We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service and low quality rooms for a hotel with such a good location.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Lac

Hotel du Lac
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huelgoat
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor service and low quality rooms for a hotel with such a good location.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a 10 day trip around Brittany. As soon as we arrived we were asked to decide if we wanted breakfast, then it moved on to pushing us to decide if we wanted dinner at the hotel that night. Overall, we felt we were treated as if we were a nuisance and this left a bad taste at the end of what was otherwise a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulu_h1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We only stayed one night at this reasonably priced hotel. It was clean, tidy and the staff were friendly. We had a room overlooking the lake which was glorious. The room was plenty big enough and everything we needed. The chef, who spoke little English, tried hard to understand my pigeon French when she was on desk duty. Free Wifi was a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enkayBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

I don't wish to be too hard on this place, as it was cheap, clean and the staff were friendly and pleasant. However, I was a little disappointed. We stayed two nights. The room (no. 1) was very small and the bathroom was one of the plastic modular types which meant it was very basic and you could barely move in there. The bed was a standard double and came complete with a plastic mattress protector, which always makes me very hot and uncomfortable - no problem to remove it though. Also, the room was quite noisy - both from traffic outside (there is a road and parking area between the hotel and the lake, which is not immediately apparent from their website) and from other rooms; not helped by there being no carpet in the corridors.

I realised after we had been there a while that there might be better rooms available - I suspect we ended up with the cheapest and smallest double room in the place - but I had not been offered any option on booking via the Logis de France website, but just given a choice of one room type, so was unaware that there were better alternatives. The hotel was practically empty, so it wasn't a case that there were no other rooms vacant. Also, we were on the first floor - rooms on higher floors might have been quieter, but I don't know if there is a lift - I didn't see one.

Food in the restaurant downstairs was fine and plentiful. Breakfast was limited to bread, pastries, crepes and cereal, coffee and juice - but there was plenty of it. Staff as previously stated very helpful and friendly.

In summary if you want somewhere a bit more comfortable you may be better off elsewhere but for cheap and clean accommodation this is fine.

Room Tip: Do not believe the Logis website if it only offers you one grade of room - there are more available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

A very welcoming hotel. Excellent size family rooms - 2 rooms adjoining with bathroom between. Very nice restaurant downstairs - very responsive to the particular dietary needs of the children.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in March. My room overlooked the lake over the road. The hotel staff were friendly and polite. They spoke a reasonable amount of English. The restaurant in the hotel was nice and the menus in English and French. I found that the price of the hotel was very reasonable and I would go there again. I would also recommend it; the area is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtravelleruk98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
187 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed here for two nights because we have visited Huelgoat before and liked the town and the surrounding area. The hotel, as its name suggests is on the lakeside and the room we were in offered a fine view of it. However the two nights we were there was also the two nights the local fair was there, right in front of the hotel. That, however, is not the hotel's fault. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable and adequate for the price. Breakfasts in the morning were the usual continental style and very good value. The hotel has two restaurants, one for "proper" cooking and the other a top class pizzeria. We chose the latter and very good they were too. I can recommend this hotel for a stay if you want a couple of days to explore the Huelgoat area and its forest. The town has little else to offer except for an occasional noisy fair.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StefanMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huelgoat
14.9 mi away
Cozy Hotel
Cozy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Plouigneau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura's Chambres D'Hote
Laura's Chambres D'Hote
#1 of 9 in Huelgoat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Double Locks Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Manoir de Kerledan
Manoir de Kerledan
#1 of 2 in Carhaix-Plouguer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Glycines Bed & Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Chambres d'Hotes Bro ar Raden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel du Lac
Address: 9 rue du General de Gaulle, 29690 Huelgoat, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Huelgoat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huelgoat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Lac 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing