We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friday nite early bird” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Hillsborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Plough Inn is a famous family owned pub boasting an excellent reputation for hospitality, atmosphere & wonderful food. In business for over 20 years the Plough offers a contrasting dining experience with award winning pub grub lunches & fantastic gourmet dining in our highly acclaimed restaurant seven nights a week. Launched September 2012 our brand new Simply Seafood restaurant at the Plough Inn. Simple, affordable, fresh local seafood in the beautiful village of Hillsborough every Friday & Saturday night. Our public bar is the quintessential "local", a traditional pub with a fantastic selection of beers, wine & spirits. All major live sport shown daily, weekly pub quiz & live music every Friday & Saturday night!
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friday nite early bird”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Friday nite we were not booked but the more than helpful staff fitted us in. We had the early bird It. Was just beautiful Everything was cooked to perfection finished with two nice coffees can't wait for next visit

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    133
    69
    64
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lisburn
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Just dined in the bistro with family and friends on Sunday. Around 2pm. We hadn't booked but were lucky enough to get a table. Wasnt really that busy and i don't know why. We're were a party of 6 and all are starters and mains were beautiful. The fish mains was cooked to perfection. And we received a gorgeous plate of coloured vegetables that were just a tasty added treat. presentation was just superb from the start to the finish. The waitress really looked after us and the prices were reasonably ok. Will definitely return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty grim experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were in today for lunch. We didnt want to make a fuss at the time but the food was HORRIFIC!!! We had a 45 min wait, and then we were served the most disgusting sandwich I have ever tasted. It was the driest BLT I have ever seen, the bread was stale and totally inedible, and the lettuce what there was of it should have been thrown away days ago. The fries, also were inedible. They in no way resembled chilli fries, they were soggy, undrrcooked chips with a few chilli flakes sprinkled on top. Overall it was a terrible experience and then we had to pay £39.60 for the privledge of not being able to eat lunch. I was so dissipointed, and would never reccommend this place to anyone. Definitely would not return!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grainne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A long way short of last visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Dined Sunday Lunch 22-12-13 where I had taken family for a pre-Christmas treat. Having been once before earlier this year and enjoyed a fine meal, we were looking forward to the occasion. A much too large table was very non-intimate for our party of six. Having specifically asked what the 'char-grilled irish steak' was before ordering, I was confident when advised it was Sirloin especially at a £4 add-on. Mouthful after mouthful was riddled with fat and gristle. Awful! Starter (Pate) was also very salty. By payment stage, I think that at this point you come to expect someone to courteously check whether things were in order, but no, nothing of the sort. We paid, we left..... we most definitely wont be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CBAB1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An unusual mix of trad pub and fine dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Dinner with a friend and am taken to the Plough in Hillsborough. Downstairs is traditional pub, but upstairs really very different. A contemporary dark space with modern furniture and decor. Really unexpected.

Unusual menu options along with some pub standards. The pulled pork was excellent. Really tender and flavoursome meat spiced up beautifully by a chilli BBQ type sauce. Served in a wrap it was a real treat, although would have been perfect if served hotter (in temperature). Felt like it had waited a bit too long to be brought out. Main of chicken was huge but not at same standard sadly.

Service was slow despite it being a quiet mid-week evening. Not good to have to ask for cutlery for each course, nor to have to chase to order or pay bill. They were apologetic, but let down what could have been a good dinner. As a gastro-pub, work is still needed to justify the pretty tasty prices on the menu!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RickyB2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

Hillsborough, County Down
Hillsborough, County Down
 
Hillsborough, County Down
Moira, County Armagh
 
Hillsborough, County Down
Hillsborough, County Down
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing