We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house and setting”
other travelers have booked this property
BBQ space and a a garden for children and dogs to play
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
BBQ space and a a garden for children and dogs to play
Open Plan kitchen/Dining New Garden Hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
BBQ space and a a garden for children and dogs to play
Open Plan kitchen/Dining
New Garden Hot tub
Kitchen with feature exposed brick
Sofa can also open up as a bed for extra bed space
Dining & Seating for 6
Views of the lovely countryside
Bedroom 3 made up as a twin room
Bedroom 3 made up as a twin room
Bathroom for Bedroom 2 & 3 ( Bedroom 1 has an ensuite)
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 made up as a superking
Bedroom 1 made up as a superking
The Barn has a seperate entrance at the rear of the B&B
Lots of parking for visiting friends and familly
Swings; double tandem and single
New 2013, little playhouse below Jungle gym
Trampoline in the summer only, parental supervision please!
Plenty of space for kids to play, some ride on toys and balls etc on request.
Hens out the back
Bedrooom 3 Made up as a Superking can also be a twin 2 x single beds
2015  Lisburn City Business Awards Best Tourism Amenity.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hillsborough, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Valerie O
County Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and setting”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in The Barn for 5 nights and it was perfect for our stay. We had 4 small children with us and they loved their bedrooms which had TV's in them to keep them occupied when we wanted a bit of peace! Great location as it is only 15 minutes from Belfast and 10 minutes from Lisburn. It had everything we needed for a great stay and I would recommend it to my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2015
Hi Valerie we are delighted you enjoyed you stay, hope you visit again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend away with the kids”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at The Barn. It was perfect for us as hotel room is hard to find for a family of 5. The Barn gave us plenty of space for our family - the kids loved the TVs in all the bedrooms. It is a perfect mix of character and modern. The location is great for visiting Belfast - just 15 minutes by car - we were happy to get back out into the countryside after busy days spent exploring. We would certainly visit again and have recommended Lisnacurran to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2013
We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we take great pride and time trying to may the vacation enjoyabel for our guests, I hope you stay again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antzona
California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Lynne and Jonathan are wonderful hosts, and their home is simply stunning. Everything was absolutely beautiful, from the bedroom to the sitting room to the dining room. I cannot even imagine how much time and money they put into restoring and decorating this lovely home. My parents and I only had a chance to stay for one night, but the three of us started talking about how we should have reserved more nights, the second we walked through the door. Lynne was very helpful and hospitable and made sure our stay was perfect. We loved sitting in the sitting room with a nice fire, watching TV and reading. Our rooms were also very comfortable with the best bathrooms we had while in Ireland. I wish I had access to that shower for my entire trip. If I was ever in Co. Down again I would stay at Lisnacurran without a doubt.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
an0n360
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable but too many rules!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Comfortable bedrooms, Living room/dining room/kitchen was not so comfortable (toaster is appalling). Too many rules with little stickers all over the place. Asked to pay £10 for electric for the week which had not been used at all by the time we left. No welcome pack, except for half a carton of milk. Towels were hard. Option to eat breakfast in the B&B was very expensive at £10 per person.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2013
Dear guest I am most disappointed with you comments and am baffled at a few to be honest. I totally take on board the towels and have replenished the older ones early this summer and apologise sincerely for your disappointment. However the taster is a fabulous 4 slice Kenwood model clean an din working order?? The electric at £10 is mentioned on all our website terms etc and we used to add it to the rate as a whole but found people would check out and leave tvs on, one family even left the cooker on! So we reduced the rate and add a standard electric charge most establishments we know do this also and have never had a compliant. Shorter stays incur a £5.00 charge. Had you pointed out the low use I would have gladly part refunded. Regarding the breakfast it is £5 continental only and £10 is for a full buffet which is fantastic value it includes eat as much as you want, cereal, toast yoghurt fruit, tea coffee, fruit juice, preservatives, full Ulster fry or homemade griddle pancakes with bacon eggs etc, freshly made smoothies and omelettes so I stand by the prices the local hotels charge double for the same. Our cheapest local cafe charge £5.75 for a fry £2.50 for a coffee and juice at £2.00 and for the same money we offer much more food. Again if a client found this expensive and wanted to eat less we could work out a price suitable the price and menu is on our website so again like the electric you would have seen this before you came? Perhaps I will consider a prices list like a cafe. Few other local self catering establishment nearby can offer cooked breakfast at all. As for rules and stickers really can only think of the fire regs at the door, standard, no smoking sign, law and list of whats in each cupboard inside each door, not visible outside. Instruction inside door of washing machine on use. All necessary. The welcome pack is coffee and tea and biscuits in the cupboard, milk in fridge. The dry goods cupboard also has vinegar, salt pepper and oil to save guests buying. As it is self catering we do not provide other food but I will take this on board and research a better welcome pack for guests. This is my first compliant in 3 years so I will take very seriously and thank you for taking time to review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing