We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing of special”

Luigi a Mare Beach & Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 68 Restaurants in Ischia Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $55
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed November 29, 2016 via mobile

A lot of trip advisor rewievs put this restaurant on the top like one of the best but the true is the opposite. I ordered Prawns in kathaifi pasta and octopus. The dishes were amazing showed but the food really wasn't. They told me that they make the kathaifi in the house but everybody know that is a frozen product; the octopus was too much soft no chance to bite it. I really don't know why this reataurant is really raccomanded

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Insanis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 187 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2016

This place was so quiet and somewhat hidden away. We were recommended it by our Hotel and weren't disappointed. In addition, I suffer from Coeliac disease and need to follow a very strict Gluten-Free diet. The chef accommodated my needs and I didn't have any symptoms or other issues after the meals. We ate here twice and I would love to return!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank iyireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

This restaurant was advised to us by our friends from Posidonia residence. And it justified our expectations and provided wonderful evening. Amazing seafood raw and grilled, great pasta with seaweed, spicy wine, wonderful cannoli and great service. Once you are in Ischia you must try it. In general, food on this island is just enjoyable.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank fuadm325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2015

Luigi is highly regarded on TripAdvisor - mostly by Italian-speakers. It is excellent but not quite as special as Terrazzo di Mimi where we had eaten the previous night. It is a simple restaurant right on the beach and serves as the eating place for those who rent Luigi's beach cabins, umbrellas and chairs. As such I imagine it is very busy for lunch. On our mid-week evening we opened the restaurant at 8:15 and only one other table was occupied by the time we left. We were most welcomed, and not surprisingly there was no delay in service. We received a complimentary prosecco on arrival and a similar limoncello after our meal. We started with an amuse-bouche - a single fat shelled shrimp wrapped in a shredded filo crust and quickly fried - quite superb. The quite small menu consists of novel takes on traditional Italian seafood. Our party of four shared an antipasto, two pastas, two seafood grills, and two bottles of a recommended Pallagrello (E26 each). The antipasto was squid filled with a mixture of mashed potato and mild cheese. One pasta had a sauce of botarga (fish roe), the other a speciality of dissolved anchovies and broccoli rabe. Both were perfectly done.The grill contained shrimp, squid, octopus, and another crustacean I can't name. The total bill came to E75 per couple. The atmosphere is most pleasant, the service friendly and helpful. We have no complaints and certainly recommend it without reservation.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2014 via mobile

This little beach restaurant was recommended to us by the owners of our hotel. The food was simply beautiful and the service perfect. We had the recommended menu and loved it so much we went back at the end of the week with our daughter. 5 star food in a beach bar location. We had a selection of anti pasta and the local fish both nights, beautiful and highly recommended!

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigi a Mare Beach & Restaurant also viewed

Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
 
Isola d'Ischia, Province of Naples
 

Been to Luigi a Mare Beach & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing