expensive for tight budget ...BUT you pay for what you get, it is amazing !!
It was raining that night so we couldn't go in the garden but it really looks beautiful.
Congratulations to these people, that place is magic !!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julyincuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

The summary: loved most of it, beautiful, good food, nice experience…not the best in the world, slightly neutral, almost "above average".

The amazing :
-the inside décor: every millimeter is draped with rich fabrics, gothic statuettes, old photos, books etc., and I loved it. I particularly loved the table clothes which were rich fabrics decorated with Fleur De Lys.
-the views from the garden
-the one flamboyantly-controlled and energizing alopecia totalis’d waiter, was really cool, he defined the ambiance at diner and hopefully he will rub off on some of his colleagues
-the bed, super mega comfy & really high-thread count sheets.
-the shower: although the stall was quite low-tech, the showerhead & water pressure were…dare I say it? … one of the best I have had in Inn’s/hotels around the world.

The good:
-the food (we had the “menu de dégustation” which takes you through 7 courses & the matched wines): given the price, I would love to say it was “great” or “amazing”, but I am only able to say that it was “good”. Although everything served was fresh, cooked to perfection in the French cuisine style of under cooking to let the flavors live on, I did find many of the dishes very taste-less…the first 3 services were quite ordinary, nothing to be impressed by. I have experienced many “menu de dégustation” in high-end places, this one ranked in the just-above-average class. The wines were fine, again, nothing extraordinary (for instance, if you compare all this to the Montréal restaurant Toqué which I consider to be the ultimate menu de dégustation restaurant…).
-the bedroom was pleasantly decorated, bright, clean, had our own bathroom & view/entrance on the back garden.
-the “included in the room price breakfast” was nice
The bad:
-a couple of the waitresses were completely out of place, unable to explain what they were serving (compared to the other wait-staff who were politely verbose, generous with their explanations, eloquent & very well versed in wine serving & food delivery…)
-the cosmopolitan martinis: missing a couple of key ingredients to make them true cosmos, so, for the price, pretty disappointing.
-the hot tub: I am not big on Jacuzzis, but wandered by & my wife jumped in for a few minutes. Not being a big fan, I relied on my wife’s comment: “it is not a sign of highly clean water quality when there is about 4 inches of thick rich & glossy foam floating on top”
The horrible:
-The “132”…the highway…it is really not far away from the Inn (less than 500 feet maybe?), the Inn overlooks the highway, and every single 18-wheeler and 1988 Honda Civic with no muffler/extra large muffler that goes by (and dear god there are many of those in the area!!!) reverberates into the Inn…into the rooms! When no trucks or cars go by, this site is the quietest & most soothing on earth…until the next Jake Brake (Jacobs Engine Brake) truck tries to slow down as it flies down the hill below the Inn…yikes!!

Many of my gourmet friends have been & loved the food, I am certainly not as much of a gourmet as they are, but I seriously think that the food was a little understated given the reputation of this place...my expectations where reasonably high and were not reasonably met, although I was not totally dissapointed.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GoEveryWhere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2008

I really cannot understand what some of the other reviews here are talking about - did they stay in the same auberge? This place is absolutely great - we stayed an extra night as we loved it so much!! Welcomed by extremely friendly owner; great room with some very individual decor!! (OK yes the bathroom was a little small, but still OK), very clean - gardens were lovely, very peaceful with a superb view. Also a hot tub in which you can relax and absorb the view at the same time - great after a long day trekking around Parc du Bic! The restaurant was excellent with a very good wine list. Breakfast also superb. Highly recommended if you are looking for something a little different!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2pards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Bic
10.6 mi away
Hotel Rimouski
Hotel Rimouski
#2 of 15 in Rimouski
341 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotels Gouverneur Rimouski
Hotels Gouverneur Rimouski
#13 of 15 in Rimouski
451 reviews
8.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Rimouski
Comfort Inn Rimouski
#7 of 15 in Rimouski
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-Germain
Hotel Le Saint-Germain
#3 of 15 in Rimouski
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge des Iles du Bic
1.6 mi away
Chalets Au Refuge du Vieux Loup de Mer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Mange Grenouille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Mange Grenouille

Address: 148, rue Sainte-Cecile, Le Bic, Rimouski, Quebec G0L 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Bas-Saint-Laurent > Rimouski > Le Bic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Le Bic
Price Range: $82 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge du Mange Grenouille 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of one of Quebec's most beautiful villages, the Auberge has much to offer. Twenty-two rooms, a dining room with a picturesque décor and a deliciously stellar menu, salons and bowers that recall the charms of a lost era, an inviting wine bar merrily nicknamed 'La Buvette', a water garden and flower gardens complete with an outdoor spa, overlooking the lovely Bic Harbour. Each one of our rooms has been designed and thoughtfully decorated so as to transport you in a dream world of charms, simplicity and pure bliss. The Auberge is a must for any traveler passing by, an exceptional place that will put you under a spell and beguile you with its intimacy, its warm welcoming way of greeting anyone who comes in, its good-natured ambiance and its reinvented yet natural theatrical environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Auberge du Mange Grenouille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Mange Grenouille Hotel Le Bic
Auberge Du Mange Grenouille Le Bic, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing