We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent weekend away a beautiful cottage.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Pike Cottage

Pike Cottage in Spring
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pike Cottage in Spring
Kitchen and Lounge area Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Pike Cottage in Spring
Kitchen and Lounge area
Lounge area
Upstairs bedroom
Wet room with full disabled access
Christmas 2014 at Pike Cottage
The beautiful scenery of Lough Aghery
Water sports on Lough Aghery
Emeryn and Yasmin Erwin successfully achieving their World Host certification
Hot air balloon takes off from Clintagh Cottages in September 2013
We like to feed our winter friends
French Family about to take a Clintagh Cottages boat trip on Lough Aghery
Horse riding on our horse called Bella
Competition on the croquet lawn
Patio to the rear of Pike Cottage
A young Scottish visitor at the helm of the Clintagh Cottages Boat
Pike Cottage in Winter
A big pike caught using the Clintagh Cottages fishing boat
Best dressed visitor to Clintagh Cottages Halloween Party
Meet Mr Felix and Reggie
German guests enjoying the Harry Ferguson Memorial Garden
Halloween Party at Clintagh Cottages
Clintagh Cottages canoe on Lough Aghery
Dutch visitors arriving for the Ulster Grand Prix
Saint Malachy's Church in the historic village of Hillsborough
Autumn days at Clintagh Cottages
Young German couple on a Clintagh Cottages boat trip
Regular Belgian visitors to Clintagh Cottages
German tug of war team in training at Clintagh Cottages for the European Championships
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hillsborough, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris T
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend away a beautiful cottage.”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a great weekend away at this beautiful cottage.
It was very comfortable and warm. plenty of room for three couples.

Would highly recommend and will re book.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat_Soen
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wonderful cottage and excellent hosts situated in a beautiful area . We had a great time but it was too short a stay. Really appreciated the lovely welcome basket. We are now checking when we can return next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2016
Thanks for your kind words - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the future
John & Roberta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed in PIke Cottage for a few days whilst attending a family wedding and could not have asked for a better experience. The cottage was lovely, warm, spotlessly clean and very well equipped and in a beautiful location. Rather than having a holiday cottage feel it felt more like a home. The owners, who live across the road, went way beyond to make us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We would love to revisit and do more exploring of such a beautiful part of the world.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Booked next year already!”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I visited N.Ireland for the first time with my wife this December to spend time with some friends and relatives. On the recommendation of a friend, we booked into Pike Cottage for a week and could have stayed much, much longer!

Pike is a beautiful cottage tucked into the Hillsborough countryside and certainly gives a room with a view! John and Roberta greeted us upon arrival and could not have been more attentive, genuinely nice hosts for our whole stay- they even coped with my extremely high maintenance wife!

The cottage itself is a typical Irish cottage which was huge on the inside and had everything we needed during our stay. Was also great to have a coal fire in the Winter which really added to the atmosphere and experience!

We found it very easy to travel to my relatives based mainly in Lisburn and Belfast and managed to squeeze in some sight seeing around the Titanic Museum and of course plenty of local pubs!

On a whole, a great trip, perfect hosts and an absolute gem of a cottage!
We booked in for next year on our way out the door. See you then John and Roberta!

P.s Roberta my wife loved your strawberry preserve!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2016
Hi Jamie & Claire
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure to have you stay
In our cottage and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you and your wife, and the new baby, back
again next Christmas. John & Roberta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2016
Many thanks for your kind words Joanne. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family, and we look forward to seeing you all again in the Spring. John & Roberta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael T
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A wonderful cottage, perfect services and a lovely landlord family!
We enjoy our stay and we´ll come back in future :)

Best Regards from Germany

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the animals
Liked least: -----
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2015
Hi Michael & family
Thank you for your kind words - it was a real pleasure to have you stay with us. Hope you had a good trip back to Frankfurt and we look forward to seeing you all again.
John & Roberta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlistairM...
Kemptville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient rural retreat”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I stayed here with my family from 14th – 21st October. On one hand Pike cottage occupies a peaceful rural setting, but it is also very close to Ballynahinch, Hillsborough, Dromore, and the A1 Belfast – Dublin main road. The cottage is finished to a high standard, with solid wood floors, spacious bedrooms, and a cosy wood-stove in the living room. John and Roberta welcomed us like old friends, and went an extra mile and then some to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. I have no hesitation in recommending Pike Cottage, and look forward to a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2015
Hi Alistair
It was our pleasure to have your family stay with us - you have such lovely children. Mr Felix is missing all the attention, and Reggie too! Hope you received the photographs - look out for them on our website
Look forward to seeing you again
John & Roberta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing