We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with friends”
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff at this pub are very pleasant and helpful - the rest of it is dire. It's cold and the food is appalling.
Also, be warned - we were assured that the loos were disabled accessible - they are most definitely not. There are steps up and right -angled corners to get into the cubicles.
A thoroughly grim experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pd775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    35
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
42
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed one night when walking the Cotswold Way. New management, refurbished, more a restaurant with rooms than a pub. Good service, beer, food and rooms. Open fire.

Quiet village with a small shop opposite and one other pub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randjcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a lovely place to lay your head for a night or two. The room has obviously been recently renovated, with a lovelysoft bed and pillows. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We had dinner in the resteraunt, which was good and breakfast was good too.
My comment on the room was we had a skylight, which could probably do with a blind as we felt if you stayed when evening and morning were lighter then this could mean waking early. Also I would like to have seen a towelling mat to put on the bathroom floor once you get out of the shower (Iused one of the hand towels). Other than that we have a great time and would recommend the Fox Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Battiefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is definitely the best of both worlds: delicious authentic Italian food in a lovely rural Cotswold setting. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about all of the dishes, and really enthusiastic about it too. We had the bruschette for starters, which were topped not only with the standard tomatoes, but also grilled aubergine, peppers and courgette. I then had the "Sweet Goat" pizza which was one of the 'white' pizzas (without tomato sauce) and it was delicious. The combination of goat cheese with caramelised onions, pesto, onions and peppers was out of this world, and really set me up for the 5-mile walk in the undulating English country side.

I would certainly recommend you make a detour to find this little gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngeDowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We enjoyed an excellent Italian meal in the unlikely setting of a traditional English pub in this small village near Badminton. The menu was extensive and the meal was authentically Italian. Good choice of meat and fish dishes, all of which, we were assured, were cooked to order. The best filled pasta I've tasted in a long time. We all had sea food starters and they were all delicious. The staff and clientele were very friendly and we were made to feel most welcome. If I wanted a really good, well priced, authentic Italian meal, this is where I would go and only 1hr from Windsor. If you're visiting Bath, Bristol, Badminton, Westonbirt or walking the Cotswold Way, it's worth a stop off.
We did not try the accommodation so I cannot comment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjtWindsor_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Excellent servce and very good food. New team are doing the old place proud.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The new management have refurbished the place and it is now immaculate again, primarily a restaurant and B&B, it still welcomes you in for just a drink. I cannot comment on the bed and breakfast arrangements but the food is now superb, definitely one step up from the usual pub grub. It is well worth booking a table and calling in here if you are in the area. The food is all home made by the chef, pizzas, pasta, fresh fish, meat dishes, authentic Italian cooking at its best. The wines are all Italian which to my mind limits them a little but that is the only criticism I can make, which for a picky eater is a compliment

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkesbury Upton
5.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
145 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
769 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
1.1 mi away
Bodkin House Hotel
Bodkin House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Badminton
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Property: The Fox Inn
Address: High Street, Hawkesbury Upton GL9 1AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Hawkesbury Upton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkesbury Upton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flavours of Italy at The Fox Inn..is a cozy Restaurant-Pub, where You can enjoy a lovely meal prepared by Italian chefs,we have a good range of fresh pasta,antipasti and cheese,meat and fresh sea food.. if You want just a drink we offer a good selection of crispy Italian pizza which goes well with real ales or a glass of Wine..we also have a nice beer garden where You can enjoy a beautiful Artisan Italian Ice Cream or our daily prepared desserts....and if You wanna stay with us we have a B&B:2 double en-suite and 2 triple en-suite for a reasonable price. So,as You can see You have many reason to join Flavours of Italy at The Fox Inn.Hope to see You soon!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Hawkesbury Upton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing