We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Seafood is a hidden gem!”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Hillsborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Plough Inn is a famous family owned pub boasting an excellent reputation for hospitality, atmosphere & wonderful food. In business for over 20 years the Plough offers a contrasting dining experience with award winning pub grub lunches & fantastic gourmet dining in our highly acclaimed restaurant seven nights a week. Launched September 2012 our brand new Simply Seafood restaurant at the Plough Inn. Simple, affordable, fresh local seafood in the beautiful village of Hillsborough every Friday & Saturday night. Our public bar is the quintessential "local", a traditional pub with a fantastic selection of beers, wine & spirits. All major live sport shown daily, weekly pub quiz & live music every Friday & Saturday night!
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Seafood is a hidden gem!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We dined here on Friday evening & what a super experience it was. Arrived just after 7:30 to a packed restaurant. The manager was very helpful & showed us up to the bar to wait on a table coming free, which we were happy to wait in & look at the menu! The specials were very tempting & with so many yummy choices we needed some time to decide! We had the squid & mackerel special for starters & monkfish & Surf'n'Turf special for mains which where beautiful. The double chocolate cheesecake to finish was Devine! Would recommend this place to any seafood lovers! Outstanding food, lovely atmosphere & attentive, professional staff!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BPMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    140
    73
    65
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“say no more”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

sunday roast dinner on 27th oct 13
2 dinners brought to our table
they were sent back why, roast was well under cooked, as were the veg, roast potatoes
are supposed to be roasted (crisp etc eh!!!!!!!!) on the second outing of our dinners from the kitchen much the same, do chefs no taste/ try their dishes any more seems not
sorry plough for what you charge will not be back
dog got doggie bag even he had probs with roast beef.
TAKE THIS TIP save a lot eat at burger king you will enjoy it more

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomas554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELFAST
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Was there on Saturday for lunch, service was very slow, staff unattentive, and we were going to leave a tip, but they didn't bring us our change. I don't like to think they just kept it, thinking that it was a tip.
The girl that served us, disappeared and we didn't see her again.
Whether it was just an off day, I was very disappointed, as they usually have such a high standard. Won't be back for a while. Too expensive for such bad service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelfastHuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Overpriced average food with inattentive staff”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I recently read some good reviews on The Plough so my family headed off on a good half hour drive for Sunday lunch. At 2.30pm we expected the place to be quite busy and were a little apprehensive when we arrived as we hadn't booked a table. However no need to worry. We ventured upstairs to find an almost empty bistro. We were shown a table and handed a menu - then it became apparent why there may not have been many there. The menu prices were crazy. Upwards of £15 for one Sunday lunch main is ridiculous when I've been to many places that do a 3 course Sunday lunch for that price. Anyway, we ordered and the food, which was ok, arrived quickly enough.
Trying to attract the attention of the 3 staff milling and chatting to each other behind the bar was very annoying. Not one of them checked back to ask if all was well and there was a "whatever" attitude.
I was very disappointed in the whole afternoon and certainly won't rush back to this overpriced place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GAWA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had sunday lunch lovely food and beautiful surroundings, we were taken to upstairs restaurant. It was very modern and clean. Good helpings tia curry very tasty and a basket of rice. Thankyou very professional.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jencodown_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

Hillsborough, County Down
Hillsborough, County Down
 
Hillsborough, County Down
Moira, County Armagh
 
Hillsborough, County Down
Hillsborough, County Down
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing