We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for couples looking for peace & quiet but not really for kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Orlando Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Orlando Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for couples looking for peace & quiet but not really for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Hotel very clean and looked after, rooms a good size although the air conditioning is not the best. The food is ok, although there are a few restaurants down the road which are well worth a visit. The pool area is very large for a small hotel and the setting is perfect, in the middle of a huge forest. A 25 min drive gets you to Tortoli and the port of Arbatax where we hired a speed boat for around £150 for the day and went along the coast north bound which was a great day out. The town of Tortoli has lots of little shops and a market on Friday or Saturday which was great. The restaurants mentioned above were fairly cheap we felt with a meal and wine (2 bottles) for the pair of us costing around £40. The island is very large so you will need a car, for getting around (as taxis I hear are very expensive) and this hotel is almost central to the island which is another good point. My wife and I did have a very relaxing break and we do plan to come here again some day .... which is always a good sign !!

Room Tip: Its worth getting an outside room as opposed to an inside (looking onto the court yard) one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    85
    27
    24
    12
See reviews for
97
184
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is much more reasonably priced than other hotels in Sardinia as it is located further inland. You will need a car to fully explore. The hotel is set in a secluded area surrounded by forest which is lovely. The room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast is a light continental breakfast but more than enough to get you going for the day.

There was a wedding going on one night during our stay with music playing until the early morning. Our room was overlooking the pool relatively close to the function room and though we could hear the sounds, our sleep was not disturbed.

We unfortunately had a bad experience with one of the receptionists who was incredibly rude. We would like to think it was partly down to a language barrier, though her general attitude was very unfriendly and unhelpful.

We would not stay again because of this experience, which is unfortunate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in his hotel for one night on our trip around Sardinia. It is located in the mountains. The room was large, clean and comfortable. It had air conditioning and wifi. It was very quiet and relaxed. The large pool outside had lots of deck chairs along the edge to relax in. The breakfast buffet was lovely. There was a nice little restaurant down the road from the hotel which did lunch and dinner. There is a parking area outside.

Room Tip: Wifi is only available in public areas but if your room is close to reception, you can pick it up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SB_Eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very friendly and helpful at reception. Nice and large pool area. Room was nice and clean, booking preferences for the room were considered. Good food.
Garden outside the swimming pool area could be better/is not maintained. Also some parts of the building are in (re-)construction. The hotel is located in the mountains and believe that the water in the pool can be rather cold...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
199 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is built in half circle around a very large swimming pool, in a protected forest. The architectural style is rather unusual in Sardinia : some kind of Mexican-Spanish hacienda. The result is very nice and the place is undoubtedly both beautiful and relaxing. The rooms are quite large and bright and are comfortable, though rather simple.

To sum up, here are the main pros and cons.

Pros:
- very quiet place, beautiful architecture, very nice scenery
- vey large swimming pool
- nice rooms
- very nice owner, truly willing to help (despite her lack of knowledge of foreign languages)

Cons:
- the breakfast is really so so, with a quiet limited choice and rather tasteless food
- the staff at front desk is of variable quality. Some are nice and helpful, some other are almost rude with the customers. Some of them hardly speak English.
- the central air conditioning is not powerful enough. Expect very very hot nights if you come in summer, even if you set it at the lowest temperature and highest fan speed. And this, despite the fact that the external temperature is rather fresh at night (the hotel is in the mountains).

We have not tried the restaurant, since we were very disappointed with the quality of the breakfast.

Overall, a nice and enjoyable place, with some improvements needed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank angelbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hotel Orland Resort is tucked away in a secluded area of the mountains. The hotel was fairly quiet when we visited (mid/late June) which had the advantage that we pretty much had the pool and pool area to ourselves when we did make use of it. It's a great base to explore the mountains and the more rural Sardinian towns and villages but you will definitely need a car to get around as there's nothing really within walking distance.

We did eat at the hotel restaurant our first night which although the food was very good did lack atmosphere - maybe this is something that picks up during busier periods.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and a real credit to the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and if you're looking for something away from the hustle and bustle and don't mind exploring a bit more by car then I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I love my family and the conditions of the hotel. we were very well received. hotel facilities are excellent. really excellent to rest. I recommend to all people who want to spend a good few days of rest and relaxation. for example if I go back to the place of sure return to this fantastic hotel. I leave here and a special thanks to all members of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sergi0esteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villagrande Strisaili
90.0 mi away
Resort Valle Dell'Erica Thalasso & Spa
Resort Valle Dell'Erica Thalasso...
#1 of 25 in Santa Teresa Gallura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
61.9 mi away
Paradise Resort & SPA
Paradise Resort & SPA
#7 of 27 in San Teodoro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
32.5 mi away
Club Hotel Marina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.9 mi away
Falkensteiner Resort Capo Boi
Falkensteiner Resort Capo Boi
#24 of 33 in Villasimius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
83.5 mi away
Family Life Baia di Conte
Family Life Baia di Conte
#1 of 1 in Porto Conte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
77.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Baiaverde
Hotel Residence Baiaverde
#1 of 7 in Valledoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orlando Resort

Property: Hotel Orlando Resort
Address: Localita Santa Barbara, 08049, Villagrande Strisaili, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Ogliastra > Villagrande Strisaili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Villagrande Strisaili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Orlando Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four star Hotel is located deep into a century-old oak forest, at the foot of the Gennargentu mountain, but only 18 km away from the stunning sea of Arbatax, on the east coast of Sardinia.Our restaurant Orlando can led our customers to rediscover ancient and genuine food and Hotel Orlando can offer the most fascinating hobbies and sports: trekking, free-climbing, bungee-jumping, guided excursions, with bivouacking, archaeological excursion, routes on horseback,by mountain-bike,by quad, paradigling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing