We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A haven of tranquility” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coopershill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coopershill House
Ranked #1 of 1 Riverstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Quin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A haven of tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Coopershill is a gem! The main house has been lovingly maintained and feels like a throwback to another era. The grounds are fantastic and a walk around is the perfect way to start or end any day.

Dinner was excellent, while the breakfast was as nice as we've had anywhere. Simon and his wife were the perfect hosts through-out our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
83
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at Coopershill House for one evening and it was very nice. Simon was quite accomodating as we arrived very late with no reservation, our traveling companions had reservations. Our host greeted us with warmth and we enjoyed a refreshing drink in the living room after a long drive. Simon was very kind and called several times with directions, as we had gotten lost. Suggest arriving in daylight ,as the roads are quite dark and narrow and not well lit, but it is the country and that is to be expected. Breakfast was very good. Staff attentive and friendly. The house itself is beautiful and step back in time, yet the bathrooms were modern and new. The accomodations were clean and spacious and quite comfortable even without a/c. Simon shared the history of the home and his family which was quite interesting. I would stay again. There are 8 rooms and it is liked staying in someone's home which is it. I loved our time there. The grounds are beautiful and it was like stepping back in time to a quieter, slower and more hospitible era. Thank you Simon and Christina for sharing your home with us!

Room Tip: Our room had twin beds which was perfect for us as it was my son and I. The bathroom in our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJMc Henry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

A beautiful house preserved perfectly inside and out through nearly 250 years is a good place to start talking about Coopershill House. Add the generosity and hospitality of Simon, Christina and their staff for a stay beyond perfection. Beautiful rooms, breakfast, picnic, outstanding dinners, dog welcome, runs and walks on the estate....another world!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank DJMcHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Simon, the owner does a great job of taking care of his guests. The hotel only has 8 rooms so it's like being invited into their home (which it is). The rooms are nice but with no TV (yea). Simon told me there was one in the basement for big events on TV if people needed to watch it. It was really a relaxing time visiting with other guests or walking the grounds. Dinner was great although we there were four couples there and we each had our own table. Might have been nice to sit with others if they wanted to. Although we only stayed there one night, it was very enjoyable. Thanks Simon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrtravel1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a wonderful trip to Ireland and enjoyed every place we stayed, but Coopershill topped the list and we plan to spend time there whenever we return to Ireland. I've been pretty agnostic about venison, but the deer raised on the farm were delicious, especially with Christine's great cooking. Simon, Christine and Finn were warm and welcoming and our kids came close to kidnapping their dog Alice (JK). The surrounding countryside was as peaceful as it was beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent five nights at Coopershill in June -- our fourth or fifth visit there -- and it never disappoints. When we began our visits there, our son (now grown) was about five, and was welcomed and spoiled every time by Simon's parents Brian and Lindy, who were at that time running Coopershill. Time after time the hotel delivered food and hospitality to the highest standard. The rooms are all beautifully and tastefully appointed, but without being at all stuffy. The bed linens are always crisp and delicious. Simon and Christina fully maintain the high standards that we have come to expect and are adding their own style. The dining experience continues to be first rate -- the dining room is traditional and formal in its furnishings, and yet conducive to conviviality because of the kind friendliness of the hosts and the lovely women who attend to the guest's every need. The overall effect is complete relaxation and coddling, but in a low-key manner. Christina has taken over the kitchen brilliantly -- her sauces, presentation, desserts! And in the morning, the best porridge in Ireland (maybe in the world) awaits you, along with anything cooked you need. As much of the food as possible is farm to table, in the old-world style of the great houses (of which Coopershill is of course a distinguished one). The deer farm on the expansive and lush estate supplies the best venison imaginable.

The Sligo area is beautiful and offers many attractions when you can best to leave Coopershill. Simon and Christina can tell you all about them and lend you maps in astonishing detail. A horseback ride on the beach provided by the Oceanview Stables is a sublime experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just left the peace and quiet of Cooperstown.
On every level we would recommend this beautiful family home
Simon was charming and so attentive while Christine's cooking was delicious
Good ingredients well cooked served in beautiful surroundings
We could get used to being pampered like this
It was amazing how the atmosphere created by the OHaras was enough to get guests chatting together as if we were long lost friends meeting for a house party.
The perfect setting for an Agatha Christie mystery. !!
Can't wait to go back
Go there soon
Deirdre

Room Tip: All rooms are good particularly the superior rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverstown
11.6 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
9.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.4 mi away
Castle Dargan
Castle Dargan
#1 of 1 in Ballygawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
10.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopershill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopershill House

Property: Coopershill House
Address: Coopershill, Riverstown, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Riverstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Riverstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coopershill House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Georgian Mansion combines the spaciousness and elegance of an earlier age with the comfort and amenities of today. Most of the rooms have four poster or canopy beds, all rooms have private bathrooms. Candle-lit dinners, a wide choice of wines, open log fires and personal attention from the owners all help to create the atmosphere and hospitality that is special to Coopershill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coopershill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopershill House Hotel Riverstown
Coopershill Hotel Riverstown
Coopershill House Ireland/Riverstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing