We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful”

Ristorante La Bitta
Ranked #21 of 55 Restaurants in Ischia Porto
Price range: $23 - $58
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: For over twenty years, this restaurant has been one of the few constant precences on the Rive Droite of the port of Ischia: its owner Ciccio takes care of "La Bitta" personally, both at lunch and at dinner, with an unchanged passion for good food and a continuous search for the best quality-price ratio as well as fresh and genuine ingredients. Here, it is trendy to eat sole excellent fresh fish or some of the main local and Mediterranean specialities.
Burr Ridge
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Be careful”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The owner, as noted in prior reviews, is very gregarious and inviting as he courts you along the waterfront at his restaurant. But he suggests things for you, and we foolishly did not ask the price of the vegetable tray..... 40 Euros for fried zucchini and mushrooms!! Prior to serving our meal he said "I'll take care of you". That he did, but in a different sense than we thought. We ordered one of the fresh fish that he keeps on ice on display at the front of the restaurant. He prepared the pasta plate with the cooked fish on it, and brought it to the table with great fanfare with the whole cooked fish on it to show us, then took it back to prepare the cooked fish. What came out was a pasta plate with minuscle amounts of fish on it, which he charges at 59 Euro/kg. Of course, you have no idea what your serving weighs. Later, another diner ordered the same fish, and again their tray was brought out with great fanfare with the whole fish on it, then brought to the back to "prepare". According to the owner, their were only two of these fish caught that day, and we saw them both, one being a lot larger than the other. Needless to say, the other diner was shown a fish that looked amazingly similar to the one we had been presented, then removed to "prepare". Made me think of the Matthew Broderick movie "The Freshman", where the diners are shown the exotic animals they're about to eat, then they get served chicken. Oh well, we were duped. He then raised everyones dinner price by 10 euros each, saying he had to use extra pasta. The food itself wasn't bad, just the experience. There are a lot of good restaurants at much lower prices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    85
    59
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food - Check Prices”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Our casual dinner at the waterfront last night was a real experience. First of all, the food was just wonderful and the service was excellent. Trouble was the waiter kept suggesting things for us to try and we didn't check prices with a menu. after 3 bottles of wine (75euro total) and 6 people eating the latest offering of the waiter our bill amounted to 450 euro. Way too much!! After the meal all of us felt like we hd been setup and fleeced by the slick waiter. The food and service was great - but way too much cost for a port side meal. One of our party had an 8 euro pizza so price was way out of line. Just beware

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dickwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant!”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Typical seafood menu. Fresh seafood and a little more expensive than some of the adjoining restaurants. Located in a fabulous location right on the port. Outdoor seating allows for great people watching opportunity.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trueladyct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“some of the best food we had all holiday”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

simply cooked and delicious. the host is great - seems the menu is just the starting point for him - he'll do whatever you like! i had the calamari which was huge and fresh and the spaghetti with seafood is also absolutely delicious. do be careful about the prices of the fish here - it's not cheap - but that seems to be the same everywhere on ischia. the house wine is also great.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice food, but be careful or you'll be sorry”
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Four of us enjoyed this casual harbor-side restaurant partly because the owner was so friendly and jovial and spoke English well, telling us he spoke so well because of his English wife. We were tempted by a wonderful looking bowl of fresh mushroom and asked for one plate for the table. We were shocked when the bill arrived - we had been delivered and charged for four plates - over $40 worth of mushrooms - far more than doubling the bill for the four of us. There were so many mushrooms delivered that there wasn't a chance that we could eat them all - not even close. We were pretty angry but perhaps not surprisingly our formerly friendly owner first then disappeared and then became remote and curt. So beware if you dine there and make it perfectly clear exactly what you are ordering.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaFlyingpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Bitta also viewed

 
Ischia Porto, Ischia
 

Been to Ristorante La Bitta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing