We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Naxxar”
Review of Knights in Malta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Knights in Malta
Ranked #4 of 6 Naxxar B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 28, 2011

John & Dee have taken an attractive and interesting old building and turned it into one of only a small number of B&Bs in Malta. Naxxar is well located in the centre of the island, for those wishing to explore all of Malta, not just the touristy bits.
As some parts of the building are 200 or more years old, you can expect quirky stairways and levels but, for the most part, this adds to the charm of the place. What some might find more disappointing is that few rooms have en suite facilities and that, in our experience, those facilities were not up to scratch. I understand that the dodgy shower screen doors will be fixed in the low season, but a more thorough weekly clean would have kept things looking nice.
Make friends with Daisy, their Maltese terrier, and persuade John to get his guitar out and you will have a very pleasant stay. We wish John and Dee every success with their business.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrieluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thanks for your helpful comments Barry. You will be pleased to know that there is now a new shower in the suite you stayed in. This is serviced and cleaned on a daily basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 120 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

John Dee and welcome you in their secret garden in the heart of Malta. Pride of place that you can easily visit the island. The place is really nice and lovely decor. We enjoyed our stay in bed and breakfast "Knights in Malta." Our host was incredibly friendly and helpful. Feel free to ask for advice. A place not to be missed

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank B_Desu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We booked this after we had read the reviews for the St Julians Bay Hotel but had already booked in there. We needed a Plan B!

From the moment they met us at the airport, Dee and John made us feel very welcome. Their home is lovely, with a courtyard and cosy typically Matlese interiors. Our room,(called the Mdina as you can see the beautiful city of Mdina from the terrace) is a recent addition was on the roof terrace. Spacious and tastefully decorated, with an ensuite shower, it was spotlessly clean. (only accessible by a steep flight of stairs)

Dee showed us the other rooms, and they are all sumptuously decorated. Breakfast is taken in the 300 year old part of the house in the large kitchen. On offer are cereals, fresh bread, preserves and cold meats, as well as juice and coffee/tea.

Really enjoyed our stay here and were sad to leave to go to the vile dump we had booked into-we would have stayed longer but Dee and John were fully booked.

Room Tip: Ask for the Mdina room for your own terrace and great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stejaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We've spent around 10 days with my boyfriend in this lovely B&B. We satyed in the La Valetta suit, a beautifull and charming room. This 300 years house is amazingly beautifull and authentic and the couple hosting the B&B are just the best people! Very friendly and fun, they give very good and handy advices and just make you feel at home, which i find very important in a B&B. We are actually used to travell this way, because we like to get an insight from how local people live. From all the B&B's we stayed in, it's probably the best! We've spent great holidays and if we go back to Malta, we'll go back to " knights of Malta" without a doubt! Just go, you'll love it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariska M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I stayed in Knights in Malta for about 5 days during my vacation in Malta. Adorable and impressive old house and its lovely owners made my vacation so enjoyable, comfort and relaxing! Beautifully decorated and clean room, friendly atmosphere created by this B&B and relaxing environment of an authentic small Malta town made my vacation unforgetable. Highly recommended for those who look for quality and authentic vacation! My sincere thanks and appreciation to Dee and John who run this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mahlena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Knights in Malta. Our hosts John and Dee were helpful and friendly offering us handy tips and info for our stay and even organising tickets and car hire for us. Breakfast time was a great opportunity to meet other guests, swap experiences and chat with our hosts. The Mdina suite was very tasteful - a mix or oriental furnishings and a large, very Mediterranean roof terrace. The bathroom was a little small but this will be compensated by the new roof top jacuzzi (not yet in service on our trip). Knights is centrally located making it a good base to explore the island from, with or without a car. Naxxar is a quiet town with a couple of good restaurants (reasonably priced), and the wonderful Cafe Luna at Palazzo Parisio. It has a very frequent bus service to Sliema and Valetta with night buses as well. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Mdina suite has a wonderful roof terrace, great for cooler weather or evening reading
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Essejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I spent a week in John & Dee’s house while visiting this lovely island. From the website I already knew that I will find something unique, but to see this home was really breathtaking. The relaxing courtyard, the lounge, the numerous rooms, terrace are all wonderfully decorated by different styles as Dee told me that one of her passion is interior design (and it really shows) I lived in the Verdala Suit for a week and just loved it. My room with the shower and the little balcony was spotless, cosy and quiet. The breakfasts were delicious. John and Dee are very friendly and interesting to talk to and they made me feel home. I couldn’t wish any better stay, and if I have the opportunity I definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Aurisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naxxar
3.0 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,886 reviews
2.4 mi away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 14 in St. Paul's Bay
495 reviews
3.0 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Loggia Mariposa - Boutique Townhouse
0.1 mi away
Chapel 5 Palazzo Suites B&B
2.7 mi away
Sunny Coast Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights in Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights in Malta

Address: 138 Triq St Lucija, Naxxar, Island of Malta, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Naxxar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Naxxar
Price Range: $66 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The entrance to Knights in Malta opens into a lovely courtyard with plants and trees which provide a relaxed and cool environment in the summer months. The main House is built from traditional Maltese limestone and features a welcoming Reception and TV lounge. This adjoins a large 17th Century Dining/Breakfast Room where you can enjoy your deluxe continental breakfast, or one of our specialty theme evenings, The upper levels feature an outside Jacuzzi and sun terrace, and a Gazebo area for Spa Treatments. Guests can enjoy a range of treatments at discounted prices.Knights in Malta provide guests with Free WI-Fi Internet The designer bedrooms are on the ground, first and second floors, surrounding the courtyard. They are spacious rooms, beautifully furnished with many antiques and rich in individual character. All rooms have en-suite or private bathrooms, and most rooms have balconiesKnights in Malta is within easy access of the International Airport. We can organize tours and book your car rental at good rates. We also provide our guests with information and guidance in planning their holiday.Your hosts at ‘Knights in Malta’ will guarantee you a warm welcome and an enjoyable stay at their beautiful house. Look out for our Special Offers during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knights in Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights In Malta Naxxar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing