We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How well I remember!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizzeria Vecchio Caffe

Pizzeria Vecchio Caffe
Ranked #9 of 19 Restaurants in Polcenigo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How well I remember!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I frequented this Pizzeria almost 35 years ago while based at Aviano AB nearby. I recall they had THE BEST PIZZA ever! I am almost sure this was the place we use to get a calzone that even had an egg backed inside that came out like a "poached egg"!!! Just wish we could "import it to where we live now!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    63
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roveredo in Piano, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must try this pizza! - very unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Great Pizza! It is to die for! We live in the nearby town of Roveredo In Piano. We learned about Vecchios word of mouth from friends that took us there when we arrived in the local area. Since then, we drive there at least once or twice a week to get our fix (it been about 3 yrs now). In the center piazza of Polcenigo they do little to no avertising. It is a mom and pop with good family ambiance. Their deep dish is a very unique personnal sized pizza. They have about 30 different ones to chose from (menu is written in English and Italian) . It is all priced for the locals so it will not break the bank. We normally do take-outs. If you dine-in, make sure you have time, specially wk ends in the evenings; there will be a crowd. We have traveled all over northen Italy and are yet to find anything like it. Good beer, good wine among other things. Chin-chin! Buon appetito! Rene (APO AE 09603)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank R O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

I have eaten there several times and I will eat there several times again! I love it, and its nice to have a different style pizza other than the typical Italian pizza.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unique pizza in Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

This pizza is very different from the normal pizzerias in Italy. It is a great pizza though. Thicker crust and smaller pan size are a welcome change.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank amyknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing pizzeria!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

This restaurant serves only deep-dish personal sized pizzas and, my God, they're amazing! You get like 30+ options to choose from and every single one is even more mouth watering than the one before it. Everything is fairly priced in my opinion, they have an exceptional Prosecco, and the staff are extremely friendly and speak broken English. The location is pretty much dead center Polcenigo and they have plenty of parking. Closed on Mondays, it's always a shame too because I never want to leave that awesome restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Corey727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Vecchio Caffe also viewed

Polcenigo, Province of Pordenone
Polcenigo, Province of Pordenone
 
Mezzomonte, Polcenigo
Polcenigo, Province of Pordenone
 
Polcenigo, Province of Pordenone
Polcenigo, Province of Pordenone
 

Been to Pizzeria Vecchio Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing