We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to enjoy a light lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caffe Luna

Caffe Luna
Ranked #11 of 26 Restaurants in Naxxar
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice place to enjoy a light lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Needing to escape the rain before enjoying the gardens of Palazzo Paradisio, we decided on a light lunch in Caffe Luna. We just had sandwiches- so not much to go by- but these were nicely presented wholesome and fresh. The service was efficient and speedy. We found Luna to be a very pleasing place to be, with a bustle of other happy lunchers. I can certainly recommend it as part of a trip to visit the impressive Palazzo Paradisio.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne Gerd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    29
    15
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a great place !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I would recommend that you don't leave Malta without visiting this restaurant in Naxxar. It is probably the best food have ever eaten. Must try home-made ravioli with spinach and ricotta cheese. Looks and tastes amazing. The staff were very friendly. Restaurant placed in a garden, which is also exellent: orange trees, pond with turtles, palms. When you go to this place you will love it for sure :)

Helpful?
Thank Sowa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

As there was a severe downpour we decided stop for lunch after visiting this beautiful Palazzo, the food was good , in particular the veal cheeks, with a delicious sauce. The deserts were overprice 10euros for a sorbet . ? Which was very ordinary. I didn't' find the staff particularly endearing . Still after lunch the rain had stopped so we could visit the garden, it was worth the lunch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mirandy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Never the Same”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

"Wonderful" is an adjective you would use to describe the setting and the decor and "iffy" or maybe "poor" at best is an adjective you would use to describe the service . We used to frequent Caffe Luna so much and even had a most wonderful event in the ballroom - which was absolutely amazing and I shall never forget it, but that was in the days of an excellent kitchen and a really 5-star bunch of waiters not to mention Thomas the sommelier, and excellent front-of-house manager/s. Now they have a bunch of "couldn't care less" who don"t even see you when you walk in and wave at them - all very sad. However, on the bright side is the fact that the owners often change the front of house manager so fingers crossed. Maybe we can get back to old times. The food can be extremely good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wilsonnormanpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kappara
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch at Cafe Luna”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Went for lunch with a friend. Ordered the salmon salad but asked for a dressing that did not contain raw eggs as am currently on therapy. The food was OK but the response to my request for non egg dressing was to serve the salad free of any dressing and for the waiter to present me with a bottle of olive oil and a bottle of balsamic vinegar i.e. make your own!! I did not complain there and then since I was being treated to lunch by my friend. The salad was 16 euro! Not the sort of service you expect from Palazzo Parisio considering the prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Luna also viewed

 
Naxxar, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Caffe Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing