We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small portions. Inattentive staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pheasant

The Pheasant
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Hillsborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $71
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our menus are designed to offer the best and freshest of local produce, including game from the neighbouring Larchfield Estate and ingredients and dishes from around the globe. As a sister restaurant to the Award Winning Plough Inn, Hillsborough, naturally seafood is our house speciality all year round. Our aim is to offer something to satisfy everyone's tastes. Our friendly and attentive staff are here to ensure that you relax and simply enjoy a taste of "good olde Irish hospitality".
Christchurch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small portions. Inattentive staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very tasty main course but tiny portion so I left hungry. The restaurant Was empty but 2 staff were inattenfive and service was disappointing.
plates nice + hot. lovely setting + building. Service though inattentive was with a smile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shivvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    95
    36
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went for a late Sunday lunch and arrived 235pm, sign said only Bar Food all day but on checking in restaurant it was also serving all day, need to change your signage!
Good and pleasant service and well run, food was very good in taste and portion and good value at 2 course of choice for £16.
Complaints would be the menu, printed white on beige, hard to read and for some impossible in low light and the place is in dire need of decor freshened, it is an old Pub setting but the money doesnt seem to have gone into the upkeep.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank webbellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have visited here with my wife and her family on a few occassions now for tea. the service has always been friendly and efficient and food tasty and a very good standard.I would definately recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tugboat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saintfield, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food Service a let down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Haven't ate here in a long time and happened to eat here twice in one week. I cam here on a Monday evening with a friend. The food was lovely I had a burger while my friend had the stir fry. The service was real slow considering it was a Monday evening thought it would of been faster. I then ate the follwoing Saturday and the very same thing nice food but slow service. I feel the only thing letting this place down is the slow service otherwise it would be five all the way.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great tasty food well priced, service a bit slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Visited the Pheasant on Tuesday evening, They have a very popular early bird menu between 5 -7pm , I had the Beef Pitta pocket and friends had Chicken pitta pocket and the Boat trash. All of the ffod was delicious well presented and very tasty, Service was a little slow, we waited about 35mins for our food to arrive , the place was busy but i felt it was a bit long to wait. The staff were friendly and helpful . especially looking after our little one.
£36 for 3 main course and 2 alcoholic drinks

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fastalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant also viewed

Hillsborough, County Down
Hillsborough, County Down
 
Hillsborough, County Down
Moira, County Armagh
 
Hillsborough, County Down
Hillsborough, County Down
 

Been to The Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing