We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nom!”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Hillsborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Plough Inn is a famous family owned pub boasting an excellent reputation for hospitality, atmosphere & wonderful food. In business for over 20 years the Plough offers a contrasting dining experience with award winning pub grub lunches & fantastic gourmet dining in our highly acclaimed restaurant seven nights a week. Launched September 2012 our brand new Simply Seafood restaurant at the Plough Inn. Simple, affordable, fresh local seafood in the beautiful village of Hillsborough every Friday & Saturday night. Our public bar is the quintessential "local", a traditional pub with a fantastic selection of beers, wine & spirits. All major live sport shown daily, weekly pub quiz & live music every Friday & Saturday night!
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nom!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Heard of the Plough, but had never been until last Mother's Day. Very good food & service every time we go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nenebo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    140
    73
    65
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh Yes!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful sea food starter, top notch selection of bread with a super pimento tapenade and accompaniments. Steak and chips on the money, black pudding within pheasant on rissotto, which I may steal as an idea for home, and friendly prompt service. Why not five stars, maybe next time?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kieso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annalong, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The top of the hill”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hillsborough is a beautiful village, tucked quietly away from the busy A1 and the M1 to Belfast. One good reason for stopping there for coffee, a snack, or lunch is the proximity of Sprucefield
shopping centre. The best reason to visit Hillsborough, however, must be the excellent choice of
really good places to eat. One of our favourites is The Plough Inn (right at the top of the main street). If you like oak panelling, exposed beams, an open fire, and a friendly, welcoming staff, you'll LOVE this place. The lunch menu is deliciously tempting. On our last visit we had Bamboo of Deep-fried Whitebait and Mrs Patterson's famous Prawn Open Sandwich, both beautifully presented. The bill, which included drinks, came to £17 - really good value for the quality of the
dishes. The Plough is a charming place to relax in. Why not try it for yourself?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davisofmourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Seafood all the way”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went to the seafood restaurant at The Plough as a birthday treat for me (seafood lover) last week. My daughter, who is a vegetarian, had obviously much less of a choice than either my husband or myself but she was well satisfied with her risotto which by all accounts was very tasty. I had heard that the lobster thermadore was very good and competitively priced at £15, and as I hadn't had lobster for quite some time, ordered that. My husband orderd the king scallops and when the food came we shared both dishes. The lobster was slightly chewier than I remember from before but then maybe that is the texture it's supposed to be but between the two meals I definitely preferred the scallops that were simply delicious. Service was very efficient and friendly - all the staff were polite and attentive without being over the top. I'd certainly go back to the restaurant and maybe try other dishes in the future. All in all the meal was good value for money and definitely worth a visit if you're a fan of seafood like I am.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tavak4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is definately a hidden gem. Great menu and specials - have never been disappointed with a meal here. However, we order the same starter every time we go and it always comes out differently with varying dips and accompaniments not sure if this is a seasonal thing or they run out of items.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emer_V89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

Hillsborough, County Down
Hillsborough, County Down
 
Hillsborough, County Down
Moira, County Armagh
 
Hillsborough, County Down
Hillsborough, County Down
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing