We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Restaurant”
Review of Taverna dei Frati

Taverna dei Frati
Price range: $20 - $39
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Large Restaurant”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Various meals at this establishment..Good quality food and also very good service..No need to book unless on National Holiday weekends or during the annual festival.. Well recommended..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bucketgob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    43
    23
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent a week in Soriano in September and ended up eating at Taverna four nights out of seven. The menu is huge and every single thing we tried was absolutely delicious! My only complaint is that I'm trying to learn Italian but they did their best to speak to me in English :)

Incidentally, their house wine is delicious!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Based in Soriano we were keen to try the local establishments. This one did not disappoint. With the very hot weather the outside terrace was ideal to enjoy an excellent meal. The house wine was both delicious and inexpensive and the food choices offered something for all palates, from pizza to more local specialities. The staff are extremely friendly although there is very limited English spoken, but with the help of a phrasebook we conversed as best as we could in Italian for which they seemed appreciative and we received what we ordered. We also ventured back later in the week for another meal and would recommend this is added to a list of venues.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great start to holiday...”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited here on our first evening in Soriano as could see it from our apartment. First mistake was upon viewing the drinks menu I ordered what I thought was a glass of wine at 4.5 Euros and it was an entire bottle of extremely good red wine - one of the better mistakes I have made!! We sat outside in the terraced area on a Saturday night and the place was buzzing and alive with Italian families. Very authentic, the staff were fun, charming, food was great and it was a great start to our holiday.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A good ambience and a lovely big outdoor terrace. The food is typically Italian, and great! I had super soup - real Italian comfort food. Prices are sensible and the waiter was friendly. Dont expect them to speak English. This is Italy!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank freeflung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna dei Frati also viewed

Soriano nel Cimino, Province of Viterbo
Soriano nel Cimino, Province of Viterbo
 
Soriano nel Cimino, Province of Viterbo
Soriano nel Cimino, Province of Viterbo
 

Been to Taverna dei Frati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing