We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks great on the website but huge disappointment when we got there”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Gyreum Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gyreum Ecolodge
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Looks great on the website but huge disappointment when we got there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

We found the ecolodge dirty and grotty and just couldn't recommend it. And it was not cheap. We paid €30 per person to share a 6 bed dorm. As hostel prices go this is very expensive. Our room had 4 beds and 2 bunks and a sink. This sink was filthy, loads of toothpaste, etc left behind by previous inhabitants.
Breakfast cost €7.50 and was ok, but service very haphazard , eg berries for our porrige arrived long after the porridge was eaten, toast brought out by hand and dumped on the table. And we kept having to go into the kitchen for mugs, cutlery, milk, etc.
Guests into wildlife will feel at home among the spiders and slugs (bathroom & shower room)and cats (kitchen and sitting/dining area).
The young girl working there did her best but the whole place needs organisation, as well as a good scrub.
The idea of the eco lodge is admirable but I feel the owner is not the person to run it. I notice from previous reviews that it had been well run by a German couple so bring back the Germans to straighten it out!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ester2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
3
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

The Gyreum is a great idea, but is really struggling under the mismanagement of its owner. I stayed there twice, once with a group in March, where we were very well treated by the German couple who were volunteering at the Gyreum in the owner's absence. I returned alone for a few days and it was like a different place. The owner was in residence, the place was filthy, there was no hot water for showers, no proper shower working anyway, "eco-toliet" facilities only. I was paying full price for a single room, despite being put in a dorm which I was told I would have to share if more guests arrived, but was recieving aboslutely no service from the Gyreum beyond the bare bones of a roof over my head. I had booked in for 5 nights. I lasted for 3. The owner needs to have a real re-think about what he's trying to achieve with the Gyreum. It could be a fantastic place, but at the moment it seems to be being run in to the ground. It seems that eco is an excuse for skeleton facilities and services.There were also a few frustrated WOFFers volunteering at the place under very little guidance.
On the plus side, the surrounding landscape is fabulous. It is not that far from any of the good hikes in SLigo or from SLigo Town itself, although it is very isolated so you will most likely need a car.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank littlered1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Riverstown hotels

Wakerley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

Stayed here with three others and really enjoyed our stay. We were the only guests at the time, so we had the run of the place. Manager Sigrid and her partner were very welcoming. Facilities were good (a real shower would have been a plus, though).

We had originally booked two twin tents, but Sigrid offered us one of the 6-bed dorms, which we snapped up very happily (two of our lot are 60+ so the 2-man tents looked a bit daunting).

It was great having the cats around (we missed ours), and the kitchen was well equipped.

We all slept very well, probably thanks to the celestial positioning of the very intriguing building. There was snow on the ground, but the dome was comfortably warm.

  • Liked — Comfy beds
  • Disliked — No showers
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

Myself and a few friends decided to stay in this hostel for a few days to get out and about around the west coast of Ireland. We went looking for gorgeous scenery and a place to lay our heads. Thats exactly what we got!
The Gyreum is an iconic building which the owner has obviously put alot of thought into. It is very rustic, so if you like your 5* hotels with your sheets pressed and your white tiled bathroom with the free shower caps, this wouldn't be for you. But then, you shouldn't be looking at "hostels" at all should you?!
The atmosphere at this place was great, the craic was to be had over a few beers with the fire going, and had it not been the most miserable rainy few days, I am sure the stars would have sparkled in their glory in the sky - alas it was cloudy.
Colum is a very tentative manager who will try and meet your needs, but do be aware that the website booking service is very misleading. Ring ahead to confirm your booking.
The cooking facilities on site were great, the rooms were comfy and two cats were great company. If you are going to this on your own, there is a library of books to choose from.
The surrounding scenary is breathtaking.

  • Liked — The architecture and the friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Our bedroom window leaked.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fionnuala83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverstown
12.0 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cromleach Lodge Country House Hotel
4.3 mi away
Coopershill House
Coopershill House
#1 of 1 in Riverstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Amber B&B
Amber B&B
#7 of 9 in Boyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gyreum Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gyreum Ecolodge

Property: Gyreum Ecolodge
Address: Corlisheen, Riverstown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Riverstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Riverstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gyreum, Ireland’s first ecolodge to be awardedthe EU Eco-Label for tourist accommodation offers a venue like none other. Located near Castlebaldwin, Co. Sligo, overlooking Lough Arrow and nestling in the heart of Sligo’s cairn topped mountains. With open fire and large movie screen you can spend time relaxing in the circular hall or reading in the cosy, glass domed library. Alternatively you can explore ancient archaeology sites or surf or walk in the Bricklieve mountains or do damn all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Gyreum Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gyreum Ecolodge Ireland/Riverstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing