We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So very relaxing”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of La Petite Maison

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Huelgoat, Finistere, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
GrannyAnn...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So very relaxing”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned home after the most relaxing holiday ever. La Petite Maison is situated in the very sleepy village of Coz Castel which is wonderful to return to each day after adventuring out and about the Huelgoat area. The gite has everything you could possibly need with lovely helpful owners, Malcolm and Penny. Thanks Malcolm for the excellent directions - absolutely spot on. We'll certainly be returning, hopefully next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet plus the excellent accommodation
Liked least: Couldn't possibly think of a thing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKelly55
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“La Petite Maison is a little gem!”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 10 days in La Petite Maison and enjoyed every minute of it. It has everything you need for a relaxing holiday and is very comfortable - with all mod cons. It is within easy reach of beautiful Heulgoat which has plenty to offer by way of sightseeing and eating. There are lots of lovely places to visit within 40 minutes. The owners, Malcom & Penny are welcoming and helpful but not at all intrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Having a great TV and a selection of videos and a private garden
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jez H
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A lovely, cosy well equipped Gite in a relaxing location. The Owners are friendly and welcoming and strike a good balance between respecting your privacy and being on hand if you need them. The Gite has everything you need, and having a Washing Machine was a bonus! Nearby Huelgoat is well worth a visit as it has interesting geological features throughout the Town (!) and a nice Thursday Market. We would highly recommend this Gite to anyone looking to relax and unwind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Bed!
Liked least: All good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEBGVLPGB
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely week in a lovely house”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had everything we needed for a relaxing and interesting holiday in rural Brittany. The house and garden are charming and comfortable. Perfect area for a quiet break.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina M...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Sheer tranquility”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned for a 10 night stay at La Petite Maison and we thoroughly recommend the property - it is the most tranquil of locations. Malcolm and Penny are just delightful, the location has wonderful access to the Intermarche and points of interest. The property has everything you need and you really don't want for anything more. The most attractive part of it all is the simplicity of it all - we shall certainly aim to return .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location - in the middle of nowhere with just the sound of the birds
Liked least: Nothing really
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redsonly
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Life just doesn't get this good !”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have just returned from this little spot in France and having travelled around Europe in previous years, we have never before felt such a yearning to go back.
La Petite Maison is small and cosy. On our first night we slept in the most comfortable bed and in the morning were treated to the sound of nature all around us. Over a simple breakfast we watched as swallows performed their aerobatics above the garden and then we walked a while in the quietest lanes and beautiful countryside. This is a perfect place for a couple who seek relaxation or a base to explore the most beautiful part of Brittany.
The Gite is lovely and our hosts Malcolm and Penny, so helpful and accommodating. When you relax this much it is very hard to understand why we live the busy lives we lead.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Returning to the gite after a day out
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtri...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very quiet and relaxing.”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Plenty of places to visit from this comfortable, well situated small cottage.
In fact it was bigger than the photos lead you believe.
Helpful owner . Plenty of lovely short walks in Huelgoat.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing