We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top marks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Parsons Nose

The Parsons Nose
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Hillsborough
Cuisines: Irish, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top marks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Visited this restaurant for the 2nd time and pleasantly surprised to find the whole evening even more enjoyable than the last! We dinned here on a monday and to find a place with decent ambience on what is commonly known as "a quiet day" amongst restaurants is decidedly refreshing! We both decided to "treat" ourselves and indulge in the specials which as before were full of choice, value for money and as we later found out full of quality also. 2 Pigeon salads were followed by a fish pie and the plaice, both courses were faultless, take this review for what it is worth when i say that i highly recommend this restaurant, to sum up "top marks" all round for service, ambience and food, great work, keep it up

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    151
    67
    69
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“English visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Visiting relatives who suggested the Parson's nose for lunch.Brilliant choice.Best meal out in six days ! Five adults from 25 -77,and one three year old.I wish we had a PN in Berks.Excellent meal and reasonably priced .Thankyou !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“1st class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I brought my friend here for dinner on tuesday evening and both of us thoroughly enjoyed the evening. We had smoked salmon and duck confit to start followed by plaice and cod. Stand out dishes for me were the confit which was tender and with perfect crispy skin. My main was the cod special with fennel, beetroot and saute potatoes - again a perfect dish. 1st class and will be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidBanb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We spotted this restaurant on a visit to Hillsborough. We hadn't booked and called in on the off chance. We were allocated a table straight away. There is a good priced menu on offer before 6.30 p.m.

From the outside it looks like a tiny pub but there is a large dining room upstairs.

Food was well presented, tasty and cooked to order.

There is a good choice of dishes on the fixed price menu and the rice pudding to dessert is delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SussexCheekyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“POOR service, average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Went for lunch on Saturday 31st Aug, found the service to be slow and the food to be average. We had to "move" our starter plates to allow the waitress to set down our mains. For this type of restaurant I find this appalling. I don't see any awards or accolades for 2012 on their website, so unless they haven't updated their web site, then they have definitely lost the plot. I cannot recommend this restaurant and I certainly will not go back Try CoCo in belfast, 1st class.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parsons Nose also viewed

Hillsborough, County Down
Hillsborough, County Down
 
Hillsborough, County Down
 
Hillsborough, County Down
Hillsborough, County Down
 

Been to The Parsons Nose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing