We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and an excellent base to explore the Adelaide Hills.”

Adelaide Hills Getaway
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Macclesfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Adelaide Hills Getaway
Ranked #2 of 2 Macclesfield B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money and an excellent base to explore the Adelaide Hills.”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the studio room for 3 nights and enjoyed the open space which was at least twice the size of a normal room. There was lots of space to store our bikes and tho the kitchen was compact there were plenty of facilities to cook our meals. The unit had both a wood fire and r/c air cond so was warm ,cosy and most importantly quiet. We were very happy with the unit for the price we paid.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

After looking at photos and write up on website at Hahndorf Information centre I just came away from this experience feeling that the place had been mispresented. Maybe the large unit is moderately modern but my unit was old and shabby, the decore, everything. There was no private courtyard as they advertise. And a tiny kitchenette with a wobbly fridge and a microwave, and with no laundry facilities is not my understanding of self contained. Would not recommend for charming getaway, this is 1-2 star accommodation.

Room Tip: ask for the one in the pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This was our second stay in the Gumtree Lodge section. We took up all 5 bedrooms for two nights and had a family reunion in the downstairs conference room. It was equipped with urn, cutlery, crockery, big table etc. Private and relaxing. Not 5 star luxury but comfortable and good value.

Room Tip: For privacy book all of lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doddra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Four of us stayed in a two-bedroom suite at this hotel after attending a local wedding. It was clean and fairly comfortable, but rather shabby. The hotel seemed to be full, but we were not bothered by much noise from either the main road or other guests.
It was nearly impossible to fully close the bathroom/toilet door as the door seemed to be too big for the door frame, and water from the shower drenched the entire space.
We did not need to use the heating or cooling, so I can't give an opinion on whether they were adequate or not.
I would not recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway or special holiday, but It was fine for just for one night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdelaideAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adelaide Hills Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Hills Getaway

Property: Adelaide Hills Getaway
Address: 23-25 Venables St, Macclesfield, South Australia 5153, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Macclesfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing